Bergersen and Comcare

Case [2007] AATA 1373


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1373

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          Nos A 200500269 &

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION )                A 200600132
Re FRANK BERGERSEN

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Senior Member L Hastwell

Date28 May 2007

PlaceCanberra

Decision

The Tribunal:
(a) sets aside the first decision under review and substitutes a decision that the applicant suffers a 10 percent impairment under Table 5.1 of the Guide and is entitled to compensation under s 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act); and
(b) affirms the second decision under review insofar as it found that the applicant had no entitlements under the Act, pursuant to s 16, for ongoing medical treatment.

..............................................

L HASTWELL
  (Senior Member)

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Commonwealth employees – depression – disease – aggravation major depressive disorder single episode – respondent accepted liability for injury – injury resolved – impairment consequence of injury – degree of impairment – minor loss of personal and social efficiency – fear of recurrence – employment at lower level of responsibility because of fear of recurrence – constant lifestyle vigilance because of fear of recurrence – feelings of vulnerability and diminished self worth – minor distortions of thinking – 10 percent impairment – first decision set aside – entitlement to weekly payments – incapacity – no proven ongoing incapacity for work – medical treatment – episode treated and fully resolved – second decision affirmed

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4, 14, 16, 19, 24

Brennan v Comcare (1994) 50 FCR 555
Canute v Comcare [2005] FCA 299
Re D’Costa and Comcare (2004) 83 ALD 475
Re O’Maley and Comcare (1997) 48 ALD 300
Re Dwight  and Comcare [2006] AATA 730
Re Cobern and Comcare [1998] AATA 221

REASONS FOR DECISION

28 May 2007   Senior Member L Hastwell

1.      Frank Bergersen (the applicant) was employed as an Executive Level 1 by Environment Australia at the time that he suffered the onset of an episode of major depression.  This was the fourth episode of significant depression that the applicant had suffered over a period of 20 years. 

2. In September 2002 the applicant lodged a claim for compensation for his major depression asserting that it was a workplace injury. The respondent (Comcare) accepted liability under s 14 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act) for an aggravation of major depressive disorder, single episode with the date of injury taken to be 6 March 2002.  Liability was accepted on 13 January 2004 (T28).

3. On 26 April 2004 the applicant lodged a claim for permanent impairment under s 24 of the Act. Liability was rejected and a reviewable decision rejecting liability for permanent impairment under s 24 of the Act was made on 15 July 2005. The applicant seeks a review of that decision (the first decision) by this Tribunal.

4. On 10 January 2005 Comcare made an initial determination to cease ongoing liability to pay compensation to the applicant…

Continue reading Bergersen and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Bergersen and Comcare [2007] AATA 1373
Case
[2007] AATA 1373
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, in this case, sought compensation from Comcare for a major depressive disorder single episode which had been aggravated during the course of his employment as a Commonwealth employee. The dispute was heard and determined by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). The primary legal issues that the Tribunal was required to decide were the degree of impairment caused by the depressive episode, and whether the applicant was entitled to ongoing compensation and medical treatment under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

The Tribunal found that the applicant suffered from a major depressive disorder single episode which had been aggravated by his employment. The respondent accepted liability for the injury, and the issue of impairment was the primary focus of the proceedings. The Tribunal noted that the applicant's injury had resolved, but he continued to experience minor loss of personal and social efficiency, fear of recurrence, and a constant lifestyle vigilance because of this fear. The Tribunal determined that these factors amounted to a minor loss of personal and social efficiency, and assessed the degree of impairment at 10 percent under Table 5.1 of the Guide. The Tribunal also found that the applicant had no proven ongoing incapacity for work, and that the medical treatment he had received had been fully resolved.

The Tribunal set aside the first decision under review and substituted a decision that the applicant suffered a 10 percent impairment and was entitled to compensation under section 24 of the Act. The Tribunal affirmed the second decision under review insofar as it found that the applicant had no entitlements under the Act for ongoing medical treatment. The Tribunal's decision was based on its consideration of the evidence before it and relevant legal authorities, including Brennan v Comcare, Canute v Comcare, Re D’Costa and Comcare, Re O’Maley and Comcare, Re Dwight and Comcare, and Re Cobern and Comcare.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal:

(a) sets aside the first decision under review and substitutes a decision that the applicant suffers a 10 percent impairment under Table 5.1 of the Guide and is entitled to compensation under s 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act); and

(b) affirms the second decision under review insofar as it found that the applicant had no entitlements under the Act, pursuant to s 16, for ongoing medical treatment.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.