Xerri and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Case [2006] AATA 493


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2006] AATA 493

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No T2005/152

GENERAL ADMINISTRTIVE  DIVISION )
Re EMANUEL XERRI

Applicant

And

SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT AND WORKPLACE RELATIONS

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal The Hon R J Groom (Deputy President)

Date7 June 2006

PlaceHobart

Decision The decision under review is affirmed.

..............................................

Deputy President

CATCHWORDS

Social Security – disability support pension – impairment – whether qualifies for pension within 13 week period – whether impairments have a combined rating of 20 points or more under Impairment Tables – decision affirmed.

Social Security Act 1991 – ss41(1), 94(1), Schedule 1B

Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 – Schedule 2

Re Goudge and Secretary, Department of Social Security (1989) 17 ALD 415

Re Batson and Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2004] AATA 1285

Re Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services and Pistone (2003) 37 AAR 334

Re Giddings and Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2003] AATA 893

REASONS FOR DECISION

7 June 2006 The Hon R J Groom (Deputy President)

1.      Mr Xerri is 62 years of age and resides in Malta where he was born.    He lived in Australia between 1961 and 1985.   He was employed as a road worker until July 2004.   Mr Xerri suffers from a number of medical conditions.  

2.      Mr Xerri applied for a Disability Support Pension (“DSP”) on 26 August 2004 but was unsuccessful.    He then failed in an appeal to the Social Security Appeals Tribunal (“SSAT”).   Mr Xerri now seeks a review of that decision.

3. There is in existence an international agreement between Australia and Malta under the Social Security (International Agreements) Act 1999. It is not in dispute that if the applicant satisfies the requirements of s94(1) of the Social Security Act 1991 (“the Act”) he would otherwise be entitled to receive a DSP.

4.      The hearing was conducted by telephone link to Malta.   Mr Karmenu Attard acted as interpreter.  The applicant attended the telephone hearing and was assisted by his wife Mrs Mary Jane Xerri and Mr Warren Dingli.   Mr Brian Sparkes, Centrelink advocate, represented the respondent. 

5. The Tribunal had before it the documents lodged pursuant to s37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the “T Documents”). Mr and Mrs Xerri and Dr M Tabart gave oral evidence.

6. The issue to be determined by the Tribunal is whether the applicant satisfies the requirements of s94(1) of the Act.

The Legislation

7. Section 94(1) of the Act relevantly provides as follows:

“A person is qualified for disability support pension if:

(a)       the person has a physical, intellectual or psychiatric impairment;  and

(b)       the person’s impairment is of 20points or more under the Impairment Tables;       and

(c)       one of the following applies:

(i)   the person has a continuing inability to work;

...”

8. “Impairment Tables” means the Tables in Schedule 1B of the Act (see s23). The introduction to Schedule 1B provides, in part, as follows:

“4.        A rating is only…

Continue reading Xerri and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace...

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Xerri and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2006] AATA 493
Case
[2006] AATA 493
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Xerri and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations involved a dispute over the applicant's eligibility for a disability support pension. The applicant, Xerri, contested the Secretary's decision to deny his claim for a disability support pension under the Social Security Act 1991. The matter was heard and determined by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia. The Tribunal's task was to review whether Xerri's impairments met the criteria for a disability support pension, specifically whether they had a combined rating of 20 points or more within a 13-week period, as required by the Impairment Tables in Schedule 1B of the Social Security Act 1991.

The primary legal issue before the Tribunal was whether Xerri's impairments, as assessed, warranted the award of a disability support pension. The Tribunal needed to determine if the cumulative points of Xerri's impairments, according to the criteria set out in the Impairment Tables, reached or exceeded the 20-point threshold. The decision hinged on an interpretation of the relevant legislative provisions and the application of the Impairment Tables to the facts of Xerri's case. The Tribunal also considered relevant case law, including Re Goudge, Re Batson, Re Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services and Pistone, and Re Giddings, which provided guidance on the assessment of impairments and the application of the Impairment Tables.

In affirming the Secretary's decision, the Tribunal found that Xerri's impairments did not reach the required 20-point threshold. The Tribunal carefully evaluated the evidence provided and applied the relevant statutory framework and case law to conclude that the Secretary's assessment was correct. The Tribunal found that while Xerri had significant impairments, they did not collectively meet the statutory requirement for a disability support pension. The decision was based on a detailed examination of the evidence and a rigorous application of the legal criteria.

The final order of the Tribunal was to affirm the Secretary's decision, denying Xerri's claim for a disability support pension. The Tribunal's decision was grounded in a thorough analysis of the legislative provisions, the Impairment Tables, and the evidence presented, leading to the conclusion that the Secretary's assessment was justified.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is affirmed.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.