DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 314
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No Q2000/970
VETERANS' APPEALS DIVISION )
Re AUTHUR JOHN DUCAT
Applicant
And REPATRIATION COMMISSION
Respondent
DECISION
Tribunal Mr K L Beddoe, Senior Member
Date7 May 2002
PlaceBrisbane
Decision The Tribunal decides: (a) the decisions under review are set aside and substitutes therefore a decision that the applicant's conditions of: (i) Alcohol Abuse or Dependence; (ii) Generalised Anxiety Disorder; and (iii) Depressive Disorder are war-caused. (b) The matter is remitted to the respondent for assessment of the degree of incapacity caused by the accepted disabilities.
(Sgd) K L Beddoe
Senior Member
Decision No 314/2002
CATCHWORDS
VETERANS' AFFAIRS – disability pension - war caused disabilities – Alcohol Abuse, Generalised Anxiety Disorder, Depressive Disorder
Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 s 7A(1A), 7A(1)(a)(iii)
Gorton v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 1194
Repatriation Commission v Binding [1999] FCA 974
Repatriation Commission v Keeley (2000) 98 FCR 108
REASONS FOR DECISION
7 May 2002 Mr K L Beddoe, Senior Member
A delegate of the respondent, by decision dated 26 November 1999, refused the applicant's claim for disability pension and medical treatment for anxiety, depression, stress (later diagnosed as anxiety disorder, major depressive disorder and alcohol abuse) and gastro-oesophageal reflux disease. The applicant's claim for alcohol abuse, major depressive disorder and anxiety disorder were refused on the ground that the conditions were neither war nor defence caused, and the claim for gastro-oesophageal reflux disease was refused on the ground that the condition was not present in the applicant.
The applicant sought a review under Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 ("the Act") by letter which was received by the respondent on 20 December 1999.
At the hearing by the Board, the claim with regard to gastro-oesophageal reflux disease was withdrawn. By a decision dated 25 August 2000, the Veterans' Review Board consented to the withdrawal of gastro-oesophageal reflux disease from its consideration and affirmed the decision under review in relation to anxiety disorder, major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence or alcohol abuse. The applicant lodged an application for review in this Tribunal dated 9 October 2000 and received in the Tribunal on 16 October 2000. The matter was heard by me at Townsville on 18 September 2001.
Mr Honchin represented the applicant and Mr Stoner represented the respondent. Dr Likely, Consultant Psychiatrist; Dr Richards, Psychiatrist; and the applicant gave evidence at the hearing. The documentary evidence before the Tribunal comprised the documents lodged pursuant to section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the "T" Documents), and a number of exhibits tendered as follows:
Exhibit A – Statement by Authur John Ducat dated 1 February 2001
Exhibit B – Report by Dr Michael Likely, Consultant Psychiatrist, dated 9 May 2001
Exhibit C - DSM-IV – Diagnostic an Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Fourth Edition
Exhibit 1 – Report by Dr Wilfred Richards, Psychiatrist, dated 8 March 2001
The applicant served in the Australian Army from 3 July 1967 to 2 July 1989. His eligible war…
Continue reading Ducat and Repatriation Commission
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Ducat and Repatriation Commission [2002] AATA 314
- Case
- [2002] AATA 314
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Court held that it was not necessary to rely on the reasoning that led the Court to lean towards applying the earlier SoP in certain circumstances, particularly where the later SoP is more beneficial. The Court found that the AAT was obliged to consider the applicant's claim in the context of the later SoP, unless the earlier SoP was more favourable. In this case, the later SoP was not more favourable, and therefore the AAT was obliged to consider the applicant's claim in the context of the later SoP. The Court also found that the applicant's credit was not in issue as the first history he gave to Dr Likely differed from later histories. The Court accepted Dr Likely's explanation of the reason for the applicant's volunteering for service in East Timor, finding it plausible and understandable in the context of the applicant's history of preferring the company of service personnel or no company at all.
The Court remitted the matter to the AAT for reconsideration in light of the Court's findings.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
It was contended that the applicant's credit was in issue as the first history he gave to Dr Likely differed from later histories.Consideration Both parties have provided arguments regarding which SoP, if any should apply to the three conditions claimed by the applicant. Both parties have agreed that the relevant SoP for the agreed condition "Alcohol Dependence or Alcohol Abuse" is Instrument No 76 of 1998. There has been no further SoP published with regard to this condition. In Gordon v Repatriation Commission [2001] FCA 286, Stone J stated at paragraphs 23 and 24:"In my opinion, it is not necessary where the later statement of principles is more beneficial, to rely on the reasoning that led the Court in Keeley to lean towards applying the earlier (and more beneficial) Statement of Principles. In particular, the decision in Keeley was based, in part, on the view that, with beneficial legislation such as the Act, a construction of substantive provisions least likely to cause unfairness is to be preferred. The decision in Keeley is not authority for the principle that, when choosing among current or revoked statements, the revoked statement is the one that applies. The Act provides in s 196B(7) and (8) for the continual updating of Statements of Principle so that current statements embody sound medical-scientific evidence against which claims are assessed. In providing for the Board to review decisions of the Repatriation Commission on the merits taking into account not only material considered by the Commission but also additional evidence, the Act evinces an intention for the claim to be assessed in the light of all available evidence, including medico-legal evidence as embodied in the most recent Statement of Principles; ss 138 and 139. The AAT also has the duty to review decisions of the Board on the merits and conduct a complete rehearing of the claim. As Bowen CJ and Deane J commented in Drake v Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (1979) 24 ALR 577 at 589 in relation to appeals to the AAT,"The question for the determination of the Tribunal is not whether the decision which the decision-maker made was the correct or preferable one on the material before him. The question for the determination of the Tribunal is whether that decision was the correct or preferable one on the material before the Tribunal."24 The decision of the Court in Keeley can thus be seen as an exception to this position, dictated by the beneficial nature of the legislation to which the Court referred. The exception applies to preserve the benefit of an existing entitlement to be assessed in the context of a more favourable Statement of Principles. In my opinion, the AAT is obliged to consider the applicant's claim in the context of the Statement of Principles No 25 of 1999 unless Instrument 83 is more favourable. If the latter position is the case, then the applicant's claim must be considered in the context of Instrument 83. " I accept Dr Likely's explanation of the reason for applicant's volunteering for service in East Timor. The explanation is plausible and understandable in a person who has evidenced even during his married life, the preference or need (I am not in a position to state which) for the exclusive company of service personnel or in the alternative, preferred no company at all as provided by Dr Richard's report.