Sergeant and Repatriation Commission

Case [2007] AATA 1150



Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1150

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2006/125

VETERANS’ APPEALS DIVISION )
Re JOYCE SERGEANT

Applicant

And

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal

Senior Member P.M. McDermott, RFD

Date21 March 2007

PlaceBrisbane

Decision

The Tribunal sets aside the decision of the Veterans’ Review Board and decides that the death of the late Mr Charles Sergeant is war-caused within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986.  I remit the matter to the Repatriation Commission for the calculation of pension and arrears of pension.

...........[Sgd]............

P McDermott

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – war widow’s pension – veteran served in RAAF –– cerebrovascular accident, heart disease and hypertension – Statement of Principles – death of veteran found to be war-cased – decision set aside

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (Cth) s 9, 13, 120, 120A, 196A, 196B

Repatriation Commission v Hancock [2003] FCA 711

Fogarty v Repatriation Commission (2003) 37 AAR 363
Marshall and Repatriation Commission [2003] AATA 350
Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 83 FCR 82
Repatriation Commission v Gorton (2001) 110 FCR 321
Gilbert v Repatriation Commission (1989) 86 ALR 713
East v Repatriation Commission (1987) 16 FCR 517

REASONS FOR DECISION

21 March 2007

Senior Member PM McDermott

Introduction

1.          Mrs Joyce Clara Sergeant was a dependent of the late Mr Charles Sergeant who served with the Royal Australian Air Force during World War II. She has applied for a war widow’s pension. In these proceedings I have to decide whether the death of the late Mr Charles Sergeant was related to his service.

Decisions

2.          On 27 September 2004 the Repatriation Commission (“the Commission”) rejected a claim by Mrs Sergeant for a war widow’s pension on the ground that the death of the veteran was not related to his service.

3.          Mrs Sergeant sought a review of this decision from the Veterans’ Review Board. On 22 November 2005 the Veterans’ Review Board affirmed this decision.

4.          Mrs Sergeant has now applied to this Tribunal to review the decision of the Veterans’ Review Board which affirmed the decision of the Commission.

Issues before the Tribunal

5. These proceedings concern whether the death of the late Mr Charles Sergeant was “war-caused” within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (“the Act”).

6.          These proceedings have also raised the issue of whether the late Mr Sergeant suffered from a diagnosable panic or anxiety disorder.

Service

7.          The late Mr Sergeant rendered a period of service in the Royal Australian Air Force from 22 October 1943 to 5 June 1946. A record of his service was admitted in evidence before me [T4, folio 5]. It is important to mention that Mr Sergeant rendered operational service in Morotai from 7 April 1945 until late October 1945 as a radio operator.

Medical Evidence of Death of the Veteran

8.          I have already mentioned that it is important for this Tribunal to determine the “kind of…

Continue reading Sergeant and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Sergeant and Repatriation Commission [2007] AATA 1150
Case
[2007] AATA 1150
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the Federal Court of Australia, the case of Repatriation Commission v Hancock involved a dispute concerning a war widow’s pension. The veteran, Mr Charles Sergeant, had served in the Royal Australian Air Force and was contending that his death was war-caused. The dispute centred on whether his death could be attributed to his service in the armed forces, specifically if it was linked to cerebrovascular accident, heart disease, and hypertension, conditions that were outlined in a Statement of Principles. The Repatriation Commission had previously found that Mr Sergeant's death was not war-caused, a decision that was subsequently upheld by the Veterans’ Review Board.

The primary legal issues before the court were whether the Repatriation Commission and the Veterans’ Review Board correctly interpreted and applied the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 in finding that Mr Sergeant's death was not war-caused. The court had to determine if the decision-makers appropriately considered the evidence and the relevant provisions of the Act, particularly section 9, which defines "war-caused death". Additionally, the court needed to assess if the Board’s review process was conducted in a manner that adhered to legal standards and adequately addressed the issues presented.

In reaching its decision, the court examined the evidence presented and the reasoning of the Repatriation Commission and the Veterans’ Review Board. The court found that the Board had not given proper weight to the evidence linking Mr Sergeant's conditions to his service and had overlooked certain key aspects of the Statement of Principles. The court concluded that the death was indeed war-caused as it was reasonably attributable to Mr Sergeant's service, in line with the statutory definition. The decision of the Veterans’ Review Board was set aside, and the matter was remitted to the Repatriation Commission for the calculation of pension and arrears of pension.

The final orders of the court mandated that the Tribunal's decision to set aside the Veterans’ Review Board's determination was upheld. It directed the Repatriation Commission to re-evaluate Mr Sergeant's case in light of the correct interpretation of the law and to recalculate the pension and arrears of pension owed. This ruling underscored the importance of a thorough and legally sound review process in such matters, ensuring that veterans and their families receive the entitlements they are due under the law.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal sets aside the decision of the Veterans’ Review Board and decides that the death of the late Mr Charles Sergeant is war-caused within the meaning of s 9 of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986. I remit the matter to the Repatriation Commission for the calculation of pension and arrears of pension.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.