Re Nuss and Comcare

Case [2002] AATA 170


DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 170

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2000/829

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION          )          
           Re      GARY GEORGE NUSS    
  Applicant
           And    COMCARE  
  Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       Mr R G Kenny, Member    

Date14 March 2002

PlaceBrisbane

Decision      The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

.................(Signed)....................
  R G Kenny
  Member
CATCHWORDS
WORKER'S COMPENSATION –- permanent impairment – left foot injury in course of employment – compensation payments made -– whether impairment to be assessed under Table 9.2 or Table 9.5 of the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment - "difficulty" - difficulty with grades, steps and distances – whether 20% permanent impairment found

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 24, 25, 27

Collins v Repatriation Commission (1994) 33 ALD 557
Comcare v Fiedler [2001] FCA 1810
Re Curtis and Australian Postal Corporation (AAT 10098, 30 March 1995)
Re Holmes and Comcare [2001] AATA 290
Re Johnston and Comcare [2000] AATA 970
Re Mooney and Australian Postal Corporation (AAT 9969, 27 January 1995)
Re Morley and Comcare (1996) 40 ALD 725
Re Peters and Australian Postal Commission (AAT 9680, 23 August 1994)
Re Virtue and Comcare [2001] AATA 974
Re Whelan and Department of Defence (1997) 47 ALD 383
Whittaker vComcare (1998) 86 FCR 532

REASONS FOR DECISION

14 March 2002        Mr R G Kenny, Member                

Background

  1. This statement of reasons relates to the hearing by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (the Tribunal) of an application to review a decision, dated 22 August 2000, of a delegate of the Military Compensation and Rehabilitation Service with the Department of Veterans' Affairs as delegate for Comcare (the respondent). In that decision, the respondent rejected the applicant's claim under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act) for further compensation payments for his left foot injury.

  2. In evidence was a set of documents (the T Documents), and these included an application for review (T1), received by the Tribunal on 7 September 2000, which contained a statement by the applicant where he set out his reasons for believing that the decision was wrong. Also in evidence was a statement, dated 28 September 2000, by the respondent in accordance with section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the AAT Act) (T3).

Appearances

  1. The applicant attended the hearing and was represented by Mr A Harding of counsel. Mr C Clarke of counsel appeared on behalf of the respondent.

  2. At the hearing, the following material was taken into evidence from

  • the applicant:

    exhibit 1 – documents prepared in accordance with section 37 of the AAT Act (the T documents: T1 – T43);

    exhibit 2 – a statement by the applicant;

    exhibit 3 – a statement by the applicant's wife, Mary Nuss; and

    exhibit 4 – a report, dated 10 January 2001, from physiotherapist, John Kirwan;

  • the respondent:

    exhibit A - a report, dated 25 October 2001, from Dr Keith Adam, specialist in occupational medicine;

    exhibit B – a report, dated 5 April 2000, from Dr Chris…

Continue reading Re Nuss and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Re Nuss and Comcare [2002] AATA 170
Case
[2002] AATA 170
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Nuss, sought additional workers' compensation from Comcare for a permanent impairment to his left foot sustained during employment. The Federal Circuit Court was tasked with determining whether Nuss's impairment met the threshold for further compensation. The primary legal issue was whether Nuss's left foot impairment warranted a 20% whole person impairment rating, as required under subsection 25(4) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. The Court had to decide whether Nuss's impairments, as described, met the statutory criteria for the higher level of compensation.

The Court examined the evidence presented by Nuss, including his own account of the difficulties he faced due to his left foot injury. Nuss described significant pain and limitations in activities such as walking, climbing stairs, and engaging in physical activities with his children. The Court considered whether these difficulties warranted a 20% whole person impairment rating under the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment. Comcare had already accepted a 10% impairment rating under Table 9.5 of the Guide but contested any higher rating.

The Court evaluated the evidence and found that Nuss's impairments, while significant, did not meet the threshold for a 20% whole person impairment rating. The Tribunal noted that Nuss's ability to work and rest as needed mitigated the impact of his impairments on his overall work performance. The Court concluded that the difficulties Nuss experienced, while valid, did not align with the criteria necessary for a higher impairment rating. Therefore, the Court upheld the existing 10% impairment rating and denied further compensation.

The final orders of the Court were to maintain the existing 10% whole person impairment rating for Nuss's left foot injury and to deny the application for additional compensation.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

The respondent has accepted that the applicant has suffered a whole person impairment of 10% under Table 9.5 of the Guide. The issue for the Tribunal is whether or not the applicant has a whole person impairment of at least 20% thereby satisfying the threshold requirement of sub-section 25(4) of the Act for further compensation to be paid to him.Applicant's evidence In his statement (exhibit 2), the applicant described the limitations imposed upon him by his left foot condition. He said that he experiences pain with activity and that this is felt in the ankle joint, across the top of his foot and in a radiating manner upwards into his lower leg. He uses a handrail when negotiating stairs and has increased pain on inclines. He feels pain on walking and this increases the further he walks. It causes him to stop after about one kilometre or even less if he has been undertaking activity previously. He was born on 14 January 1968 and works as a production manager with Dy-mark, which manufactures road-marking materials, and is required to stand and walk at his workplace but is also able to rest and, therefore, his overall work performance is not affected. He avoids activities with his children such as kicking a ball and he has been forced to discontinue his role as a coach of his son's soccer team.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.