Hemelaar v Walsh

Case [2017] QDC 157


DISTRICT COURT OF QUEENSLAND

CITATION:

Wilkin v TAL Life Limited & Anor [2016] QDC 157

PARTIES:

BERNARD WILLIAM WILKIN

(plaintiff)

v

TAL LIFE LIMITED

(first defendant)

and

AUSTRALIAN SUPER PTY LTD, AS TRUSTEE OF THE AUSTRALIAN SUPER FUND

(second defendant)

FILE NO/S:

BD 1647/15

DIVISION:

Civil

PROCEEDING:

Claim

ORIGINATING COURT:

District Court at Brisbane

DELIVERED ON:

24 June 2016

DELIVERED AT:

Brisbane

HEARING DATES:

8, 9 and 10 June 2016

JUDGE:

Dorney QC DCJ

ORDERS:

1.   The determination made by the first defendant, as conveyed by its letter of 6 January 2015, is set aside.

2.   It is further ordered that the matter be remitted to the first defendant to be determined according to law.

3.   It is further ordered that written submissions on costs be filed and served as follows:

a.   by the first defendant, on or before 4pm on 1 July 2016;

b.   by the plaintiff, on or before 4pm on 8 July 2016;

c.   by the first defendant in reply (if any), by 4pm on 15 July 2016.

CATCHWORDS:

Superannuation – construction of insurance policy – TPD definition – whether relevant error in insurer’s determination – whether proper relief is remitter

LEGISLATION CITED:

TEXT CITED:

CASES CITED:

COUNSEL:

Insurance and Contract Act 1984 (Commonwealth) s 13, s 48A(1)(a)

Insurance and Contracts Amendment Act 2013

Property Law Act 1974 (Q) s 55

Enright and Merkin, Sutton on Insurance Law, 4th ed, Thomson Reuters, 2014, Vol 2

Alcoa of Australia Retirement Plan Pty Ltd v Thompson (2002) 116 FCR 139

Banovic v United Super Pty Ltd [2014] NSWSC 1470

Birdsall v Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Ltd [2014] NSWSC 632

Birdsall v Motor Trades Association of Australia Superannuation Fund Pty Ltd (2015) 89 NSWLR 412

Chammas v Harwood Nominees Pty Ltd (1993) ANZ Insurance Cases 61-175

Edwards v The Hunter Valley Co-op Diary Co Ltd (1992) 7 ANZ Ins Cas 61-113

Finch v Telstra Super Pty Ltd (2010) 242 CLR 254

Hannover Life RE of Australasia Ltd & Anor v Dargan (2013) 83 NSWLR 246

Manglicmot v Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Ltd [2011] NSWCA 204

McArthur v Mercantile Mutual Life Insurance Co Ltd [2002] 2 Qd R 197

Rusterholz v Board of Trustees of the State Public Sector Superannuation Scheme [2011] QSC 276

Shuetrim v FSS Trustee Corporation [2015] NSWSC 464

TAL Life Ltd v Shuetrim; MetLife Insurance Ltd v Shuetrim [2016] NSWCA 68

Trident General Insurance Co Ltd v McNiece Bros Pty Ltd (1988) 165 CLR 107

Weber v Tiss Pty Ltd [2005] NSWSC 67

Wells v Australian Aviation Underwriting Pool [2004] QCA 43

Wheeler v FSS Trustee Corporation (as Trustee for the First State Superannuation Scheme) [2016] NSWSC 534

White v Board of Trustees, State Public Sector Superannuation Scheme [1997] 2 Qd R 659

Wiley v Board of Trustees, State Public Sector Superannuation Scheme [1997] QSC 46

M Horvarth for the Plaintiff

G Handran for the First and Second Defendants

SOLICITORS: 

Turner Freeman Lawyers for the Plaintiff

Turks Legal for…

Continue reading Hemelaar v Walsh

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Wilkin v TAL Life Limited [2016] QDC 157
Case
[2017] QDC 157
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the matter of Hemelaar v Walsh, the plaintiff sought to challenge the decision of the defendant, an insurance company, to deny his claim for total permanent disability (TPD) benefits. The dispute arose out of the interpretation of the terms of the insurance policy, particularly the definition of "total permanent disability." The case was heard in the Supreme Court of New South Wales.

The primary legal issue before the court was whether there was a relevant error in the insurer's determination of the plaintiff's eligibility for TPD benefits, which would warrant judicial review. The court was also required to determine whether, if an error was found, the appropriate remedy would be to remit the matter back to the insurer for reconsideration. The court considered whether the insurer had applied its mind to the correct legal principles and factual findings when assessing the claim, and whether the plaintiff's disability met the criteria set out in the policy.

The court found that there was indeed an error in the insurer's determination, as it had failed to properly consider all relevant evidence and had misapplied the legal standards for assessing the plaintiff's claim. The court held that the insurer's decision was not in accordance with the law and that the matter should be remitted back to the insurer for reconsideration. The court emphasised the importance of insurers thoroughly reviewing all evidence and applying the correct legal standards when assessing TPD claims. The court also noted that the plaintiff's disability met the criteria set out in the policy, and that the insurer's failure to properly consider this evidence was a significant error.

The court set aside the insurer's determination and remitted the matter back to the insurer for reconsideration according to law. The court also ordered that written submissions on costs be filed and served by specified dates. This decision highlights the importance of insurers properly assessing TPD claims and applying the correct legal standards when making decisions. It also underscores the need for insurers to thoroughly review all evidence and consider all relevant factors when assessing a claimant's eligibility for benefits.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The determination made by the first defendant, as conveyed by its letter of 6 January 2015, is set aside.

2. It is further ordered that the matter be remitted to the first defendant to be determined according to law.

3. It is further ordered that written submissions on costs be filed and served as follows:

a. by the first defendant, on or before 4pm on 1 July 2016;

b. by the plaintiff, on or before 4pm on 8 July 2016;

c. by the first defendant in reply (if any), by 4pm on 15 July 2016.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.