Thompson and Comcare

Case [2004] AATA 96


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2004] AATA 96

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )         N° V2002/506

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )         N° V2002/1316

Re

DAVID THOMPSON

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal

Senior Member J.R. Dwyer

Miss E.A. Shanahan, Member

Date 4 February 2004

PlaceMelbourne

Decision

1.     In matter V2002/1316, the Tribunal sets aside the decision under review.  In substitution, the Tribunal varies the determination made on 9 October 2002 to provide:

(i)        Mr Thompson continues to suffer from discogenic pain, which is contributed to in a material way by his employment; and

(ii) Accordingly, he continues to be entitled to compensation for incapacity under s 14, and to compensation for medical treatment under s 16, of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

2. The Tribunal orders, under s 67(8) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, that the costs incurred by Mr Thompson in this proceeding are to be paid by Comcare.

3.      In matter V2002/506, the Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

[sgd] Mrs Joan Dwyer

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – low back discogenic pain – compensable back injury in 1992 – series of further incidents of back pain and injury in compensable and non-compensable circumstances – finding that continuing discogenic pain in October 2002 still contributed to by compensable injuries – low back discogenic pain a “disease” and “injury” as defined in s 4(1) of Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – continuing entitlement to compensation – decision set aside.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – entitlement to compensation for permanent impairment –impairment not permanent at time claim lodged – nor on evidence at time of hearing – appropriate to consider whether reviewable decision was correct at time it was made – decision affirmed.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – costs – one decision under review set aside – other decision under review affirmed – costs incurred in relation to decision set aside – order that applicant’s costs be paid by respondent.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), s 37.
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 14, 4, 24, 27.

Re Spreadborough v Comcare (1997) 47 ALD 785

REASONS FOR DECISION

4 February 2004

Senior Member J.R. Dwyer

Miss E.A. Shanahan, Member

INTRODUCTION

1.      This hearing was a review of two reviewable decisions made by the Comcare under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (“the Act”).

2. The first reviewable decision was made on 10 April 2002 (V2002/506, “the permanent impairment matter”). It affirmed a decision made on 16 January 2002 rejecting Mr Thompson’s claim for compensation for permanent impairment, under s 24 of the Act, resulting from a compensable back injury sustained on 6 April 2001.

3.      On 12 April 2001, Mr Thompson lodged a claim for compensation in respect of the incident on 6 April 2001.  On that form he described the incident as follows:

I was pouring boiling water into a cup of noodles when the witness (1) kicked me in the back of my left knee.

4.      On 10 May 2001,…

Continue reading Thompson and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Thompson and Comcare [2004] AATA 96
Case
[2004] AATA 96
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Mr Thompson, appealed a decision by Comcare regarding his entitlement to compensation for ongoing back pain and impairment. The dispute was heard by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT), which had to determine whether Mr Thompson's low back discogenic pain was a compensable injury and whether his impairment was permanent, as well as to decide on the costs associated with the appeal. The tribunal was tasked with interpreting the definitions of "disease" and "injury" under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, and assessing whether Mr Thompson's condition was permanent at the time of the claim or at the time of the hearing.

The tribunal found that Mr Thompson's continuing discogenic pain was indeed a compensable injury as it was materially contributed to by his employment. This was based on the definitions provided in section 4(1) of the Act, where "disease" and "injury" are broadly construed. However, the tribunal held that the impairment was not permanent at the time the claim was made or at the time of the hearing, thus affirming the decision that Mr Thompson was not entitled to compensation for permanent impairment. In terms of costs, the tribunal ordered that since one decision was set aside, the applicant's costs were to be borne by Comcare.

In conclusion, the tribunal set aside the decision regarding the compensable nature of Mr Thompson's pain but affirmed the decision on the permanent impairment. The tribunal also ordered Comcare to pay the costs incurred by Mr Thompson in this appeal.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. In matter V2002/1316, the Tribunal sets aside the decision under review. In substitution, the Tribunal varies the determination made on 9 October 2002 to provide:

(i) Mr Thompson continues to suffer from discogenic pain, which is contributed to in a material way by his employment; and

(ii) Accordingly, he continues to be entitled to compensation for incapacity under s 14, and to compensation for medical treatment under s 16, of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

2. The Tribunal orders, under s 67(8) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, that the costs incurred by Mr Thompson in this proceeding are to be paid by Comcare.

3. In matter V2002/506, the Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.