Raine & Creed

Case [2015] FamCAFC 133


FAMILY COURT OF AUSTRALIA

RAINE & CREED [2015] FamCAFC 133

FAMILY LAW – APPEAL – PROPERTY SETTLEMENT – Where the appellant seeks to appeal against property settlement orders – Where the treatment of the appellant’s contribution of her pre-cohabitation savings to the purchase of the former matrimonial home was not erroneous as the trial judge recognised and considered the significant financial contribution made by the appellant – Where the trial judge did not err in finding that the respondent’s substantial income enabled the parties to undertake extensive renovations to the former matrimonial home – Where the trial judge erred in failing to provide adequate reasons as to why the parties equally contributed to the welfare of the family in circumstances where the respondent conceded the appellant undertook more of the household tasks – Where the trial judge made an error of principle by having regard to matters which were not matters to be taken into account under s 79(4)(a), (b) or (c) of the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth) in assessing the contributions of the parties – Where the trial judge was not entitled to take these matters into account against the appellant – Where there was insufficient evidence for the trial judge to make a finding that the respondent would enjoy a substantially greater earning capacity than the appellant – Where the trial judge was entitled to rely on the unchallenged evidence of the financial relationship between the respondent and his new partner in his assessment of the financial circumstances of the respondent – Where the trial judge failed to take into account the appellant’s indirect contribution to the respondent’s entitlement to receive his insurance disability payments when considering s 75(2)(j) of the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth) – Where the trial judge was required to determine the property claim unaided or unhindered by his view as to the determination of the spousal maintenance claim – Where there is sufficient error established to require appellate interference – Appeal allowed.

FAMILY LAW – APPEAL – SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE – Where the appellant seeks to appeal against spousal maintenance orders – Where the trial judge was unable to make a finding on when the respondent would return to work – Where it was appropriate that the order for spousal maintenance be conditional on the respondent receiving disability insurance payments – Where the trial judge was unable to make a finding that the respondent would have ongoing alternate earning capacity once the disability payments ceased or lessened – Where the order for spousal maintenance to terminate after four years was entirely arbitrary and unsupported by the evidence – Where the trial judge failed to provide adequate reasons for imposing a four year limitation on the continuation of spousal maintenance – Where there was a clear denial of natural justice by the trial judge in failing to raise the four year limitation with the appellant or her counsel – Appeal allowed.

FAMILY LAW – APPEAL – RE-EXERCISE OF THE DISCRETION – Where there…

Continue reading Raine & Creed

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Raine & Creed [2015] FamCAFC 133
Case
[2015] FamCAFC 133
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the case of Raine & Creed, the appellant, Mrs. Raine, appealed against the property settlement and spousal maintenance orders made by the trial judge, Justice Aldridge. The primary issues involved the fair division of the parties' property and the determination of spousal maintenance. The court had to consider the contributions of both parties, including financial and non-financial contributions, as well as the future earning capacity of the respondent.

The court found that while the trial judge had appropriately recognised and considered the appellant's financial contribution to the purchase of the matrimonial home, there were errors in the assessment of the parties' overall contributions. The trial judge had failed to adequately explain why the parties were found to equally contribute to the welfare of the family despite the appellant's significant household responsibilities. Additionally, the trial judge had taken into account factors that were not permissible under the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth). The court also noted that there was insufficient evidence to support the trial judge's finding that the respondent would have a substantially greater earning capacity than the appellant. Regarding spousal maintenance, the court found that the trial judge had made several errors, including the arbitrary setting of a four-year limit on maintenance payments without adequate reasons and failing to consider the appellant's indirect contribution to the respondent's disability insurance payments.

The appeal was allowed on both property settlement and spousal maintenance grounds. The court set aside the original orders and made new orders for spousal maintenance and property settlement. The court determined that the appellant should receive 60% of the property settlement and spousal maintenance payments of $534 per week, conditional on the respondent continuing to receive disability insurance payments. The court found that it was not appropriate to order variations in spousal maintenance payments based on yearly changes in the consumer price index. The court did not make an order for costs against either party but granted costs certificates to both parties to be paid from the Federal Government.

Orders

Orders of the court

1.

The appeal be allowed.

2.

Orders (1) and (4) made by Aldridge J on 24 May 2013 be set aside and in lieu thereof the following orders be made:

(1) Conditional upon the husband continuing to receive disability insurance payments on the basis of a total disability, the husband pay the wife spousal maintenance in the sum of $534 per week.

(4) On the basis of the parties retaining their respective assets and superannuation interests (including as distributed already in accordance with the orders made by Aldridge J on 24 May 2013), the husband pay to the wife the sum of $121,468 within 60 days of the date of this order.

3.

There be no order as to costs.

4.

The Court grants to the appellant wife a costs certificate pursuant to the provisions of s 9 of the Federal Proceedings (Costs) Act 1981 (Cth) being a certificate that, in the opinion of the Court, it would be appropriate for the Attorney-General to authorise a payment under that Act to the appellant wife in respect of the costs incurred by her in relation to the appeal.

5.

The Court grants to the respondent husband a costs certificate pursuant to the provisions of s 6 of the Federal Proceedings (Costs) Act 1981 (Cth) being a certificate that, in the opinion of the Court, it would be appropriate for the Attorney-General to authorise a payment under that Act to the respondent husband in respect of the costs incurred by him in relation to the appeal.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.