Wirth and Comcare (Compensation) [2020] AATA 29 (14 January 2020)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Numbers: 2016/5274 and 2018/7300
Re:NATALIE WIRTH
APPLICANT
AndCOMCARE
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:R CAMERON SENIOR MEMBER
Date:14 January 2020
Place:Melbourne
The Tribunal sets aside the decision in relation to application 2016/5274, and in substitution orders:
1. The Applicant has continued to suffer from 10 June 2016 to the present date, from the effects of the injury identified as:
(a) Subacute avulsion fracture of the great cubicle of the proximal humerus right side;
(b) Severe rotator cuff pathology right side with tears of the supraspinatus muscle, biceps tendinosis and superior labral tear and signs of glenohumeral osteoarthritis responsible for pain and movements restriction in the right shoulder joint:
i.sustained on 20 November 2009, arising out of her former employment with the Bureau of Meteorology, resulting in a need for medical treatment pursuant to section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.
2. In application 2016/5274, the Respondent shall pay the Applicant’s costs and disbursements in respect of the proceedings pursuant to section 67 of the SRC Act.
The Tribunal extends the time in which the Applicant may request reconsideration of the decision in relation to application 2018/7300 to 10 October 2018.
The Tribunal affirms the decision in relation to application 2018/7300.
........................[sgd]................................................
R CAMERON SENIOR MEMBER
Catchwords
COMPENSATION – injuries to shoulder and knee – whether arising out of or in the course of employment – evidence of pre-existing degenerative change – subsequent incidents that affected the injury – impact of age and weight on conditions – whether conditions still related to employment – first reviewable decision set aside – second reviewable decision affirmed
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988
Cases
Briginshaw v Briginshaw (1938) CLR 336
Comcare v Porter (1996) 70 FCR 139Griffiths v Australian Postal Corporation (2018) 158 ALD 298
Secondary Materials
Peter Sutherland, John Oman Ballard and Allan Anforth, Annotated Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Federation Press, 11th ed, 2018)
REASONS FOR DECISION
R CAMERON SENIOR MEMBER
14 January 2020
INTRODUCTION
There are two applications before the Tribunal.
The first application (2016/5274) seeks a review of a decision made by a Review Officer of Comcare (“the Respondent”) on 18 August 2016 affirming a previous decision denying the Applicant medical expenses under section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act1988 (“SRC Act”) for an injury described as rotator cuff strain (right) and sprain of the shoulder and upper arm (“the first reviewable decision”).[1]
[1] The first reviewable decision is document T 55 of the T documents (Exhibit R-1).
The second application (2018/7300) seeks review of a decision made by a Review Officer of the Respondent on 12 October 2018 affirming a previous decision refusing an extension of time to lodge a request for reconsideration of a previous determination made that the Respondent was not liable for a total left knee replacement under section 16 of the SRC…
Continue reading Wirth and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Wirth and Comcare (Compensation) [2020] AATA 29
- Case
- [2020] AATA 29
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Tribunal was required to determine whether the Applicant's right shoulder injury sustained on 20 November 2009 occurred in the course of her employment. It also needed to consider the impact of pre-existing degenerative changes, age, and weight on the Applicant's left knee condition, and whether this condition remained related to her employment, particularly in light of a medical opinion suggesting it was constitutional.
The Tribunal accepted the Applicant's evidence regarding the 20 November 2009 incident, finding her to be a reliable witness whose account was consistent with contemporaneous documents. The Tribunal noted that the employer's contention that the Applicant was not required to deliver mail on that day was not supported by viva voce evidence from her supervisor, and inferred that such evidence would not have assisted the Respondent. Consequently, the Tribunal found that the Applicant's right shoulder injury arose in the course of her employment, acknowledging pre-existing degenerative changes consistent with her age. Regarding the left knee, the Tribunal considered a medical opinion that attributed the condition to constitutional, age, and weight-related factors, and not work-related aggravation.
In application 2016/5274, the first reviewable decision was set aside, and it was ordered that the Applicant suffered from her right shoulder injury sustained on 20 November 2009, arising out of her employment, requiring medical treatment under section 16 of the SRC Act. The Respondent was ordered to pay the Applicant's costs. In application 2018/7300, the time for the Applicant to request reconsideration of the second reviewable decision was extended to 10 October 2018, and the second reviewable decision was affirmed.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Dr Khursandi also concluded that the condition then suffered by the Applicant in the left knee was constitutional, age and weight related. He therefore stated he was not able to attribute her current condition to work-related aggravation which had previously been accepted by Comcare three years earlier.CONSIDERATIONThe 20 November 2009 incident and the Applicant’s right shoulder The Respondent contended that the right shoulder injury did not occur in the course of the Applicant’s employment.[55] In a consideration of findings to be made concerning this incident the Tribunal refers to and repeats the general observations on the Applicant’s demeanour and her evidence referred to above. [55] In the application no 2016/5274 concerning the Applicant’s right shoulder the first issue for determination by the Tribunal identified in her counsel's Outline of Closing Address was: "Whether the injury to the right shoulder sustained on 20 November 2009 occurred in the course of the BOM employment." The Tribunal accepts the Applicant’s account of the events that occurred on 20 November 2009 when she fell over upon leaving the lift at the Bureau of Meteorology offices. It does so for several reasons. Firstly, as observed above, the Tribunal found the Applicant to be overall a reliable witness. It is readily conceded that at times her recollection was not as precise as one might have imagined. However, she did not generally give an inconsistent account concerning those events. Secondly, it must be repeated that her account in the witness box largely accorded with the contents of the contemporaneous documents referred to earlier in these reasons. Thirdly, also as noted above, her account of her duties on that day, although tackled in cross examination and disputed in the contents of the letter of 2 December 2009 from the Compensation and Rehabilitation Officer of the Bureau of Meteorology, was not disputed by any other viva voce evidence. As noted above in these reasons, reference was made in that letter to the advice given by the Applicant’s direct supervisor at the time. The direct supervisor did not give evidence at the hearing, and no explanation was given to the Tribunal for this failure to call her. One would have expected her to have been called if there was a genuine dispute about whether or not the Applicant did deliver the envelope to the Registry/Mail Centre on Level 5 (or whether she had been allocated such duties on that day) and whether there was also an internal mail pickup and delivery service functioning on the day of the incident. Fourthly, some allowance must be made for the fact that the incident concerned occurred approximately 10 years ago. With the passage of that much time recollections will become less accurate. Given these findings about the 20 November 2009 incident, the Tribunal finds that the right shoulder injury suffered on that day by the Applicant arose in the course of her employment. Both parties to the application agree that there were pre-existing degenerative changes in the right shoulder to the Applicant’s rotator cuff. Both agree that they were, more likely than not, degenerative changes consistent with her age.