Ritson and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 154 (15 February 2019)
Division: GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2016/1794
Re:Brendan Ritson
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Deputy President Dr P McDermott RFD
Date:15 February 2019
Place:Brisbane
In accordance with s 43(1) of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) (“AAT Act”), the reviewable decision is set aside and in substitution it is decided that the applicant is entitled to compensation under s 14 of the Act for the condition of major depressive disorder.
For the purposes of s 7(4) of the Act, the applicant should have been taken to have sustained the injury on 14 December 2015 being the date when the applicant first sought medical treatment for the disease.
The respondent is liable to pay the applicant’s legal costs incurred in the proceedings of an amount agreed between the parties, and failing agreement between the parties, the respondent is liable to pay costs in an amount as taxed by the Registrar or an officer of the Tribunal pursuant to s 67 of the Act.
............................[SGD]........................................
Deputy President Dr P McDermott RFD
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – claim for mental injury arising out of the applicant’s employment – whether the applicant suffered an ailment or aggravation of an existing ailment that was contributed to, to a significant degree, by the employee’s employment – application under s 14 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth)
LEGISLATION
Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth)
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth)CASES
Comcare v Martin (2016) 339 ALR 1
Comcare v Mooi (1996) 69 FCR 439
Commonwealth Bank of Australia v Reeve (2012) 199 FCR 463
Hennessey-Milne and Comcare [2018] AATA 4453
Jones v Dunkel (1959) 101 CLR 298
Keen v Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Corporation (1998) 71 SASR 42
Ritson v Director of Fair Work Building Industry Inspectorate & Anor [2016] FCCA 2926
Smith v Comcare [2015] FCAFC 24
SECONDARY MATERIALS
General Practice Direction (26 March 2007)
Dennis Pearce, Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Lexis Nexis Butterworths, 2nd ed, 2007)
REASONS FOR DECISION
Deputy President Dr P McDermott RFD
15 February 2019
INTRODUCTION
The applicant, Mr Brendan Ritson, has submitted a claim for compensation for “anxiety and depression”, which was made in respect of a psychiatric injury allegedly sustained in the course of his employment with Fair Work Building and Construction (“FWBC”).
CLAIM HISTORY
The applicant commenced employment as an APS 5 level investigator with Fair Work Building and Construction (“FWBC”) on 20 July 2015. On 14 December 2015 the applicant was advised that FWBC was considering terminating his employment.
On 15 December 2015 the applicant submitted a claim for workers compensation in relation to “anxiety and depression”.[1] On the claim form the applicant stated that he had first noticed the condition on 27 November 2015 at approximately 8:50am, and that he first sought medical treatment on 14 December 2015. The applicant attached a statement dated 7 December 2015 which detailed the circumstances surrounding…
Continue reading Ritson and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Ritson and Comcare (Compensation) [2019] AATA 154
- Case
- [2019] AATA 154
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The court was required to determine whether the applicant's diagnosed mental health condition constituted an "ailment" for the purposes of the Act, and if so, whether that ailment was contributed to, to a significant degree, by his employment. A key consideration was whether the applicant's condition arose from reasonable administrative actions taken in a reasonable manner, which would exclude it from compensation under section 5A(1) of the Act.
The court relied on the report of Dr Macleod, who diagnosed the applicant with a major depressive disorder with features of agitation and anxiety. This diagnosis was adopted by Dr Smith. The court considered the applicant's submissions that his evidence was reliable and supported by file notes and the testimony of other witnesses, as well as the contemporaneous medical records from his GP. The respondent argued that the applicant's non-disclosure of prior disciplinary proceedings was a dishonest act, and that the subsequent meeting and proposed termination of employment were reasonable administrative actions.
The court found that the applicant suffered from a major depressive disorder with features of agitation and anxiety. It was determined that this ailment was contributed to in a significant degree by the applicant's employment. Consequently, the court found that the applicant had suffered an injury for the purposes of section 14 of the Act, and liability attached to Comcare to provide compensation.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The applicant submits that the respondent’s submissions are based on the fact that the applicant is an unreliable witness, and because of that the foundation upon which Dr Smith and Dr Macleod formed their conclusions on causation is unsustainable; however, the applicant claims that, despite his credibility being “vigorously challenged” by the respondent during cross-examination, the respondent has not pointed to anything of substance which arose in the proceedings that could lead the Tribunal to conclude that the applicant’s evidence was unreliable. The applicant submits that the foundation giving rise to the doctors’ causation findings is also supported by: ·The applicant’s file notes; ·The evidence of Mr Fitzjohn, Mr Harrigan and Mr Stephenson, who confirmed the applicant’s distress on 27 November 2015; ·The evidence of Ms Busato, who stated that the applicant was calm and composed during the 14 December 2015 meeting; ·The fact that the applicant’s belief that he would be able to satisfactorily answer allegations was “entirely rational”; and ·The contemporaneous medical records of Dr Tran on 14 December 2015 make no mention of the meeting, but record stress and anxiety relating to Mr Cooper’s actions.CONSIDERATIONAilment of the applicant Recently, in Hennessey-Milne and Comcare [2018] AATA 4453 at [186], Deputy President Sosso remarked: “One of the features of workers’ compensation claims involving mental ailments is the multitude of “labels” that are ascribed to those ailments by various medical professionals”. This is one such case where the applicant has been diagnosed by medical specialists with different psychiatric conditions. The respondent submits that the applicant suffers from a psychiatric condition which has been identified by Dr Smith as being an adjustment disorder. Dr Macleod, who was commissioned by the respondent, has differed in his diagnosis by having the opinion that the applicant has major depression with agitation and anxiety. Dr Macleod in his report of 15 August 2016 has explained that subsequent to the assessment of an adjustment disorder by Dr Smith on 6 January 2016, the adjustment disorder of the applicant had evolved into a major depressive episode. In his report, Dr Macleod explained that it is not uncommon for adjustment disorders to progress to major depression. Dr Smith, in giving evidence, has adopted the diagnosis of Dr Macleod: he remarked: “I think Dr Macleod was probably correct. He regarded him as suffering from a major depressive disorder, which is, if you will, a step down further on the scale of an adjustment disorder with depressed mood”. I rely upon the report of Dr Macleod to find that when the applicant was examined by Dr Macleod in January 2016 he was suffering from an ailment being a major depressive disorder with features of agitation and anxiety. Whether the ailment was contributed to in a significant degree by the applicant’s employment I have to determine whether the ailment of the applicant being the mental health condition of the applicant was contributed to in a significant degree by the applicant’s employment.