Edwards and Comcare (Compensation) [2025] ARTA 571 (13 May 2025)
Applicant:Alana Edwards
Respondent: Comcare
Tribunal Number: 2023/4788
Tribunal:Senior Member D Thomae
Place:Brisbane
Date:13 May 2025
Decision: The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
........................[SGD]...........................
Statement made on 13 May 2025 at 4:11pm
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – applicant lodged claim for workers’ compensation for ‘de Quervain’s Tenosynovitis’– respondent denied liability pursuant to s 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (SRC Act) – consideration of conflicting expert medical evidence – relevance of Repatriation Medical Authority statement of principles to the SRC Act - affirm decision
Legislation
Administrative Review Tribunal Act 2024 (Cth)
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth)
Veterans’ Entitlement Act 1986 (Cth)
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (Cth)
Cases
Comcare v Power [2015] FCA 1502
Commonwealth of Australia v Beattie [1981] FCA 88
Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission v May (2016) 257 CLR 468
Re Commonwealth Banking Corporation v Percival [1988] FCA 240
Vivian and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission [2005] AATA 875
HNGN and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission [2018] AATA 4096
Secondary Materials
Statement of Principles concerning de Quervain Tendinopathy – Instrument no. 41 of 2019
Statement of Reasons
INTRODUCTION
The applicant, Ms Alana Edwards (Ms Edwards), made an application for review[1] to the General Division of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (the AAT)[2] of the decision by Comcare, affirming its determination denying liability for what was described as ‘de Quervain’s Tenosynovitis’ (de Quervain’s) under s 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (SRC Act).
[1] Exhibit R15.
[2] On 14 October 2024, the AAT became the Administrative Review Tribunal (the Tribunal). Under the transitional provisions in the Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (the Transitional Act), applications for review to the AAT that were not finalised before 14 October 2024 are taken to be an application for review to the Tribunal. The Transitional Act gives the Tribunal the authority to continue and finalise any aspect of the review not already completed by the AAT. This decision and statement of reasons is made by the Tribunal.
Ms Edwards seeks the Tribunal to set aside Comcare’s determination and vary it so that she is entitled to compensation pursuant to s 14 of the SRC Act.
At the hearing Ms Edwards gave evidence. Ms Hamer of the Defence Housing Authority (DHA) also gave evidence. Dr Simon Journeaux, an orthopaedic surgeon; and Dr Simon White, an occupational physician gave evidence. Ms Edwards was self-represented. Comcare was represented by Mr Phil Nolan of counsel, instructed by HBA Legal.
The Tribunal admitted into evidence the exhibits which are listed in the annexure to these reasons.
BACKGROUND
Ms Edwards was employed by the DHA in a call centre as a ‘Housing Contact Centre Consultant’. That role required Ms Edwards to answer phone calls, process emails, perform data entry and allocated tasks using the DHA workflow…
Continue reading Edwards and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Edwards and Comcare (Compensation) [2025] ARTA 571
- Case
- [2025] ARTA 571
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The key legal issues before the court were whether Ms Edwards suffered from an 'ailment' or an 'aggravation of an ailment', and if this condition was significantly contributed to by her employment with DHA. The court needed to assess the medical evidence presented by both parties and determine if the condition was a disease within the meaning of the SRC Act. Additionally, the court considered the relevance of the Repatriation Medical Authority statement of principles to the SRC Act.
The court found that Ms Edwards' condition of de Quervain's was not contributed to a significant degree by her employment with DHA. The reasoning was based on several factors including the duration of her employment, the nature of her tasks, any predisposition to the condition, and other activities or factors affecting her health. The court accepted the medical evidence provided by Dr Journeaux and Dr White, which contradicted the opinion of Dr Morse, as it was consistent with the medical articles that did not support the occupational factors claimed by Ms Edwards. The court concluded that while Ms Edwards' role involved repetitive tasks, the evidence did not support the conclusion that her employment was a significant contributing factor to her condition. The court found that the condition was more likely caused by 'constitutional' factors, such as her age and gender.
