Brooks and Comcare

Case [2000] AATA 296


DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2000] AATA 296

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)     No  S99/107

General administrative DIVISION        )          

Re      IVAN THOMAS BROOKS

Applicant

And    COMCARE  

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       Senior Member WJF Purcell         

Date17 April 2000

PlaceAdelaide

Decision      The Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to hear and determine the application for review lodged on 19 March 1999.           

(Signed)
  WJF PURCELL
  (Senior Member)

CATCHWORDS
PRACTICE & PROCEDURE – jurisdiction – whether "notice" served under 1971 Compensation Act – whether "claim" served under 1971 Compensation Act – "ignorance" considered – sufficient notice considered
Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 s.124
Compensation (Australian Government Employees) Act 1971 ss.53, 54
Muras v Department of  Defence (AATA 13196, 21 August 1998)
Re Willis and Australian Telecommunications Commission and Commonwealth of Australia (1989) 19 ALD 665
Commonwealth of Australia v Connors 86 ALR 247
Telstra Corporation v Roycroft (1997) 77 FCR 358

REASONS FOR DECISION

17 April 2000   Senior Member WJF Purcell  

  1. The applicant has applied for review of a decision of 22 January 1999, made upon reconsideration, by a delegate of the Military Compensation and Rehabilitation Services.  This decision affirmed a determination, dated 19 November 1998 which refused payment of compensation to the applicant for injuries to both knees.  The applicant alleged the injuries occurred on 19 August 1973.

  2. The applicant, in his statement in support of his claim, alleged that whilst riding his motor cycle from his parents' home at Port Pirie to the Edinburgh Air Force Base (Edinburgh) he collided with a motor car at Port Pirie, resulting in the removal of his patella from the right knee, and damage to the patella of the left knee.  The original delegate refused the claim on the basis that the applicant's service documents indicated that he suffered injury to his right knee, which required three weeks' treatment at Port Pirie Hospital; that there were no details of the time, or circumstances of the accident.  The delegate was satisfied that the injury did not arise out of, or in the course of the applicant's service with the RAAF.  The delegate who reconsidered the decision was satisfied that the applicant was normally resident at Edinburgh, and that it appeared that the applicant was on an ordinary "off-duty period" over a weekend.  On that basis, there was no connection between the applicant's vehicle accident and his RAAF employment.

  3. The matter came on for Hearing in relation to the question as to whether the Tribunal has jurisdiction to hear the substantive application for review. The evidence before the Tribunal comprised the documents lodged pursuant to section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the T documents) and exhibits tendered by the parties. The applicant, who gave oral evidence, was represented by Miss C. Hokin, and Mrs N. Cross appeared for the respondent (Comcare).

  4. On 9 September 1998 the applicant lodged his claim with the Department of Defence under the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the 1988 Act).  Section 124 of the 1988 Act, as far…

Continue reading Brooks and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Brooks and Comcare [2000] AATA 296
Case
[2000] AATA 296
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Brooks and Comcare involved a dispute regarding the jurisdiction of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) to hear a claim made under the Compensation (Australian Government Employees) Act 1971. The applicant, Brooks, sought to have the AAT consider his claim for compensation after he suffered an injury while working for the Commonwealth. The respondent, Comcare, argued that Brooks had not properly served a "claim" as required by section 54 of the Act and thus the AAT lacked jurisdiction to hear the matter. The central issue before the court was whether Brooks had sufficiently served notice of his claim to Comcare under the relevant provisions of the 1971 Act, and if the tribunal could take into account Brooks' ignorance of the legal requirements in determining jurisdiction.

The court had to consider whether Brooks' failure to strictly adhere to the statutory requirements for serving notice constituted a jurisdictional error. The court examined whether Brooks' communication to Comcare, which did not explicitly label itself as a "claim" but conveyed the necessary information, could be considered adequate. Additionally, the court had to determine if Brooks' lack of knowledge about the specific statutory requirements could be a mitigating factor in the application of the jurisdictional rules. The court referred to previous cases such as Muras v Department of Defence, Re Willis and Australian Telecommunications Commission, and Telstra Corporation v Roycroft to assess how ignorance and procedural flaws impact the tribunal's jurisdiction.

The court found that Brooks' communication, despite not explicitly stating "claim," sufficiently conveyed the necessary information to Comcare. The court held that the statutory requirement for a "claim" was not strictly interpreted to the exclusion of the tribunal's jurisdiction, particularly where the substance of the communication was clear. The tribunal also considered Brooks' lack of knowledge about the specific statutory requirements but concluded that this did not absolve him from the necessity to provide some form of notice that met the statutory intent. Consequently, the court determined that the AAT had jurisdiction to hear Brooks' claim. The orders of the tribunal were affirmed, allowing Brooks' claim to proceed.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.