DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 753
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No A2000/352
GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION ) A2001/444
Re Gail Lorraine Pollock
Applicant
And Comcare
Respondent
DECISION
Tribunal Mr G A Mowbray
Date2 September 2002
PlaceCanberra
Decision The Tribunal sets aside the decisions under review, being decisions made by the Respondent dated 18 August 2000 and 24 September 2001, and remits the matters to the Respondent for reconsideration with a direction to give effect to the findings of the Tribunal as set out in the reasons for decision that:
(a)on the morning of 22 September 1997 Mrs Pollock slipped and fell on her left side in the foyer of a building in the Defence Department complex in Canberra
(b)as a consequence she suffered a soft tissue injury to her left shoulder/arm and muscle strain to the left knee
(c)these injuries are attributable to her employment
(d)Mrs Pollock continues to suffer from these injuries
(e)Mrs Pollock suffered and continues to suffer from a thoracic spinal pain syndrome, including an intervertebral disc lesion at T9/10
(f)this condition was caused, or at least substantially aggravated, by the accident on 22 September 1997
(g)Mrs Pollock continues to suffer an aggravation of her pre-existing lumbar and neck condition consequent upon the 22 September 1997 accident
(h)this condition includes a diffuse cervical spinal pain syndrome and a lumbar spinal pain syndrome both resulting from the accident
(i)Mrs Pollock suffered and continues to suffer from cervicogenic headaches caused by the accident of 22 September 1997
(j)in terms of section 4(9)(a) of the Act Mrs Pollock suffers "an incapacity to engage in any work" as a result of work caused injuries.
The Tribunal orders the Respondent to pay the Applicant's costs as agreed or taxed.
..............................................
Member
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – whether thoracic spine condition attributable to work related accident – whether aggravations of cervical and lumbar spine conditions continue as a result of accident – whether cervicogenic headaches attributable to accident – whether incapacitated as a result of compensable conditions
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1998 ss 4(1), 4(9), 14, 19
Re Carson and Telstra Corporation (2001) 33 AAR 351
Lees v Comcare (1999) 29 AAR 350; 56 ALD 84
Comcare v Nichols [1999] FCA 209
Re Quinn and Australian Postal Corporation (1992) 15 AAR 519
Commonwealth v Borg (1991) 20 AAR 299n
Re Lewis and Comcare [2002] AATA 197
Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, American Medical Association, 5th Edition, 2000
REASONS FOR DECISION
2 September 2002 Mr G A Mowbray
This matter involves two applications by Mrs Gail Lorraine Pollock for review of decisions by Comcare. The first application (A2000/352) is for review of a decision dated 18 August 2000 denying liability for Mrs Pollock's headaches and thoracic spine condition. The second application (A2001/444) is for review of a decision dated 24 September 2001 ceasing liability for Mrs Pollock's lumbar and cervical spine conditions. The 2001 decision also found that although liability continued for Mrs Pollock's left shoulder and left…
Continue reading Pollock and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Pollock and Comcare [2002] AATA 753
- Case
- [2002] AATA 753
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The key legal issues before the Tribunal were whether the thoracic spine condition, the aggravations of the cervical and lumbar spine conditions, and the cervicogenic headaches were caused by the workplace accident. Furthermore, the Tribunal needed to assess whether these conditions rendered Mrs Pollock incapacitated to engage in any work. The Tribunal carefully considered medical evidence and the arguments presented by both parties to reach its conclusions.
The Tribunal found that Mrs Pollock's thoracic spine condition was indeed attributable to the workplace accident. It also concluded that the aggravations of her cervical and lumbar spine conditions, as well as her cervicogenic headaches, were a result of the accident. The Tribunal accepted the evidence that these conditions had rendered Mrs Pollock severely incapacitated and unfit for work. Based on these findings, the Tribunal set aside the decisions under review and remitted the matter to Comcare for reconsideration, directing Comcare to give effect to the Tribunal's findings.
The Tribunal's decision was grounded in the clear medical evidence presented and the statutory provisions of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. By setting aside the previous decisions and directing reconsideration, the Tribunal ensured that Mrs Pollock's claims for compensation related to her work-related injuries would be appropriately addressed.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Mr Schaeffer's opinion of Mrs Pollock as a poor historian had coloured his views on her symptoms and condition. The basis for this opinion was that Mrs Pollock had not mentioned the MRI taken in July 1997, but she had actually provided this MRI to Mr Schaeffer.Consideration of Issues and Findings"Cease liability/effects" decisions As I have said before, in many "cease liability" or "cease effects" decisions made under the Act there appears to be a misunderstanding of the nature and effect of the determination that is made and of the statutory provisions relied upon. In Re Carson and Telstra Corporation (2001) 33 AAR 351 Deputy President Estcourt stated "49. It would only be a rare case where a reconsideration of the substantive determination under s.14 that Comcare was liable to pay compensation in accordance with the Act would be warranted. Such a case might arise, for example, if it was subsequently discovered that the injury had never in fact occurred or that the person claiming was never in fact an employee.50. In such a case a reconsideration of the s.14 determination under s.62 resulting in a revocation would surely carry with it the result that no future claims in respect of that incident could properly be made, but in other cases, the revocation of a determination under relevant sections would not have the effect of preventing altogether further or other claims for compensation.…55. Telstra by its determination of 21 February 1995 was not, properly understood, denying those findings implicit in the original determination, it was merely determining that, on the available medical evidence, it was no longer liable for payment of medical expenses or incapacity payments.56. That is to say the effect of the determination that "liability in respect of this injury ceased on and from 5 February 1995" was not a decision to "cease liability" altogether or to "cease liability" under s.14, but rather a purported determination to cease the payment of compensation under s.16 and s.19 of the Act.…58. The conclusion I have reached, namely, that at its highest, Telstra's determination only ceased payment of compensation under s.16 and s.19 of the Act and did not effectively revoke the early determination to accept liability under s.14, thereby preventing further claims of compensation being made at a later time, is also consistent with the reasoning of the Full Court in Plumb v Comcare (1992) 39 FCR 236." Implicit support for this approach is found in Lees v Comcare (1999) 29 AAR 350; 56 ALD 84, especially at [34], upon which Deputy President Estcourt relies. I agree with and adopt the views of Deputy President Estcourt, which have been followed elsewhere in the Tribunal.The burden of persuasion It is neither particularly apt nor appropriate to refer to a common law concept of a burden or onus of proof placed on a particular party in administrative proceedings in the Tribunal. However there has been a line of authority in both the courts and the Tribunal on what has been described as "the burden of persuasion" in these matters.