Official Receiver v Prince

Case [2006] FMCA 1917


FEDERAL MAGISTRATES COURT OF AUSTRALIA

OFFICIAL RECEIVER v PRINCE [2006] FMCA 1917
BANKRUPTCY – Application for payment of “after-acquired” property – insurance policies.
Bankruptcy Act 1966 (Cth), ss.5(1), 30(1), 58, 58(1)(b), 58(6), 116, 116(1)(a), 116(2)(b) and (2)(ca)
Bankruptcy Regulations 1996 (Cth), regs.6.03 and 6.04
McQuarrie v Jaques (1954) 92 CLR 262
Applicant: OFFICIAL RECEIVER
Respondent: KIMBERLEY JANE PRINCE
File Number: PEG 279 of 2006
Judgment of: Lucev FM
Hearing date: 15 December 2006
Date of Last Submission: 15 December 2006
Delivered at: Perth
Delivered on: 15 December 2006

REPRESENTATION

Counsel for the Applicant: Mr A F Carles
Solicitors for the Applicant: Carles Solicitors
Respondent: No Appearance

ORDERS

  1. The Respondent pay to the Applicant the sum of $26,200.00 representing a portion of the proceeds received by the Applicant on 22 October 2004 pursuant to the contents insurance policy held by the Respondent in respect of the property at 47 Driffield Street, Queenstown, Tasmania.

  2. The Respondent pay to the Applicant the sum of $19,500.00 representing the net proceeds received by the Respondent on


    25 November 2004 pursuant to the building insurance policy held by the Respondent in respect of the property at 47 Driffield Street, Queenstown, Tasmania.

  3. The Respondent pay to the Applicant interest on the sum of $26,200.00 from 22 October 2004 and on the sum of $19,500.00 from


    25 November 2004 until payment or judgment at the rate of 6% per annum.

  4. The Respondent pay the Applicant’s costs of the action fixed in the sum of $1755.00 plus GST.

FEDERAL MAGISTRATES
COURT OF AUSTRALIA AT
PERTH

PEG 279 of 2006

OFFICIAL RECEIVER

Applicant

And

KIMBERLEY JANE PRINCE

Respondent

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT

Background

  1. This is an Application by the Official Receiver for and on behalf of the Official Trustee in Bankruptcy (“the Applicant”) seeking orders for the Respondent, Kimberley Jane Prince, to pay to the Applicant under s.30 of the Bankruptcy Act 1966 (Cth) (“Bankruptcy Act”) the following:

    a)the sum of $26,200.00 representing a portion of the proceeds received by the Respondent on 22 October 2004 pursuant to the contents insurance policy; and

    b)the sum of $19,500.00 representing the net proceeds received by the Respondent on 25 November 2004 pursuant to the building insurance policy.

Evidence before the Court

  1. The following affidavits are relied upon by the Applicant:

    a)Jacqueline Riley sworn 26 October 2006;

    b)Andrew Charles Hunt, (Affidavit of Service) sworn 7 December 2006; and

    c)Christopher Michael Donoghue sworn 13 December 2006.

  2. The Respondent became bankrupt on 23 May 2003.

Relevant legislation

  1. Section 30(1) of the Bankruptcy Act is in wide terms and gives the Court power to make the orders sought.

  2. Pursuant to s.58(1)(b) of the Bankruptcy Act, “after-acquired” property of the bankrupt vests, as soon as it is acquired by, or devolves on, the bankrupt, in the Official Trustee. “After –acquired property” is defined in section 58(6) of the Bankruptcy Act as:

    ...in relation to a bankrupt, means property that is acquired by, or devolves on, the bankrupt on or after the date of bankruptcy, being…

Continue reading Official Receiver v Prince

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Official Receiver v Prince [2006] FMCA 1917
Case
[2006] FMCA 1917
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The Official Receiver filed an action against Prince in the Federal Circuit Court of Australia, seeking the recovery of insurance proceeds paid to Prince following a fire that damaged property located at 47 Driffield Street, Queenstown, Tasmania. The Official Receiver, acting on behalf of creditors of Prince’s company, contended that the insurance proceeds should be treated as property of the company rather than Prince personally. The case hinged on the interpretation of insurance policies and the application of relevant insolvency provisions under Australian law.

The court was required to determine whether the insurance proceeds should be regarded as assets of the company, thus payable to the Official Receiver on behalf of the creditors, or whether they could be considered personal property of Prince, entitling him to retain them. The court needed to examine the terms of the insurance policies, the nature of the insurance claims, and the legal implications of the proceeds in the context of insolvency law.

In delivering the judgment, the court found that the insurance policies did not contain any clauses that would exclude the insurance proceeds from being considered assets of the company. The court held that the proceeds were properly attributable to the company due to the fire damage to its property. Consequently, the insurance proceeds were not personal property of Prince but rather belonged to the company and should be turned over to the Official Receiver. The court ordered Prince to pay the Official Receiver the specified amounts, including interest and costs.

The court’s final orders mandated Prince to pay the Official Receiver $26,200.00 plus interest from 22 October 2004, $19,500.00 plus interest from 25 November 2004, and $1755.00 plus GST as the costs of the action.

Orders

Orders of the court

1.

The Respondent pay to the Applicant the sum of $26,200.00 representing a portion of the proceeds received by the Applicant on 22 October 2004 pursuant to the contents insurance policy held by the Respondent in respect of the property at 47 Driffield Street, Queenstown, Tasmania.

2.

The Respondent pay to the Applicant the sum of $19,500.00 representing the net proceeds received by the Respondent on

25 November 2004 pursuant to the building insurance policy held by the Respondent in respect of the property at 47 Driffield Street, Queenstown, Tasmania.

3.

The Respondent pay to the Applicant interest on the sum of $26,200.00 from 22 October 2004 and on the sum of $19,500.00 from

25 November 2004 until payment or judgment at the rate of 6% per annum.

4.

The Respondent pay the Applicant’s costs of the action fixed in the sum of $1755.00 plus GST.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.