Gambrill and Chief Executive Officer, National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1357 (15 August 2025)
Applicant:Brianne Gambrill
Respondent: Chief Executive Officer, National Disability Insurance Agency
Tribunal Number: 2023/9539
Tribunal:General Member A Colvin
Place:Brisbane
Date:15 August 2025
Decision:The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
................SGD..................
General Member A Colvin
Catchwords
NATIONAL DISABILITY INSURANCE SCHEME – access – adult participant – whether applicant meets disability requirements under section 24 of the NDIS Act – whether substantially reduced functional capacity in undertaking one or more of activities under paragraph 24(1)(c) of the NDIS Act
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth)
Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth)
Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024
National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No 1) Act 2024 (Cth)
National Disability Insurance Scheme (Becoming a Participant) Rules 2016 (Cth)Cases
Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 60
National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster [2015] FCA 544
Mulligan v National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544
National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002
Madelaine and National Disability Insurance Agency [2020] AATA 4025
Davis and National Disability Insurance Agency [2023] AATA 1437
Burrows and National Disability Insurance Agency 2025 [ARTA] 607
Foster and National Disability Insurance Agency 2025 [ARTA] 718Secondary Materials
NDIS – Applying to the NDIS Guidelines
Statement of Reasons
BACKGROUND
This review is about whether Ms Brianne Gambrill should be granted access to the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). Ms Gambrill is 49 years old, lives alone, and receives a disability support pension. She seeks access to the NDIS based on impairments arising from conditions described as fibromyalgia, functional neurological disorder (FND), anxiety and depression, hearing loss and benign intracranial hypertension.
Ms Gambrill applied to the National Disability Insurance Agency (Agency) to become a participant in the NDIS in October 2018. On 8 October 2023, the Agency decided that she did not meet the criteria to become a participant of the NDIS. It confirmed that decision on internal review on 18 December 2023.
Ms Gambrill applied to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) on 18 December 2023 seeking review of the Agency’s decision. From 14 October 2024, the AAT became the Administrative Review Tribunal (Tribunal). Applications for review to the AAT that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are taken to be an application for review to the Tribunal, and the Tribunal has authority to continue and finalise any aspect of the review not already completed by the AAT.[1]
[1] Transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth)
The hearing took place by videoconference on 17 and 18 June 2025. Ms Gambrill was self-represented. Documents available to the Tribunal included:
·a Hearing Bundle (HB) comprised of 690 pages (Exhibit 1);
·twelve photographs provided by Ms Gambrill (Exhibit 2);
Continue reading Gambrill and Chief Executive Officer, National Disability In...
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Gambrill and Chief Executive Officer, National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1357
- Case
- [2025] ARTA 1357
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The central legal issues revolved around whether Ms Gambrill's impairments met the criteria for disability under the NDIS Act, particularly whether these impairments were permanent or likely to be permanent and whether they resulted in substantially reduced functional capacity in undertaking activities of daily living, social interaction, and learning. The Agency conceded that Ms Gambrill had certain impairments but contested that they did not meet all the criteria under the Act, specifically the permanence and substantial reduction in functional capacity.
The Tribunal reviewed the evidence, including medical reports and testimonies from Ms Gambrill and her friends, as well as expert opinions. It concluded that while Ms Gambrill did have the specified impairments, they did not all meet the permanence requirement, nor did they result in substantially reduced functional capacity as required by the NDIS Act. Therefore, the Tribunal affirmed the decision of the Agency that Ms Gambrill did not meet the access criteria for NDIS support.
In conclusion, the Tribunal upheld the Agency's decision, finding that Ms Gambrill did not meet the disability requirements under the NDIS Act, thereby denying her access to the NDIS.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
In relation to the early intervention requirements, Ms Gambrill asked that the Tribunal consider whether she met those requirements but acknowledged that her impairments were longstanding and that she may not meet those requirements. The Agency contended that the early intervention requirements were not met. CONSIDERATIONThe disability requirements There are five criteria in subsection 24(1) of the NDIS Act. All of these must be satisfied for a person to meet the disability requirements. A disability attributable to an impairment Ms Gambrill made no specific submissions outlining her impairments for the purposes of paragraph 24(1)(a) of the NDIS Act. The Agency conceded that Ms Gambrill met the requirements of paragraph 24(1)(a) of the NDIS Act. It described Ms Gambrill’s impairments as follows, and provided detailed references to the evidence from which these were derived:[41](1)neurological and cognitive impairments attributable to FND, including impact on memory, speech, hearing, vision, fatigue, verbal and receptive communication and speed of processing; (2)sensory impairment attributable to hearing loss, including reduced hearing acuity, difficulty in localising sounds, increased sensitivity to loud noises, difficulty distinguishing between similar sounds or words, increasing listening effort and fatigue, sensitivity to background noise, difficulty communicating with family and friends, and emotional wellbeing and mental health;(3)physical impairment attributable to fibromyalgia, including pain, fatigue, impaired mobility, limited endurance for physical activities, muscle weakness, mood and sleep disturbance, cognitive and memory issues, and speed of processing impairments;(4)cognitive impairment attributable to benign intracranial hypertension, including migraines, cognitive and memory issues, speed of processing impairments and visual disturbance; and(5)impairment attributable to a psychosocial disability arising from anxiety and depression, including low mood, avoidant behaviour, not wanting to go out alone, difficulty leaving the house, fear of symptoms interfering with a planned outing, and decision-making and concentration issues.[41] Agency’s SFIC, paragraph 14 I have reviewed the available documents, including reports and responses to targeted questions of Dr Schultz (consultant neurologist and neurophysiologist), Dr Katelaris (general practitioner), Dr Chessman (rheumatologist) and Bay Audio, together with Ms Gambrill’s evidence. I am satisfied that the Agency’s concessions are appropriately made and that the requirements of paragraph 24(1)(a) of the NDIS Act are met. The impairments are permanent or likely to be permanent Ms Gambrill contended that her impairments were permanent. On the issue of whether further treatments were available to her, she drew attention to an email dated 30 September 2024 from Mr Turner. She also contended that the Tribunal should consider the affordability of any treatments.[42] [42] In accordance with Davis