Freeman; Repatriation Commission

Case [2000] AATA 727


DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2000] AATA 727

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No V1999/648

VETERANS'     APPEALS     DIVISION     )          
           Re      REPATRIATION COMMISSION
  Applicant
           And    TERENCE HENRY FREEMAN   
  Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       Commodore B.G. Gibbs, AM, RAN (Retd), Senior Member   

Date21 August 2000

PlaceMelbourne

Decision      The Tribunal sets aside that part of the decision of the Veterans' Review Board, made on 24 February 1999 that post traumatic stress disorder and substance abuse are war-caused and substitutes therefor the decision that post traumatic stress disorder and psychoactive substance abuse or dependence are not war-caused within the meaning of section 9 of the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986.       
  (Sgd.)    B.G. GIBBS
  Senior Member
CATCHWORDS
VETERANS' APPEALS – Entitlement – Post Traumatic Stress Disorder ("PTSD") – Psychoactive Substance Abuse or Dependence – whether war-caused – whether diagnosis PTSD exists – standard of proof – relevance of Statement of Principles in establishing diagnosis – decision set aside – conditions not war-caused.
Words and Phrases:  "traumatic event" – "intense fear, helplessness, horror"
Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986, ss. 9, 120, 190A, 196B
Repatriation Commission v Deledio (FFC 391/98; 22/4/98)
Keeley v Repatriation Commission (1999) FCA 1103 : 13 August 1999
Repatriation v Cooke (1998) 160 ALR 17
Re Budworth and Repatriation Commission (AAT Unreported N1995/965 and N1997/69 – 23 February 2000)
Repatriation Commission v Gosewinkel (1999) FCA 1273
Statement of Principles Instrument No. 15 of 94 (as amended by Instrument No. 225 of 1995) (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)
Statement of Principles Instrument No. 5 of 1994 (Psychoactive Substance Abuse or Dependence)

REASONS FOR DECISION

21 August 2000       Commodore B.G. Gibbs, AM, RAN (Retd), Senior Member               
 Introduction            

  1. On 12 August 1997 the Repatriation Commission ("Commission") refused a claim made by Terence Henry Freeman for post traumatic stress disorder ("PTSD") and hyperuricemia.  The Commission further refused a claim made by Mr Freeman for substance abuse, breathing and asthma, the reason for refusal being that the diagnosis of these latter conditions could not be confirmed.

  2. On 24 February 1999, after reviewing the decisions of the Commission, the Veterans' Review Board ("VRB") made a decision which was expressed in the following terms:

    "a)to affirm the decision under review in relation to breathing, asthma and hyperuricemia.  This means that the Repatriation Commission's decision is unchanged in relation to those matters.

    b)to set aside the decision under review in relation to post traumatic stress disorder and substance abuse and substitute its decision:

    (i)that those conditions were war-caused as defined in section 9 of the Veterans' Entitlements Act (the Act);

    (ii)that the Commonwealth of Australia is liable pursuant to section 13 of the Act to pay pension for any incapacity arising from those conditions from and including 28 January 1997 and

    (iii)to remit the matter to the Repatriation Commission for assessment of the rate (if any) at which pension is to be paid."

  3. On 17 June 1999 the Commission lodged an application with this Tribunal for review of that part of the decision of the VRB concerning PTSD and substance abuse.  It is…

Continue reading Freeman; Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Freeman; Repatriation Commission [2000] AATA 727
Case
[2000] AATA 727
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In this case, the matter between the Repatriation Commission and Freeman was brought before the court to determine the applicant's entitlement to veterans' benefits. The applicant, Freeman, had applied for benefits related to Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and psychoactive substance abuse or dependence, which he claimed were caused by his war service. The Repatriation Commission had previously decided that these conditions were war-caused, but this decision was now under review.

The primary legal issue before the court was whether the conditions of PTSD and psychoactive substance abuse or dependence were indeed war-caused, as Freeman had alleged. This required a thorough examination of the evidence presented, including the severity and nature of the traumatic events experienced by Freeman, and whether they met the criteria for a "stressful event" as defined in the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986. Furthermore, the court needed to assess the relevance of the Statements of Principles in diagnosing PTSD and the standard of proof required to substantiate Freeman's claims.

The court found that the definition of a "stressful event" within the Act, exemplified by events such as combat, implied a certain level of severity that Freeman's experiences did not meet. Consequently, the Tribunal set aside the earlier decision by the Veterans' Review Board (VRB) that had found Freeman's conditions to be war-caused. Instead, the Tribunal ruled that PTSD and psychoactive substance abuse or dependence were not war-caused within the meaning of section 9 of the Act. This decision was based on the Tribunal's objective assessment of the events described by Freeman and their determination that they did not satisfy the statutory criteria for a "stressful event".

As a result of this finding, the Tribunal substituted its decision for that of the VRB, concluding that Freeman's disabilities were not war-caused. This decision was based on a comprehensive review of the evidence and the applicable legal standards.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

It is the Tribunal's finding that the example "such as combat" provided in the definition of "stressful event", is intended to convey the severity of the event comprehended by the definition. Given the event described by Mr Freeman, and taking an objective view of it, the Tribunal has formed the view that this part of the definition is not satisfied.Decision The Tribunal will set aside the decision of the VRB that PTSD and Substance Abuse are war-caused, and substitute therefor the Tribunal's decision that those disabilities are not war-caused within the meaning of section 9 of the Act.I certify that the 127 preceding paragraphs are a true copy of the reasons for the decision herein of:Commodore B.G. Gibbs, AM, RAN (Retd), Senior MemberSigned:..................................................................................... Personal AssistantDate/s of Hearing 7/6/2000 & 8/6/2000 Date of Decision 21/8/2000Counsel for the Applicant Mr Ginnane Solicitor for the Applicant Department of Veterans' Affairs Counsel for the Respondent Mr Croyle Solicitor for the Respondent Williams, Winter & Higgs

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.