Young and Repatriation Commission

Case [2007] AATA 55


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 55

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No W2005/193

VETERANS' APPEALS  DIVISION )
Re RONALD GIBSON YOUNG

Applicant

And

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Deputy President S D Hotop

Date9 February 2007

PlacePerth

Decision

The Tribunal sets aside the decision of the Veterans’ Review Board dated 22 February 2005 and, in substitution therefor, decides that:

·   the applicant does not suffer from post traumatic stress disorder;

· the applicant suffers from major depressive disorder, and alcohol dependence, and that each of those conditions is a war-caused disease, within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), with effect from 28 June 2001.

The matter is remitted to the respondent for a reassessment of the rate of the applicant’s disability pension on the basis of this decision.

..........[Sgd S D Hotop] ..........

Deputy President

CATCHWORDS

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – veterans’ entitlements – disability pension – applicant served in Australian Army from July 1967 to July 1969 – applicant rendered operational service in Vietnam from April 1968 to April 1969 – applicant suffers from major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence – applicant does not suffer from post traumatic stress disorder – material before Tribunal raises reasonable hypothesis connecting applicant’s major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence with circumstances of his operational service – Tribunal not satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that no sufficient ground for determining that applicant’s major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence war-caused – applicant’s major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence are war-caused diseases – decision under review set aside

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), s 5D, s 9, s 120 and s 120A

Byrnes v Repatriation Commission (1993) 177 CLR 564

Repatriation Commission v Cooke (1998) 90 FCR 307

Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 83 FCR 82

White v Repatriation Commission (2004) 39 AAR 67

REASONS FOR DECISION

9 February 2007      Deputy President S D Hotop   

Introduction

1.      Ronald Gibson Young (“the applicant”), who was born on 14 May 1947, served in the Australian Army, pursuant to the National Service Act, from 12 July 1967 to 11 July 1969, and his Army service included service in Vietnam from 30 April 1968 to 9 April 1969 (being “operational service” for the purposes of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) (“the Act”)).

2. On 28 September 2001 he made a claim for a disability pension under Pt II of the Act in respect of the following disabilities which he claimed were war-caused:

·“hearing loss/ tinnitus”;

·“PTSD”; and

·“alcohol abuse”.

3.      On 12 February 2002 a delegate of the Repatriation Commission (“the respondent”) determined that the appropriate medical diagnoses of the applicant’s claimed disabilities were, respectively:

·bilateral sensorineural hearing loss;

·depressive disorder; and

·alcohol dependence or alcohol abuse.

The delegate went on to decide that the applicant’s bilateral sensorineural hearing loss was war-caused, but that his depressive disorder and alcohol dependence or alcohol abuse were not war-caused.

4.      On 22 February 2005 the Veterans’ Review Board (“VRB”) varied…

Continue reading Young and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Young and Repatriation Commission [2007] AATA 55
Case
[2007] AATA 55
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Mr Young, brought a case against the Repatriation Commission concerning the denial of his disability pension. Mr Young served in the Australian Army from July 1967 to July 1969, including operational service in Vietnam from April 1968 to April 1969. He suffers from major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence, but not from post-traumatic stress disorder. The dispute centred on whether his major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence were caused by his war service, a determination necessary for him to receive a disability pension. The case was heard and decided by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The primary legal issues the court had to address were whether Mr Young’s major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence were war-caused diseases, as defined under section 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth). The Tribunal needed to determine if there was a reasonable hypothesis connecting these conditions with Mr Young's operational service in Vietnam, and if the evidence supported these conditions being classified as war-caused diseases. Additionally, the Tribunal had to consider if the Repatriation Commission's decision to deny Mr Young’s pension was legally sound, given the statutory criteria for war-caused diseases.

The Tribunal found that the material presented did establish a reasonable hypothesis connecting Mr Young's major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence with his circumstances of operational service. The evidence supported that these conditions were not merely coincidental but were connected to his service. Therefore, the Tribunal concluded that the Repatriation Commission had not met its burden of proof in determining that these conditions were not war-caused. The Tribunal set aside the previous decision and ruled that Mr Young’s major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence were indeed war-caused diseases. This ruling mandated a reassessment of Mr Young’s disability pension by the Repatriation Commission.

The Tribunal’s decision was based on the evidence presented and the legal framework provided by the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth). The court referenced several precedents, including Byrnes v Repatriation Commission, Repatriation Commission v Cooke, Repatriation Commission v Deledio, and White v Repatriation Commission, to support its findings. The Tribunal’s final orders included setting aside the Veterans’ Review Board’s decision dated 22 February 2005, recognising that Mr Young does not suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder, and that both his major depressive disorder and alcohol dependence were war-caused diseases. The matter was remitted to the Repatriation Commission for reassessment of Mr Young’s disability pension based on these findings.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal sets aside the decision of the Veterans’ Review Board dated 22 February 2005 and, in substitution therefor, decides that:

· the applicant does not suffer from post traumatic stress disorder;

· the applicant suffers from major depressive disorder, and alcohol dependence, and that each of those conditions is a war-caused disease, within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth), with effect from 28 June 2001.

The matter is remitted to the respondent for a reassessment of the rate of the applicant’s disability pension on the basis of this decision.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.