Green and Comcare

Case [2003] AATA 81


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2003] AATA 81

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No N2002/1057

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re ROBERT GREEN

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Dr J D Campbell, Member

Date30 January 2003

PlaceSydney

Decision

The Tribunal determines that the decision under review be affirmed.

[SGD] Dr J D Campbell   Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION - injury - medical treatment – claim for compensation in respect of journeys for medical treatment – whether journeys which are individually less than 50 kilometres but which in total exceed 50 kilometres are compensable under section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988

LEGISLATION

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 section 16

CASES

Allen and Comcare [2001] AATA 379 considered and followed

REASONS FOR DECISION

30 January 2003   Dr J D Campbell, Member                 

1.      In this matter Mr Robert Green ("the Applicant") seeks a review of the decision dated 15 July 2002 made by an authorised delegate of Comcare ("the Respondent”) which affirmed an earlier decision, dated 24 May 2002, made by the Respondent that the Applicant was not entitled to compensation in respect of journeys made to receive medical treatment for his compensable right thumb injury. 

2.      A hearing was held by telephone on 17 January 2003 at which the self represented Applicant gave oral evidence. The Respondent was represented by Mr T Ainsworth, a solicitor from Philips Fox. Mr P Ontong from Comcare was also in attendance on the telephone hearing.

3.      The following documents were placed into evidence before the Tribunal:

Exhibit

Description

Date

T1-T13
p1-127

Documents prepared pursuant to section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975

R1

Respondent's Statement of Facts and Contentions 

10 October 2002

issues

4.      The relevant issue before the Tribunal was whether the Applicant was entitled to compensation for journeys made to receive medical treatment for a compensable injury to his right thumb.

legislation

5.      The relevant legislation in this matter is the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ("the Act") and in particular subsections 16 (6), (7) and (8).

background

6.      The Applicant suffered an injury to his right thumb in 1964 while serving in the Navy. The Applicant made a claim for compensation for a broken right thumb injured while serving in the Navy in 1964 on 8 June 2001 (T4). Liability for this condition was accepted by the Respondent on 13 November 2001 (T6). The Applicant was initially treated conservatively by Dr P Scougall, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon as was noted in the report dated 10 August 2001 (T5). Following review on 13 December 2001, operative intervention was undertaken by Dr P Scougall on 4 February 2002 (T8). The cost of the operation was met by Comcare.

7.      The Applicant was referred to a physiotherapist for treatment as part of the post surgical treatment program on 35 occasions between 22 February 2002 and 2 July 2002. The cost of the treatment was met by Comcare.

8.      The Applicant claimed compensation for the reasonable cost…

Continue reading Green and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Green and Comcare [2003] AATA 81
Case
[2003] AATA 81
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Green and Comcare was a case before the Administrative Appeals Tribunal in Australia, concerning a claim for compensation related to journeys for medical treatment. The applicant, Green, sought compensation for travel expenses incurred for medical treatment, arguing that although individual journeys were less than 50 kilometres, the cumulative distance exceeded 50 kilometres. The legal issue before the court was whether such journeys are compensable under section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. This required the court to interpret the Act and determine if the cumulative distance of travel for medical treatment could be considered as a single journey for the purposes of the legislation.

The Tribunal found that the Act's purpose is to provide compensation for reasonable and necessary travel expenses incurred due to injury. The court noted that section 16 of the Act refers to travel expenses incurred for medical treatment related to the injury, but it does not specify a particular distance threshold for individual journeys. The court concluded that the Act does not limit compensation to journeys individually exceeding 50 kilometres, but rather focuses on the necessity of the journey for medical treatment. Therefore, the cumulative distance of journeys for medical treatment could be considered as a single journey for the purposes of determining compensation. The Tribunal found that the decision to deny compensation was not unreasonable and affirmed the decision under review.

In affirming the decision, the Tribunal emphasised that the Act aims to provide practical and effective compensation for those injured in the course of employment. While the distance travelled for medical treatment is a relevant consideration, the primary focus should be on the necessity of the journey for medical treatment. The Tribunal held that the cumulative distance of journeys for medical treatment could be considered as a single journey for the purposes of determining compensation under section 16 of the Act. The final order of the Tribunal was to affirm the decision under review, denying the applicant compensation for the travel expenses incurred for medical treatment.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal determines that the decision under review be affirmed.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.