Sinitsky v Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd

Case [2020] NSWWCCPD 61


DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY AN ARBITRATOR
CITATION: Sinitsky v Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd [2020] NSWWCCPD 61
APPELLANT: Jake Nicholas Sinitsky
RESPONDENT: Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd
INSURER: AAI Ltd t/as GIO
FILE NUMBER: A1-830/20
ARBITRATOR: Mr J Harris
DATE OF ARBITRATOR’S DECISION: 13 May 2020
DATE OF APPEAL DECISION: 6 October 2020
SUBJECT MATTER OF DECISION: Application for an extension of time; s 352(4) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act1998 (the 1998 Act); r 16.2(5) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 – Yacoub v Pilkington (Australia) Ltd [2007] NSWCA 290; Bryce v Department of Corrective Services [2009] NSWCA 188 applied; application of the former ss 44C, 44E, 44F and Item 8 of Sch 3 to the Workers Compensation Act 1987 – calculation of pre-injury average weekly earnings where a worker has two or more employers and was injured prior to 21 October 2019; Schedule 1.1 of the Workers Compensation Legislation Amendment Act2018 – jurisdiction of the Commission to determine a work capacity decision
PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER: Deputy President Elizabeth Wood
HEARING: On the papers
REPRESENTATION: Appellant:
Mr J Sinitsky
Unrepresented
Respondent:
Mr D Russell, solicitor
Rankin Ellison Lawyers

ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

1. The appellant’s application to extend time for the making of an appeal pursuant to r 16.2(5) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 is refused.

INTRODUCTION AND BACKROUND

  1. Mr Jake Nicholas Sinitsky (the appellant) suffered an injury to his right wrist in the course of his employment with Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd (the respondent) on 24 November 2017. At the time of the injury, the appellant held concurrent employment at the Great Central Hotel, Glen Innes, where he performed work in exchange for accommodation and meals. The appellant did not receive any monetary reward for that work.

  2. The appellant was previously involved in a motorcycle accident in 2015 in which he suffered a fracture of the right distal radius and ulna, requiring several surgeries and involving a complex recovery.

  3. In respect of the injury the subject of these proceedings, the appellant was paid weekly payments at varying rates together with treatment expenses. The respondent did not, however, include the value of the appellant’s concurrent employment in its calculation of the appellant’s pre-injury average weekly earnings (PIAWE). The respondent then issued a notice pursuant to s 78 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act) on 4 March 2019, denying liability for ongoing weekly payments and treatment expenses.

  4. The issues raised in the denial of liability were:

    (a)    that the work-related aggravation to the appellant’s right wrist condition had resolved;

    (b)    whether the appellant suffered any incapacity for work as a result of the injury, and

    (c)    whether treatment expenses were reasonably necessary as a result of the injury.

  5. The disputed treatment expenses included the cost of surgery to the right wrist proposed by the appellant’s treating surgeon, Dr Mark Ross, orthopaedic surgeon.

  6. The appellant commenced proceedings in the Commission,…

Continue reading Sinitsky v Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Sinitsky v Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd [2020] NSWWCCPD 61
Case
[2020] NSWWCCPD 61
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Sinitsky v Workpac Constructions Pty Ltd involves an appeal against the refusal of the appellant's application to extend the time for making an appeal to the District Court. The dispute centres around the interpretation of sections of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act) and the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011, specifically in relation to the calculation of pre-injury average weekly earnings for a worker injured prior to 21 October 2019, when they had two or more employers. The matter was heard in the District Court of New South Wales.

The primary legal issue before the court was whether the application for an extension of time to appeal a decision of the Workers Compensation Commission was valid under s 352(4) of the 1998 Act. The court also considered the applicability of former sections 44C, 44E, 44F and Item 8 of Schedule 3 of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act) to the calculation of pre-injury average weekly earnings. Furthermore, the court needed to determine whether the Commission had the jurisdiction to determine a work capacity decision under the Workers Compensation Legislation Amendment Act 2018.

The court examined the statutory provisions and relevant case law, including Yacoub v Pilkington (Australia) Ltd and Bryce v Department of Corrective Services, to address these issues. The court found that the application for an extension of time did not meet the criteria set out in the relevant statutes and rules. It concluded that the Commission did not have jurisdiction to make a work capacity decision regarding the calculation of pre-injury average weekly earnings in this case. Consequently, the appellant's application to extend time for the making of an appeal was dismissed.

The final order of the court was to refuse the appellant's application to extend time for the making of an appeal pursuant to r 16.2(5) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appellant’s application to extend time for the making of an appeal pursuant to r 16.2(5) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 is refused.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Section 43 of the 1998 Act prescribes the decisions which constitute work capacity decisions. The section provides:“43 Work capacity decisions by insurers(1) The following decisions of an insurer are work capacity decisions—(a) a decision about a worker’s current work capacity,(b) a decision about what constitutes suitable employment for a worker,(c) a decision about the amount an injured worker is able to earn in suitable employment,(d) a decision about the amount of an injured worker’s pre-injury average weekly earnings or current weekly earnings,(e) a decision about whether a worker is, as a result of injury, unable without substantial risk of further injury to engage in employment of a certain kind because of the nature of that employment,(f) any other decision of an insurer that affects a worker’s entitlement to weekly payments of compensation, including a decision to suspend, discontinue or reduce the amount of the weekly payments of compensation payable to a worker on the basis of any decision referred to in paragraphs (a)–(e).(2) The following decisions are not work capacity decisions—(a) a decision to dispute liability for weekly payments of compensation,(b) a decision that can be the subject of a medical dispute under Part 7 of Chapter 7 of the 1998 Act.(3) (Repealed)”. The appellant refers to ss 44C, 44E and 44F of the 1987 Act. Those sections have been repealed but remain in force for the purposes of injuries received before 21 October 2019 by operation of Sch 6 Pt 21, cl 7 to the 1987 Act. Section 44C relevantly provided:“44C Definition—pre-injury average weekly earnings(1) In this Division, pre-injury average weekly earnings, in respect of a relevant period in relation to a worker, means the sum of:(a) the average of the worker’s ordinary earnings during the relevant period (excluding any week during which the worker did not actually work and was not on paid leave) expressed as a weekly sum, and(b) any overtime and shift allowance payment that is permitted to be included under this section (but only for the purposes of the calculation of weekly payments payable in the first 52 weeks for which weekly payments are payable).…(4) In relation to a worker of a class referred to in Column 2 of an item in Schedule 3, pre-injury average weekly earnings means the amount determined in accordance with Column 3 of that item, expressed as a weekly sum.(5) An overtime and shift allowance payment is permitted to be included in the calculation of pre-injury average weekly earnings (but only for the purposes of the calculation of weekly payments payable in the first 52 weeks for which weekly payments are payable) if:(a) the worker worked paid overtime or carried out work that attracted a shift allowance during the relevant period, and(b) the worker would, but for the worker’s injury, have been likely, at any time during that 52 week period, to have worked paid overtime or carried out work that attracted a shift allowance.(6) The amount of an overtime and shift allowance payment that is permitted to be included is to be calculated in accordance with the following formula:where:A is the total amount paid or payable to the worker for paid overtime and shift allowances in respect of the relevant period.B is the number of weeks during the relevant period during which the worker worked or was on paid annual leave.”

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.