SRFR and Comcare (Compensation) [2020] AATA 378 (7 February 2020)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number:2018/2543
Re:SRFR
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Member D Mitchell
Date:7 February 2020
Place:Brisbane
The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
......................................................................
Member D Mitchell
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – liability accepted in respect of the aggravation of contact dermatitis and other eczema – section 16 of the SRC Act – reasonable treatment in the circumstances – reasonable amount of compensation – decision under review affirmed
LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth)
CASES
Alamos and Comcare [2014] AATA 629
Comcare v Rope (2004) 135 FCR 443; [2004] FCA 540
Jorgensen and Commonwealth of Australia [1990] AATA 129; 23 ALD 321
REASONS FOR DECISION
Member D Mitchell
7 February 2020
INTRODUCTION
SRFR (the Applicant) is seeking review of a decision of the Respondent dated 8 May 2018.[1]
[1] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T1, pages 1-8, Application for Review of Decision.
The reviewable decision affirmed a determination dated 15 January 2018[2] that the Applicant is not entitled to compensation for the cost of hydrotherapy treatment and associated travel expenses under section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (SRC Act) in respect of the compensable injury of ‘aggravation of contact dermatitis and other eczema’ (the injury).[3]
[2] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T28, pages 405-409, Reviewable Decision.
[3] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T28, pages 405-409, Reviewable Decision.
BACKGROUND AND CLAIMS HISTORY
It is agreed that the Applicant has suffered long-term from eczema and atopic dermatitis, as well as being allergic to house dust mite, mould and grasses.[4]
[4] Exhibit 3, Respondent’s Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions, page 1, paragraph 6 and Exhibit 10, Applicant’s Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions, page 1, paragraph 6.
The Applicant commenced employment with the Employer on 11 July 2016[5] and had disclosed her conditions in her pre-employment medical assessments.[6]
[5] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T9, page 122, Employer’s Record of Incident.
[6] Exhibit 10, Applicant’s Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions, page 1, paragraph 7.
The Applicant experienced a flare up in the symptoms of her eczema shortly after commencing this employment and sought medical attention, took time off work, and worked from home as required.[7]
[7] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T9, pages 121-135, Employer’s Record of Incident and T16, pages 274-283, Workers’ Compensation Claim.
Between 5 September 2016 to 24 September 2016, the Applicant attended the Avene Centre in Montpellier, France for thermal treatment.[8]
[8] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T7, page 15, Treatment Report from Avene Centre, France.
On 12 October 2016, the Applicant lodged an incident report with the Employer indicating that from around 11 July 2016 when she commenced at the Employer’s office she suffered a severe flare of eczema.[9]
[9] Exhibit 1, T Documents, T9, pages 121-135, Employer’s Record of Incident.
On 12 May 2017, the Applicant sought advice from the Employer as to whether workers’ compensation would cover around $8,000 in expenses,…
Continue reading SRFR and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- SRFR and Comcare (Compensation) [2020] AATA 378
- Case
- [2020] AATA 378
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues before the Tribunal were whether the hydrotherapy treatment at the Avene Centre in France, and the associated travel expenses, constituted "reasonable treatment in the circumstances" and a "reasonable amount of compensation" under section 16 of the SRC Act. The Tribunal was required to consider both the objective medical evidence and the Applicant's subjective circumstances in determining the reasonableness of the claimed expenses.
The Tribunal considered evidence from the Applicant's general practitioner, Dr Andersen, who supported the Avene treatment, noting its past efficacy for the Applicant and the Applicant's concerns about the side effects of conventional steroid treatments, particularly in light of her history of breast cancer. However, the Tribunal was also presented with evidence from a consultant dermatologist, Dr Andrews, who opined that the Avene treatment was not reasonable in the circumstances. Dr Andrews explained that the Applicant was experiencing an allergic flare, not atopic dermatitis, and that a targeted treatment course was available in Australia. While acknowledging the Applicant's hesitations towards dermatological treatment and her research, the Tribunal found that the Applicant had not provided direct evidence contradicting Dr Andrews' assessment of the risks, or lack thereof, of alternative treatments.
Ultimately, the Tribunal was persuaded by the evidence of Dr Andrews. It concluded that, after taking into account both objective and subjective considerations, it was not reasonable for the Applicant to obtain the hydrotherapy treatment at the Avene Centre in Montpellier, France, in the circumstances. Accordingly, the decision under review was affirmed.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The Respondent contended that the emphasis placed by the Applicant on the fact that when she sought the treatment she did not know it was a workplace injury is of no consequence. The Respondent went on to say it was really a medical issue and in terms of what medical treatment the Applicant sought at the time or was open to her, it is clearly the case, for reasons that the Applicant probably genuinely, but the Respondent would say mistakenly held, had an aversion to seeking any specialist dermatological treatment.[56][56] Transcript, page 70.CONSIDERATION The medical evidence before the Tribunal shows that the Applicant’s general practitioner, Dr Andersen was supportive of the Applicant obtaining the Avene Centre treatment. Dr Andersen’s evidence was that the Applicant had reported to her that this treatment had been beneficial to her in the past and in the circumstances, given the Applicant’s level of distress, being a professional in a new job, and as she was prepared to bear the cost of the treatment, her opinion was that it was reasonable treatment in the circumstances. The Applicant herself provided submissions and journal articles in relation to the Avene Centre treatment and also in relation to her concerns about potential side effects of steroid and other treatments commonly used to treat the injury. At the request of the Respondent, evidence was provided by Dr Andrews, consultant dermatologist, who examined the Applicant prior to providing her initial report. Dr Andrews’ pre-hearing and post-hearing reports were consistent with the evidence she gave at Hearing. Dr Andrews’ opinion in summary was that the Avene Centre treatment was not reasonable treatment in the circumstances as she explained that, although the Avene Centre treatment is recognised to be useful in the management of atopic dermatitis, at the time that the Applicant sought this treatment she was experiencing an allergic flare of her eczema/dermatitis, as opposed to the symptoms of atopic dermatitis. Consequently, Dr Andrews outlined a course of treatment that the Applicant could have undertaken in Australia, which she said would have been targeted to the Applicant’s allergic contact dermatitis. Dr Andrews provided her specialist opinion as to the concerns raised by the Applicant in relation to the proposed treatment. Dr Andrews said that the benefit of the Avene Centre treatment in treating the Applicant’s condition did not warrant the cost. It was agreed that the Avene Centre hydrotherapy treatment was not available in Australia. It was further agreed that Avene products are readily available at a reasonable cost in Australia and form part of shorter term and long term treatments in relation to dermatitis and eczema. Based on the Applicant’s interpretation of her research, past medical history which includes invasive breast cancer, and the evidence from Dr Andersen, the Tribunal can understand the Applicant’s reasons for choosing the path of treatment that she did. The question for the Tribunal though is whether the Avene Centre treatment was reasonable for the Applicant to obtain in the circumstances. It is not in contention that the Avene Centre treatment was medical treatment obtained in relation to the injury.