DNJN and Comcare (Compensation) [2015] AATA 928 (2 December 2015)
Division
GENERAL DIVISION
File Number
2012/4514
Re
DNJN
APPLICANT
And
Comcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal Deputy President JW Constance
Date 2 December 2015 Place Melbourne 1. The reviewable decision, being the decision of Comcare made 12 September 2012 that the Applicant is not entitled to compensation for aggravation of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, is set aside.
2. In substitution it is decided that:
(i)in accordance with section 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), Comcare is liable to pay compensation to the Applicant in respect of an injury being an aggravation of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome;
(ii)the injury arose out of the Applicant’s employment by the Commonwealth; and
(iii)in accordance with subsection 7(4) of the Act, the Applicant is taken to have sustained the injury on 23 July 2010.
...........................[SGD].............................................
Deputy President JW Constance
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION - compensation for injuries - aggravation of chronic fatigue syndrome - whether aggravation contributed to, to a significant degree by the applicant's employment - whether the aggravation was suffered as a result of reasonable administrative action taken in a reasonable manner in respect of employment - decision set aside and substituted
LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 4(1), 5A, 5B, 7(4), 14(1)
CASES
DNJN and Comcare [2014] AATA 237
Commonwealth Bank of Australia (ACN 123 123 124 v Reeve and Another [2012] FCAFC 21
REASONS FOR DECISION
DEPUTY PRESIDENT JW CONSTANCE
2 December 2015
INTRODUCTION
The Applicant was employed in the Australian Public Service from 2002 until August 2014. In 2012 she made a claim for compensation for an injury she suffered, which she claimed was caused by her employment. In her claim form the Applicant described the injury as “Aggravation of chronic fatigue syndrome (injury) aggravation of depression and anxiety”.[1]
[1] Exhibit R1 p.87.
On 12 September 2012 Comcare decided to affirm an earlier determination denying liability to compensate the Applicant. The Applicant sought a review of this decision by the Tribunal.
I heard the application in November 2013 and February 2014. On 24 April 2014 I published a decision affirming Comcare’s denial of liability to compensate the Applicant.
On appeal, the Federal Court of Australia set aside my decision and remitted it to the Tribunal to be reheard according to law. I will refer later in these reasons to the basis for the Court’s decision as it affects the scope of the matters which I must consider in these reasons.
Both parties agreed that I should re-hear the matter.
For the reasons which follow the reviewable decision made by Comcare will be set aside and in substitution it will be decided that Comcare is liable to compensate the Applicant for the claimed injury.
BACKGROUND
The following 11 paragraphs are taken from my decision of 24 April 2014. The facts set out are not in dispute.
The Applicant grew up in country Victoria. She was a healthy child who enjoyed sports and…
Continue reading DNJN and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- DNJN and Comcare (Compensation) [2015] AATA 928
- Case
- [2015] AATA 928
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Comcare accepts that the aggravation of the Applicant’s condition was caused by the duties she was required to perform and that the performance of those particular duties was a consequence of her having been transferred to her new position in the Random Sample Team. It was argued that:(i)the administrative action of the transfer included the performance of duties consequent upon that transfer; or alternatively,(ii)the aggravation was “a result of” the administrative action constituted by the transfer and therefore falls within the exclusionary provision of subsection 5A(1).CONSIDERATION The Applicant was not cross-examined on the evidence she gave at the hearing on remittal or on her statement of 12 March 2015. I am satisfied that the Applicant was an honest witness. I accept her evidence and make findings of fact in accordance with her statement. In particular I am satisfied, on the basis of that evidence, that the aggravation of her chronic fatigue disorder was caused by the realisation that her duties in the new position included the assessment of marriage-like relationships. I accept too her evidence given on 25 November 2013 that at the time she was transferred it had not occurred to her that she would be expected to do that work.[12][12] Transcript 25/11/13 p.26. In my view the alternative arguments put by Comcare state the same proposition in two different ways and both arguments fail to meet a crucial requirement of the exclusionary provision of the definition of injury in subsection 5A(1) – the requirement that the disease, injury or aggravation be suffered “as a result of” the relevant administrative action. In Commonwealth Bank of Australia (ACN 123 123 124) v Reeve and Another[13] Gray J. considered that the more broadly the exclusion in subsection 5A(1) is construed, the more injured workers will be excluded from compensation under the Act. His Honour went on to say:… it is difficult to find in the words “suffered as a result of” some limitation as to the proximity of the relationship between condition and the action. Whether the necessary causal relationship exists will be a question of fact in each case, but the words chosen by the legislature to describe the causal relationship do not lend themselves readily to confinement to a direct result, or a result with any particular degree of proximity. Similarly, the words used to describe the relationship between the action and the employment (in respect of) do not appear to be restrictive of the kind of connection that is envisaged.The limits of the exclusion therefore appear to lie in the word “employment” and the word “administrative”. … It is not action with respect to the duties that an employee is employed to carry out that is the subject of the exclusion, but action with respect to the employee as employee and his or her employment relationship with the employer.[14][13] [2012] FCAFC 21.[14] At pp.191-192. Rares and Tracey JJ. put it this way:The qualification in the final phase of the exclusion in s 5A(1) is important. It requires that the action be taken “in respect of the employee’s employment”. …… This suggests that the parliament intended that the exclusionary action be specific administrative action directed to the person’s employment itself, as opposed to action forming part of the everyday duties and tasks that the employee performed in his or her employment or job. The action must be “in respect of” something that exists – the person’s employment. That is, the action must be something different to the duties and incidents of that employment or, as s 5B(2)(b), provided “the nature of, and particular tasks involved in, the employment”. Rather, the administrative action in the exclusion must take employment as a factum and operate in respect of whatever its duties, incidents, nature and tasks may be.[15][15] At p.201.