Staines and Comcare

Case [2005] AATA 858


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2005] AATA 858

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No A2004/184

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re MICHELLE STAINES

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr S. Webb, Member

Date5 September  2005

PlaceCanberra

Decision

The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereof the Tribunal decides that Ms Staines has a whole person impairment of 10 percent under Table 5.1 of the Guide to the Degree of Permanent Impairment.  The scores to be used for the purpose of calculating her entitlement to compensation for non-economic loss under Part B of the Guide are:

Pain - 0
Suffering - 3
Mobility - 2
Social relationships - 3
Recreation and leisure - 4

Other - 0

The matter is remitted to Comcare to determine the correct amount that is payable to Ms Staines in accordance with these reasons.

As this matter has resolved in favour of Ms Staines, pursuant to subs 67(8) of the Act I order Comcare to pay her reasonable costs of these proceedings as agreed or taxed in accordance with the Tribunal’s Practice Direction.

..............................................

Mr S. Webb, Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION - entitlements - assault occasioning injury - liability accepted for panic disorder - multifactorial onset - predisposition - condition existing prior to injury - impairment prior to injury not permanent - fluctuation in symptomatology - issues of credit - interpretation of Table 5.1 in the Comcare Guide - permanent impairment - agreement on non-economic loss values - decision set aside

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4, 7, 14, 27, 67

Lees v Comcare [1999] FCA 753

Comcare v Moon (2003) 75 ALD 160

Re Harrington and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission [2005] AATA 384.

Commonwealth v Borg (1994) 20 AAR 299

Langley v Repatriation Commission (1993) 115 ALR 51

Comcare v Mathieson [2004] FCA 212)

Re Emery and Comcare (1992) 15 AAR 477

Commission for the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation of Commonwealth Employees v Emery (1993) 32 ALD 147).

Re Sat and Comcare [2004] AATA 334 at [28]).

Martin v Australian Postal Corporation (1999) 29 AAR 420

REASONS FOR DECISION

5 September 2005 Mr S. Webb, Member         

1.     By this application Michelle Staines is seeking review of a decision made by a Comcare review officer on 13 May 2004 to affirm a primary determination to reject her claim for compensation for permanent impairment and non-economic loss.

2. The matter came on for hearing before me in Canberra on 3 and 4 August 2005. Ms Staines was represented by Mr A. Anforth, counsel. Comcare was represented by Mr B. Dubé, counsel. Ms Staines, Lynette Staines (her mother), Dr Leigh Nomchong (Clinical Psychologist), Dr Jillian Fleming (Forensic Psychologist) and Dr John Saboisky (Consultant Psychiatrist) gave oral evidence. Materials were tendered and labelled for identification. The Tribunal had before it documents prepared pursuant to s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975.

factual context

3.     The following factual findings are not in dispute.

4.     Ms…

Continue reading Staines and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Staines and Comcare [2005] AATA 858
Case
[2005] AATA 858
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Staines and Comcare involved a dispute over compensation entitlements related to an injury sustained during an assault. The matter was heard by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, where the primary issue was the determination of the whole person impairment for the purposes of awarding compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The Tribunal was required to interpret the Table 5.1 in the Comcare Guide to assess the degree of permanent impairment and decide on the appropriate scores for various categories of non-economic loss.

The legal issues centred around the multifactorial onset of the claimant's condition, including whether the panic disorder resulted from the assault or if there was a pre-existing predisposition. The Tribunal had to consider the fluctuation in symptomatology and the credit issues related to the claimant's testimony. Furthermore, the correct interpretation of Table 5.1 and its application to the facts of the case were critical, as was the agreement on non-economic loss values. The Tribunal set aside the earlier decision and substituted its own findings regarding the degree of impairment and the appropriate scores for non-economic loss.

In its reasoning, the Tribunal found that the claimant had a whole person impairment of 10 percent, which was significantly lower than the 40 percent previously determined. The Tribunal assigned specific scores to various categories of non-economic loss, leading to a reassessment of the compensation payable. The decision was influenced by the Tribunal's interpretation of the Comcare Guide and the case law cited, which highlighted the importance of considering all contributing factors to the claimant's condition. The Tribunal's decision was based on a detailed analysis of the evidence and a careful application of the relevant statutory provisions and precedents.

The Tribunal's final orders included setting aside the previous decision and substituting its own findings on the degree of impairment and the non-economic loss scores. The matter was remitted to Comcare to recalculate the compensation payable to the claimant. Additionally, the Tribunal ordered Comcare to pay the claimant's reasonable costs of the proceedings in accordance with the Tribunal’s Practice Direction.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereof the Tribunal decides that Ms Staines has a whole person impairment of 10 percent under Table 5.1 of the Guide to the Degree of Permanent Impairment. The scores to be used for the purpose of calculating her entitlement to compensation for non-economic loss under Part B of the Guide are:

Pain - 0

Suffering - 3

Mobility - 2

Social relationships - 3

Recreation and leisure - 4

Other - 0

The matter is remitted to Comcare to determine the correct amount that is payable to Ms Staines in accordance with these reasons.

As this matter has resolved in favour of Ms Staines, pursuant to subs 67(8) of the Act I order Comcare to pay her reasonable costs of these proceedings as agreed or taxed in accordance with the Tribunal’s Practice Direction.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.