Tanrikulu and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2020] AATA 5763 (17 December 2020)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number: 2019/6924
Re:Mr Ayhan Tanrikulu
APPLICANT
AndSecretary, Department of Social Services
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Ms A E Burke AO, Member
Date:17 December 2020
Place:Melbourne
The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
[sgd]........................................................................
Ms A E Burke AO, Member
Catchwords
SOCIAL SECURITY – application for disability support pension – whether qualified – lumbar and cervical spine pain, mental health conditions, ischaemic heart disease, diabetes and hypertension – whether impairment attracts rating of 20 points or more under Impairment Tables – where program of support had not been undertaken – decision under review affirmed
Legislation
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975
Social Security Act 1991
Social Security (Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2014
Social Security (Administration) Act 1999Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011
Cases
Muir and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2005] AATA 902
Secondary Materials
Guide to Social Security Law, Department of Social Services
REASONS FOR DECISION
Ms A E Burke AO, Member
17 December 2020
INTRODUCTION
Mr Tanrikulu (the Applicant) is seeking a second tier review of the decision made by the Secretary, Department of Social Services (the Respondent) to refuse to grant the Applicant a Disability Support Pension (DSP) pursuant to section 94 of the Social Security Act 1991 (the Act). Centrelink is the service provider for the then Department of Human Services, now Services Australia.
The application was heard via telephone on 31 August 2020. Mr Tanrikulu was self-represented and Ms Peta Heffernan, a lawyer with the Australian Government Solicitor, appeared for the Respondent. The Applicant gave evidence under affirmation and was cross-examined by Ms Heffernan. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Tribunal requested additional information from Mr Tanrikulu and allowed the Respondent to comment on the additional material.
THE ISSUE IN CONTENTION
The issue in contention is whether Mr Tanrikulu was qualified for a DSP at the date of his claim, 11 September 2018 or within the 13 weeks thereafter, that being to 10 December 2018 (the qualifying period). This is in accordance with s 4(1) of Schedule 2 of the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (the Administration Act).
The qualification criteria for DSP are found in s 94 of the Act. In order to determine whether Mr Tanrikulu qualifies for DSP, the Tribunal must consider whether Mr Tanrikulu:
(a)has a physical, intellectual or psychiatric impairment(s);
(b)has a condition which has been fully diagnosed, treated and stabilised and is likely to continue for at least two years;
(c)has a fully diagnosed, treated and stabilised condition or conditions which attract 20 points under the Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011 (the Impairment Tables); and
(d)has a continuing inability to work.
BACKGROUND
Mr Tanrikulu is 55 years of age originally from Turkey. He completed Year 10 in Australia and commenced working…
- AGLC
- Tanrikulu and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2020] AATA 5763
- Case
- [2020] AATA 5763
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The primary legal issues before the Tribunal were whether Mr Tanrikulu met the qualification criteria for the DSP as set out in section 94 of the Social Security Act 1991. Specifically, the Tribunal had to determine if Mr Tanrikulu suffered from a physical, intellectual, or psychiatric impairment, if his conditions were fully diagnosed, treated, and stabilised and likely to continue for at least two years, and crucially, if his impairments attracted a score of 20 points or more under the Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011. The Tribunal also needed to consider if Mr Tanrikulu had a continuing inability to work.
The Tribunal found that Mr Tanrikulu did suffer from impairments, including lumbar and cervical spine pain, anxiety, depression, post-traumatic stress disorder, ischaemic heart disease, diabetes, hypertension, and hypercholesterolemia, satisfying section 94(1)(a) of the Act. However, after reviewing the evidence, including previous Job Capacity Assessments and medical reports, the Tribunal concluded that Mr Tanrikulu did not achieve the required 20 impairment points under the Impairment Tables to satisfy section 94(1)(b) of the Act at the time of his DSP application on 11 September 2018. The Tribunal also noted that Mr Tanrikulu had not commenced a program of support as required.
Consequently, the Tribunal affirmed the decision under review, finding that Mr Tanrikulu did not meet all the necessary requirements for eligibility for the Disability Support Pension.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The Determination relevantly provides: Part 2—Requirements for active participation7 Requirements for active participation…(4) This subsection is satisfied in relation to a person and a program of support if:(a) the program of support was terminated before the end of the relevant period; and(b) the program of support was terminated because the person was unable, solely because of his or her impairment, to improve his or her capacity to prepare for, find or maintain work through continued participation in the program.(5) This subsection is satisfied in relation to a person and a program of support if:(a) At the end of the relevant period, the person is participating in the program of support; and(b) The person is prevented, solely because of his or her impairment, from improving his or her capacity to prepare for, find or maintain work through continued participation in the program.THE TRIBUNAL’S CONSIDERATION AND FINDINGSEvidence before the Tribunal The evidence before the Tribunal included documents provided under section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, referred to as the “T documents”, and additional medical reports that were lodged by Mr Tanrikulu.DOES MR TANRIKULU HAVE A PHYSICAL, INTELLECTUAL OR PSYCHIATRIC IMPAIRMENT? Section 94(1)(a) of the Act provides that to qualify for DSP, in the first instance a person must suffer from an impairment. The Respondent accepts that Mr Tanrikulu is suffering from Lumbar and cervical spine pain, anxiety, depression, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), ischaemic heart disease, diabetes, hypertension and hypercholesterolemia. The Tribunal finds that Mr Tanrikulu was living with impairments during the qualifying period and therefore meets the requirements of section 94(1)(a) of the Act. As noted above, section 94(1)(b) of the Act states that the second requirement to qualify for the DSP is that the person’s impairments rate 20 points or more under the Impairment Tables. DOES MR TANRIKULU HAVE MEDICAL CONDITIONS THAT RESULT IN IMPAIRMENTS THAT CAN BE RATED 20 POINTS OR MORE UNDER THE IMPAIRMENT TABLES? Mr Tanrikulu advised the Tribunal he had suffered a heart attack in 2006 and had undergone triple bypass surgery and this had greatly impacted his physical and mental wellbeing. He advised that from this time he had been unable to undertake the physically demanding work required on his family farm and had suffered extreme depression which greatly impacted his ability to function. Mr Tanrikulu advised the Tribunal that his heart condition combined with the impact of his many years of performing heavy manual work and numerous motor vehicle accidents had left him totally unable to perform any work. He said his back and neck condition were severe and that he suffered significant memory loss. He also said he spends a great deal of his day doing not much as he is in a great deal of pain. He had been unable to get any further medical evidence as his General Practitioner (GP) was only seeing emergency patients during the COVID lockdown. However, he had a report from Dr Jaya Shiyamurgan which he read out to the Tribunal, but to date this report has not been filed by Mr Tanrikulu.