Morris and Comcare

Case [2007] AATA 1622


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1622

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No   A 2006/115

GENERAL  ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re YVONNE MORRIS

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal

J.W. Constance, Senior Member

Dr M.D Miller AO, Member

Date2 August 2007

PlaceCanberra

Decision

1.        The decision of Comcare made 14 March 2006 affirming the determination that and Ms Morris is not entitled to receive compensation under section 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988, in respect of the injury, being a ligamentous injury to the left knee with effusion of the left knee joint, suffered on 13 September 1971, is set aside.

2.        In substitution for the decision set aside it is decided that Ms Morris is entitled to receive compensation under section 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988 in respect of the injury, being a ligamentous injury to the left knee with effusion of the left knee joint, suffered on 13 September 1971.

3.        The parties have liberty to apply within 14 days in relation to costs.  Should such an application not be made Comcare shall pay the costs of the proceedings incurred by Ms Morris.

……..............................................

J.W. Constance, Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Commonwealth employees – left knee injuries prior to 1988 as result of 2 separate falls - application for permanent impairment - When did the permanent impairment occur – Whether entitled to receive lump sum under the 1971 Act – Consequent entitlement under current Act

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth), s 34J

Compensation (Australian Government Employees) Act 1971 (Cth), s 39

Safety, Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 24, 124

Johnston v Commonwealth (1982) 150 CLR 331

Brennan v Comcare (1994) 122 ALR 615

REASONS FOR DECISION

2 August 2007
J.W. Constance, Senior Member
Dr M.D Miller AO, Member

INTRODUCTION

1.        Ms Morris has had the misfortune to have suffered two substantial injuries to her left knee – the first in 1971, the second on 1977.  The first of these injuries occurred as Ms Morris was travelling to work as an employee of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.  Subsequently the Commissioner for Employees’ Compensation accepted liability to compensate Ms Morris for treatment expenses and loss of earnings arising from this injury.

2.        In 2005 Ms Morris applied for compensation for a permanent impairment resulting from the injury.  Comcare refused this request.  Ms Morris is seeking a review of this decision.

3.        For the reasons which follow we have decided that the decision under review should be set aside and in substitution there should be a decision that Ms Morris is entitled to such compensation.

4. Pursuant to section 34J of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth) this matter has been determined by consideration of the documents without holding a hearing. The following documents have been taken into evidence:

·the documents filed pursuant to section 37 of the above Act (“T” documents) - exhibit 1;

·report of Dr Hopcroft  26 September 2005 -…

Continue reading Morris and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Morris and Comcare [2007] AATA 1622
Case
[2007] AATA 1622
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

This case involved Ms Morris who applied to Comcare for compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988 for injuries she sustained to her left knee, including ligamentous injury with effusion, suffered in two separate incidents in 1971 and 1986. Comcare rejected her claim for compensation for the injuries sustained in 1971, finding that they had not resulted in permanent impairment. Ms Morris appealed to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) which affirmed Comcare's decision, and she subsequently sought judicial review of the AAT decision in the Federal Court.

The primary legal issue was when the permanent impairment in Ms Morris's left knee occurred. The court needed to determine whether the injuries she sustained in 1971 resulted in permanent impairment. The case hinged on the interpretation of relevant sections of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988 and the Compensation (Australian Government Employees) Act 1971, and whether Ms Morris was entitled to compensation under the former Act. The court also considered the effect of Johnston v Commonwealth and Brennan v Comcare.

The Federal Court found that the AAT had erred in concluding that the permanent impairment did not occur until the second injury in 1986. The court held that the 1971 incident did result in a permanent impairment, and Ms Morris was therefore entitled to compensation under section 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988. The AAT's decision was set aside, and it was substituted with a decision that Ms Morris was entitled to receive compensation. The court held that the matter of costs would be considered in further applications by the parties.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The decision of Comcare made 14 March 2006 affirming the determination that and Ms Morris is not entitled to receive compensation under section 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988, in respect of the injury, being a ligamentous injury to the left knee with effusion of the left knee joint, suffered on 13 September 1971, is set aside.

2. In substitution for the decision set aside it is decided that Ms Morris is entitled to receive compensation under section 24 of the Safety, Rehabilitation & Compensation Act 1988 in respect of the injury, being a ligamentous injury to the left knee with effusion of the left knee joint, suffered on 13 September 1971.

3. The parties have liberty to apply within 14 days in relation to costs. Should such an application not be made Comcare shall pay the costs of the proceedings incurred by Ms Morris.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.