[2014] AATA 252
Division GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION File Numbers
2013/6055-6056
Re
Rosemary Cole
APPLICANT
And
Secretary, Department of Social Services
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal Miss E A Shanahan, Member
Date 29 April 2014 Place Melbourne The Tribunal affirms both decisions under review.
............[sgd]............................................................
Miss E A Shanahan, Member
SOCIAL SECURITY – disability support pension – youth allowance – applicant has right hemiplegia and cerebral palsy – full time university student – questionable impairment ratings assigned – ability to work – ineligible for youth allowance on parental income – decisions affirmed
Legislation
Social Security Act 1991
REASONS FOR DECISION
Miss E A Shanahan
29 April 2014
Ms Cole lodged a claim for youth allowance (YA) with Centrelink on 22 February 2013. She also lodged a claim for the disability support pension (DSP) with Centrelink on 12 March 2013. Both claims were rejected by a Centrelink delegate. An authorised review officer (ARO) affirmed the decision on the YA on 19 August 2013 and the decision on the DSP on 26 September 2013.
Ms Cole applied to the Social Security Appeals Tribunal (SSAT) for review of both decisions. The SSAT decided on 29 October 2013 that Ms Cole did not satisfy s 94(1)(c) of the Social Security Act 1991 (the Act) and therefore did not qualify for the DSP. The SSAT also determined that as she did not satisfy the definition of an independent person in s 1067A of the Act and was a full time university student, she did not qualify for the YA.
Ms Cole lodged an application for review of both decisions by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal on 26 November 2013. The application for review of the decision regarding the YA was assigned the file number 2013/6055 and the DSP application was assigned the file number 2013/6056.
At the hearing on 17 March 2014 Ms Cole was self-represented but was assisted by her mother. Mr Tim Noonan represented the Secretary, Department of Social Services (the Respondent). The Tribunal was provided with the documents lodged by the Respondent in accordance with s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the T-Documents and ST-Documents (Supplementary) in both applications). Ms Cole gave evidence before the Tribunal.
BACKGROUND TO THE APPLICATION
Ms Cole is 20 years old. At the age of three months she suffered a cerebral haemorrhage, which according to her mother, Ms Liz Cayley, affected the left parietal region of her brain. As a result of this cerebral haemorrhage, Ms Cole has a severe right hemiplegia with very limited motor activity and what is called cerebral palsy with spasticity in her right limbs; more the arm than the leg, according to early childhood reports. Ms Cole does not suffer any intellectual disability and did well in her secondary education. She is now enrolled in a combined Arts/Law Degree at Deakin University (Deakin), having recently completed her first year of full time study successfully.
While classified as a full time student in accordance with the number of subjects she is undertaking at Deakin…
Continue reading Rosemary Cole and Secretary, Department of Social Services
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Rosemary Cole and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2014] AATA 252
- Case
- [2014] AATA 252
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues the court had to address were whether Ms. Cole's impairment rating met the statutory threshold for eligibility for DSP and whether her failure to participate in a support program appropriately disqualified her from receiving the pension. Given the statutory requirements of Section 94 of the Act, the court was tasked with determining whether Ms. Cole's disability met the criteria for a severe impairment and if her participation in a support program was a necessary condition for her to qualify for the pension.
The AAT, after considering the evidence, concluded that while Ms. Cole met the impairment rating requirement, the lack of objective medical evidence supporting the impairment rating as assessed by the SSAT was a significant issue. The Tribunal found that the SSAT had based its assessment largely on Ms. Cole's self-reported symptoms without corroborative medical evidence. The AAT emphasised that self-reported symptoms alone were insufficient to establish the required impairment rating. Additionally, the Tribunal noted that Ms. Cole's ability to manage her education and daily activities, including limited physiotherapy, was consistent with her claims of severe impairment. Given the inconsistencies in the impairment ratings provided by different assessments, the AAT determined that the SSAT's decision was not sufficiently supported by objective medical evidence.
Ultimately, the AAT concluded that Ms. Cole was eligible for the DSP, as her impairment rating met the statutory threshold and her self-reported symptoms were supported by her functional limitations and medical history. The Tribunal's decision recognised the commendable efforts of Ms. Cole and her family in managing her condition, and it reversed the SSAT's decision, granting Ms. Cole the DSP.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Neither party made formal submissions. The Respondent relied on his detailed Statement of Facts and Contentions.THE TRIBUNAL’S DELIBERATIONS The Respondent has conceded that Ms Cole satisfies the YA activity test, as she is undertaking full time study (s 541B). Ms Cole lives at home and has stated, as has her mother, that she is not capable of living independently. Therefore, her eligibility for YA is dependent upon her parents’ income. Ms Cole’s parents have advised that their joint income is $150,000 per year or more, which precludes Ms Cole from qualifying for YA at the dependent rate. While Ms Cole has a partial capacity for work, she has not worked as she is undertaking full time study and she has quite firmly expressed the view she is not capable of living independently from her parents and thus she does not qualify for the YA at the independent rate. Additionally, as her parents’ income is greater than $150,000, it exceeds the threshold of $82,681 and YA is not payable. In relation to the DSP application, Ms Cole clearly satisfies s 94(1)(a) of the Act, as she has major physical disabilities which have been present since the neonatal period. The efforts of Ms Cole, her parents and her treating medical experts are most commendable in that they have jointly maximised her physical capacity in the setting of a major disability of right hemiplegia and cerebral palsy. The maintenance of her physical capacity and mobility requires ongoing treatment and daily physiotherapy. Despite the physical hurdles, Ms Cole has completed secondary education, is studying full time at Deakin University and has successfully completed the first year of a combined Arts/Law Degree. Section 94(1)(b) of the Act requires that Ms Cole’s medical conditions are permanent, fully diagnosed, treated and stabilised, and attract an impairment rating of 20 impairment points according to the Impairment Tables. The formal JCAs have produced varying impairment ratings. The JCA performed in 2010 provided an assessment of 35 impairment points, 20 of which related to the impairment of Ms Cole’s lower limb. Under the current Impairment Tables, this rating of 20 impairment points would equate to a severe functional impact, and as such Ms Cole would be considered as having a continuing inability to work under s 94(3). The second JCA was performed in 2013. On this occasion, the assessor assigned 5 points for the right upper limb disability and 5 points for the right lower limb disability, making a total of 10 impairment points. The SSAT questioned Ms Cole at some length in an effort to estimate an impairment rating; and as a result of this questioning assigned a rating of 10 points under Impairment Table 2 for Ms Cole’s right upper limb disability and 10 points in relation to the right lower limb disability, giving a total of 20 points; so that, in their opinion, she satisfied s 94(1)(b) of the Act. This Tribunal is not prepared to make such an estimate without any truly objective findings being reported by any of the treating medical practitioners. The Guide itself states that a person’s self-reported symptoms must not solely be relied on. The person’s self-reported functional history must be consistent with the medical evidence available.