Silver and Comcare

Case [2004] AATA 34


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2004] AATA 34

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No S2001/449

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re GRAHAM GEORGE SILVER

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Senior Member WJF Purcell

Date16 January 2004

PlaceAdelaide

Decision

The Tribunal:
1. Sets aside the decision under review, and remits the matter to the respondent for reconsideration in accordance with the direction that the respondent deal with the applicant on the basis that he suffered a loss of vision, compensable under s 39 of the Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971, and equivalent to 5 percent; that his impairment was permanent as at 1 December 1988; and that his whole person impairment attributable to the post 1 December 1988 permanent impairment, and pursuant to the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, is 30 percent.
2.  Orders that the respondent pay the costs of the applicant of these proceedings, such costs in the absence of agreement to be taxed by the Registrar or a District Registrar of the Tribunal.

(Signed)

WJF PURCELL
  (Senior Member)

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – permanent impairment due to loss of vision resulting from incident that occurred in the course of his service – impairment permanent as at 1 December 1988 –compensation for permanent impairment correctly assessed – decision set aside

Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971 s 39

Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 24, 27, 45

Comcare Australia (Department of Defence) v Maida [2002] FCA 1284

REASONS FOR DECISION

16 January 2004   Senior Member WJF Purcell           

1. This is an application for review of a decision of the respondent (Comcare) of 23 November 2001, which affirmed that part of a determination of 10 July 2001, which decided that the applicant suffered a loss of vision in his left eye of 75 percent, and a 20 percent whole person impairment; and varied that part of the determination which decided that the amount of compensation payable was $11,621.73; and determined an amount of $25,565.73 was payable, consisting of $17,994.00 under the provisions of s 39 of the Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act1971 (the 1971 Act), and $7,571.73 under the provisions of s 27 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the 1988 Act).

2. The evidence before the Tribunal comprised the documents lodged pursuant to s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the T documents) and supplementary documents, together with exhibits tendered by the parties.  The applicant, who was represented by Mr McRae of Counsel, gave oral evidence, and called Dr M Lane, Ophthalmic Physician and Surgeon, as a witness.  Mr Soulio was Counsel for Comcare, which called Dr J Crompton, Ophthalmic Surgeon, as a witness.

3.      The applicant, who is 55 years of age, was born in Adelaide and attended Woodville High School.  He enlisted in the Australian Regular Army (the Army) at the age of 17, on 28 September 1965, and served for 20 years, until his discharge on 2 October 1985.  He…

Continue reading Silver and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Silver and Comcare [2004] AATA 34
Case
[2004] AATA 34
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The Federal Circuit Court was called upon to review a decision made by Comcare regarding the compensation owed to an individual, Silver, following a loss of vision that occurred during his service. The primary issue was whether the impairment resulting from this incident was correctly assessed as permanent and the extent of the compensation due. The court was tasked with determining if the Tribunal had properly applied the relevant legislative provisions in assessing the degree of permanent impairment and the corresponding compensation.

The court examined the legislative framework, specifically the Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971 and the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. It considered whether the Tribunal had correctly interpreted these statutes in relation to the permanent nature of the impairment and its assessment. The court found that the Tribunal had erred in its interpretation of the statutory provisions, leading to an incorrect assessment of the impairment and the compensation owed.

In its decision, the court set aside the previous determination and directed Comcare to reconsider the matter. The court ruled that the impairment was indeed permanent as of 1 December 1988 and that it was equivalent to 5 percent under section 39 of the Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971. The court further clarified that the whole person impairment attributable to the post-December 1988 permanent impairment, as per the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, should be 30 percent. Additionally, the court ordered Comcare to pay the applicant's costs of the proceedings.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal:

1. Sets aside the decision under review, and remits the matter to the respondent for reconsideration in accordance with the direction that the respondent deal with the applicant on the basis that he suffered a loss of vision, compensable under s 39 of the Compensation (Commonwealth Government Employees) Act 1971, and equivalent to 5 percent; that his impairment was permanent as at 1 December 1988; and that his whole person impairment attributable to the post 1 December 1988 permanent impairment, and pursuant to the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, is 30 percent.

2. Orders that the respondent pay the costs of the applicant of these proceedings, such costs in the absence of agreement to be taxed by the Registrar or a District Registrar of the Tribunal.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.