Morton and Comcare

Case [2005] AATA 930


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2005] AATA 930

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No A2004/34

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re CIVA MORTON

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr S. Webb

Date26 September 2005

PlaceCanberra

Decision

The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereof the Tribunal decides that in the period from 6 January 2001 to the present date:

(i)  Ms Morton did not continue to suffer from the injury “sprain to unspecified site of back” (“the compensable injury”); and

(ii)  Ms Morton’s pain symptoms (described as fibromyalgia or a neurogenic pain disorder) and depression did not arise from her employment and were not materially contributed to by the compensable injury, and she is not entitled to compensation therefor.

There are no orders in relation to costs.  Liberty to apply within seven days.

..............................................

Mr S. Webb, Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION - unspecified back sprain injury - cessation of employment - pain disorder - fibromyalgia - depression - conflicting medical evidence - injury in the context of disease – commonsense test – inference of probable cause not open – symptoms of pain and depression not related to work injury – reviewable decision purports to cease liability into the future – decision set aside

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4, 7, 14, 16, 19, 67

Australian Postal Corporation v Oudyn (2003) 73 ALD 659

Asioty v Canberra Abattoir Pty Ltd (1989) 167 CLR 533. 

Chappel v Hart (1998) 156 ALR 517 at 523

Commonwealth v Beattie (1981) 35 ALR 369

Commonwealth Banking Corporation v Percival (1988) 9 AAR 206

Hannaford v Telstra Corporation Limited [2005] FCA 1298

Lees v Comcare (1999) 56 ALD 84).

Re Liu and Comcare [2004] AATA 617

Re Riley and Comcare [2005] AATA 23

Seltsam Pty Ltd & Anor v McGuiness [2000] NSWCA 29

Tippett v Australian Postal Corporation (1998) 27 AAR 40

Treloar v Australian Telecommunications Commission (1990) 97 ALR 321 at 328

REASONS FOR DECISION

26 September 2005 Mr S. Webb            

1.      By this application Civa Morton is seeking review of the Comcare decision to affirm a primary determination purportedly ceasing Comcare’s liability to pay compensation in relation to a work-related but unspecified back sprain.

2. The matter came on for hearing before me in Canberra on 30- 31 May and 17-19 August 2005. Ms Morton was represented by Mr C. Ryan, counsel. Comcare was represented by Mr D. O’Donovan, counsel. Ms Morton, Dr Garth Eaton (Occupational Physician), Dr Hugh Veness (Consultant Psychiatrist), Dr Andrew Brook (Rheumatologist), Dr Ross Mellick (Consultant Neurologist), Dr Neil McGill (Consultant Rheumatologist), Dr Peter Stevenson (Consultant Physician), Dr Jan Eriksson (General Practitioner) gave oral evidence. The Tribunal had before it documents prepared pursuant to s37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (“T” documents). Materials were tendered and labelled for identification during the hearing.

factual context

3.      The factual background to this application is not in dispute and I find as follows.

4.      Ms Morton is 53 years…

Continue reading Morton and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Morton and Comcare [2005] AATA 930
Case
[2005] AATA 930
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the case of Morton v Comcare, the Federal Circuit Court considered the dispute between the applicant, Ms Morton, and Comcare regarding compensation for an injury sustained during her employment. The central issue was whether Ms Morton’s ongoing pain, depression, and fibromyalgia were related to a compensable back injury, or if they arose from other causes. The court was tasked with determining the causal link between Ms Morton’s employment and her ongoing symptoms, which were largely contested by conflicting medical evidence.

The legal issues before the court involved interpreting the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and assessing the evidence to determine if Ms Morton’s pain and depression were connected to her work injury. The court needed to decide if the symptoms were a result of the injury or if they were due to other factors, such as disease or unrelated circumstances. The decision hinged on whether the evidence permitted an inference that the compensable injury was a probable cause of the ongoing symptoms.

The court held that the decision to cease liability was not supported by the evidence. Given the conflicting medical opinions and the absence of a clear causal link, the court concluded that the Tribunal's decision to cease compensation could not be sustained. The court found that the reviewable decision purported to cease liability into the future without sufficient evidence, and therefore set aside the decision. It was determined that Ms Morton's ongoing pain, depression, and fibromyalgia were not related to her compensable injury, and she was not entitled to compensation for these conditions.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and in substitution thereof the Tribunal decides that in the period from 6 January 2001 to the present date:

(i) Ms Morton did not continue to suffer from the injury “sprain to unspecified site of back” (“the compensable injury”); and

(ii) Ms Morton’s pain symptoms (described as fibromyalgia or a neurogenic pain disorder) and depression did not arise from her employment and were not materially contributed to by the compensable injury, and she is not entitled to compensation therefor.

There are no orders in relation to costs. Liberty to apply within seven days.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.