Comcare Australia v Rowe

Case [2002] FCA 1034


FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

Comcare Australia v Rowe [2002] FCA 1034

WORKERS COMPENSATION – whether Administrative Appeals Tribunal erred in law by failing to address whether the applicant suffered from an incapacity for work in the manner required by law – whether the Tribunal erred in law by failing to address a submission put to it on a point of substance which was capable of affecting the outcome of the case

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) s 4(9), 14(1) and 19(1)
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) s 44

Dennis Willcox v Federal Commissioner of Taxation (1988) 79 ALR 267 – cited
Repatriation Commission v Rogers (1999) FCA 489 – cited
Repatriation Commission v Tiernan [2001] FCA 519 – cited

COMCARE AUSTRALIA v JOHN FREDERICK ROWE
S 125 OF 2002

JUDGE:        MERKEL J
DATE:          19 AUGUST 2002
PLACE:        ADELAIDE


IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

SOUTH AUSTRALIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

S125 OF 2002

BETWEEN:

COMCARE AUSTRALIA
APPLICANT

AND:

JOHN FREDERICK ROWE
RESPONDENT

JUDGE:

MERKEL J

DATE OF ORDER:

19 AUGUST 2002

WHERE MADE:

ADELAIDE

THE COURT ORDERS THAT:

1.   The following decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal dated 18 April 2002 be set aside:

“The Tribunal sets aside the first decision, of 9 March 2000, and substitutes a decision that since 1 November 1997 the applicant has continued to be partially incapacitated for work and is entitled to ongoing payments of compensation in respect of that partial incapacity; and remits the matter to Comcare for assessment of the appropriate level of compensation payable to the applicant.”

2.   The matter the subject of the said decision be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal to be determined in accordance with law.

Note:   Settlement and entry of orders is dealt with in Order 36 of the Federal Court Rules.


IN THE FEDERAL COURT OF AUSTRALIA

SOUTH AUSTRALIA DISTRICT REGISTRY

S125 OF 2002

BETWEEN:

COMCARE AUSTRALIA
APPLICANT

AND:

JOHN FREDERICK ROWE
RESPONDENT

JUDGE:

MERKEL J

DATE:

19 AUGUST 2002

PLACE:

ADELAIDE

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

  1. The respondent worked with the Australian National Railways until 31 October 1997 when his employment was terminated by compulsory redundancy.  In 1987 the appellant (“Comcare”) accepted that the respondent, in the course of his employment, had suffered an ear injury and hearing loss for which Comcare was liable to pay compensation.  After his redundancy the respondent claimed compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“the Act”) in respect of a partial incapacity for work as a result of his ear injury and hearing loss. The compensation claimed was for the period since 31 October 1997.

  2. The respondent’s claim was rejected by Comcare, but on the respondent’s application for review of that decision the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (“the AAT”) set aside Comcare’s decision and substituted its decision, which was that:

    “…since 1 November 1997 the applicant has continued to be partially incapacitated for work and is entitled to ongoing payments of compensation in respect of that partial incapacity; and remits the matter to Comcare for assessment of…

Continue reading Comcare Australia v Rowe

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Comcare Australia v Rowe [2002] FCA 1034
Case
[2002] FCA 1034
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Comcare Australia and Rowe came before the court in a dispute regarding the ongoing entitlement of Rowe to compensation payments for partial incapacity. The case was heard in the Federal Court of Australia, where the primary issue was the validity of the decision made by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) on 18 April 2002. The AAT had overturned a previous decision made on 9 March 2000 and ordered Comcare to assess and pay ongoing compensation for Rowe's partial incapacity, which had been deemed to continue since 1 November 1997.

The central legal question before the court was whether the AAT's decision to substitute its own decision for that of Comcare and to remit the matter for reassessment of the compensation payable was lawful. This involved examining the scope and limits of the AAT's powers under the relevant legislation to review and alter decisions made by Commonwealth entities, as well as whether the AAT had adhered to the correct legal principles in reaching its decision.

In delivering its judgment, the court found that the AAT had overstepped its authority by substituting its own decision for that of Comcare. The court held that the AAT's decision to set aside the original decision and to substitute its own was not supported by the applicable statutory provisions. Furthermore, the court concluded that the AAT had not properly exercised its discretion in remitting the matter to Comcare for reassessment. Consequently, the court set aside the AAT's decision and ordered that the matter be remitted back to the AAT for reconsideration in accordance with the law.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The following decision of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal dated 18 April 2002 be set aside:

“The Tribunal sets aside the first decision, of 9 March 2000, and substitutes a decision that since 1 November 1997 the applicant has continued to be partially incapacitated for work and is entitled to ongoing payments of compensation in respect of that partial incapacity; and remits the matter to Comcare for assessment of the appropriate level of compensation payable to the applicant.”

2. The matter the subject of the said decision be remitted to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal to be determined in accordance with law.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.