Bulghadaryan v State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydney Local Health District)

Case [2025] NSWPICPD 59


DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY A MEMBER

CITATION:

Bulghadaryan v State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydney Local Health District) [2025] NSWPICPD 59

APPELLANT:

Anna Bulghadaryan

RESPONDENT:

State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydney Local Health District)

INSURER:

Employers Mutual Limited – TMF

FILE NUMBER:

A1-W26938/24

PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER:

Acting Deputy President Geoffrey Parker SC

DATE OF APPEAL DECISION:

11 August 2025

ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

1.     The Application to receive additional evidence is refused.

2.     The appeal is dismissed.

3.     The Member’s Certificate of Determination dated 10 December 2024 is confirmed.

CATCHWORDS:

WORKERS COMPENSATION – assessment of the evidence – claimed injury to the shoulders not found by the Member at first instance – finding by Member of injury to lumbar and cervical spines – section 352(6) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 – fresh or additional evidence – claimant undergoes MRI after Member decides case at first instance – additional evidence in the form of a statement, MRI and report sought to be relied on in the appeal in relation to the shoulders – CHEP Australia Limited v Strickland [2013] NSWCA 351; 12 DDCR 501 applied

HEARING:

On the papers

REPRESENTATION:

Appellant:

Mr M Greene, solicitor

Carroll & O’Dea Lawyers

Respondent:

Ms K Balendra, counsel

Hicksons Lawyers

DECISION UNDER APPEAL:

Bulghadaryan v State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydney Local Health District) [2024] NSWPIC 685

MEMBER:

Mr P McAdam

DATE OF MEMBER’S DECISION:

10 December 2024

INTRODUCTION

  1. The appeal is from a decision of a Member of the Personal Injury Commission dated 10 December 2024.

  2. The appellant, Ms Anna Bulghadaryan, was employed at the Sydney Eye Hospital as a medical records officer. The Sydney Eye Hospital had physical files and records that the appellant was required to move. She claimed lump sum compensation for a 22% whole person impairment.

  3. The issue in dispute between the parties was whether the appellant had suffered an injury to her lumbar spine and both shoulders arising out of or in the course of her employment with the respondent.

  4. On 10 December 2024, the Commission determined that issue as follows:

    “1.     I am satisfied that Ms Bulghadaryan suffered an injury to the lumbar spine arising out of or in the course of her employment with the respondent, to which employment was the main contributing factor.

    2.      Award for the respondent for injury to both shoulders.

    3. The matter is remitted to the President for referral to a Medical Assessor pursuant to s 321 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 for assessment as follows:

    (a) Date of injury: 7 February 2024 (deemed).

    (b) Body systems/parts:

    (i) cervical spine, and

    (ii) lumbar spine.

    (c) Method of assessment: whole person impairment.

    4.      The documents to be referred to the Medical Assessor are:

    (a) the Application and attached documents;

    (b) the Reply and attached documents, and

    (c) an Application to Admit Late Documents dated 22 November 2024 and attached…

Continue reading Bulghadaryan v State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydne...

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Bulghadaryan v State of New South Wales (South Eastern Sydney Local Health District) [2025] NSWPICPD 59
Case
[2025] NSWPICPD 59
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The appeal before the court involved a claim for workers' compensation by Bulghadaryan against the State of New South Wales, represented by the South Eastern Sydney Local Health District. Bulghadaryan sought compensation for injuries to his shoulders, lumbar and cervical spines sustained during his employment. The Member of the tribunal dismissed Bulghadaryan's claim for shoulder injuries but found that he had suffered injuries to his lumbar and cervical spines.

The legal issues that the court had to address centred on the admissibility of fresh evidence, specifically an MRI scan and a report, submitted by Bulghadaryan after the initial decision by the Member. The court needed to determine whether the new evidence could be considered under section 352(6) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998, which allows for fresh or additional evidence to be taken into account if it was not reasonably available at the time of the original hearing.

The court found that the MRI and the report were indeed fresh evidence as they were not reasonably available at the time of the initial decision. The court considered the case of CHEP Australia Limited v Strickland, which established that fresh evidence could be admitted if it was relevant and had the potential to affect the outcome of the case. However, in this instance, the court held that the evidence did not alter the conclusion reached by the Member regarding the shoulder injuries. The court confirmed the Member's findings that there was no injury to the shoulders, and therefore, the fresh evidence did not result in a different outcome for Bulghadaryan's claim.

The court ultimately dismissed the appeal, upholding the Member's decision that Bulghadaryan was not entitled to compensation for injuries to his shoulders. The court did not alter the finding regarding the lumbar and cervical spines, leaving that aspect of the Member's decision intact.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.