In light of the above, the court affirmed Comcare's decision to deny liability for Ms Edwards' claim. The decision was based on the weight of the evidence, which did not support that Ms Edwards' employment with DHA was a significant contributing factor to her de Quervain's tenosynovitis.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The list is non-exhaustive, and s 5B(2) specifically provides that the matters listed do ‘not limit the matters that may be taken into account’.Duration of employment with DHA Ms Edwards worked at DHA for approximately 18 months in the same role. The onset of her symptoms started approximately 7 months after she commenced. Her employment history did not include a role commensurate with the type of role she had at DHA. The Tribunal is not reasonably satisfied that her duration of employment with DHA significantly contributed to her de Quervain’s.Nature of tasks involved in employment with DHA The Tribunal accepts Ms Edwards evidence in respect to the sustained and repetitive nature of her data entry, keyboard and mouse usage at DHA. The detailed evidence provided by DHA recording her performance and activity in her call centre role corroborated her evidence. The Tribunal is also satisfied that DHA did not enforce its policies in respect to breaks and failed to properly monitor Ms Edwards through a workplace health and safety focus rather than compliance with key performance indicators. However, whilst Ms Edwards duties at DHA were repetitive and sustained, they were not the type of occupational factors that the medical journals relied upon by the parties, namely the use of significant force and awkward postures in the wrist that are connected with de Quervain’s. The Tribunal is not reasonably satisfied that the nature of Ms Edwards’s role with DHA over the relatively short period of approximately 18 months has materially contributed to her de Quervain’s.Any predisposition of Ms Edwards to Quervain’s Ms Edwards is 51. The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that the medical evidence shows that Ms Edwards had by her age and gender a predisposition to de Quervain’s. Her work history prior to DHA has been in other administrative roles where she used keyboards and a mouse, albeit not to the same intensity and duration as in her role at the DHA and are not likely to have contributed to her de Quervain’s.Any activities of Ms Edwards not related to her employment with the DHA The Tribunal was not satisfied that any other activities undertaken by Ms Edwards, including her gym workouts, during her employment with DHA, had any adverse impact on the path of her de Quervain’s.Any other matters affecting Ms Edwards’s health Ms Edwards had no significant comorbidities that would contribute to her condition.Conclusion The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that Ms Edwards condition of de Quervain’s was not contributed to a significant degree by her employment with DHA, because:(a)The Tribunal finds that de Quervain’s is a degenerative disease of the tendon sheaths in the wrist that is more prevalent in women over 30.(b)The Tribunal accepts the opinions of Dr Journeaux and Dr White, insofar as they differ from Dr Morse, in respect to Ms Edwards condition of de Quervain’s not being caused by her employment with DHA, as that is consistent with the medical articles relied upon by Ms Edwards and Comcare that do not provide the occupational factor supporting her contention.(c)Even if Ms Edwards employment with the DHA contributed to her condition of de Quervain’s it was not to the standard required by s 5B of the SRC Act, because the weight of evidence does not support that conclusion, particularly the requirement of force and awkward postures in the use of her wrist.(d)Based on the medical evidence, Ms Edwards age and gender made her predisposed to de Quervain’s.(e)The duration of Ms Edwards employment with DHA was for a relatively short period of approximately 18 months. (f)There was no medical evidence of aggravation of a pre-existing condition of de Quervain’s and in any event, consistent with the reasoning by the Full Court in Commonwealth v Beattie[39], it is not enough that if her de Quervain’s had been a pre-condition that her role with DHA caused an aggravation.(g)The Tribunal is reasonably satisfied that it is more likely that Ms Edwards condition of de Quervain’s was caused by ‘constitutional’ factors as opined by Dr Journeaux and Dr White.[39] (1981) 35 ALR 369 at 378.