McEwan and Comcare (Compensation) [2022] AATA 1586 (10 June 2022)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2021/1612
Re:James McEwan
APPLICANT
AndComcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Dr I Alexander, Senior Member
Date:10 June 2022
Place:Sydney
The decision under review is affirmed.
.................................[SGD].......................................
Dr I Alexander, Senior Member
CATCHWORDS
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – anxiety/stress disorder – whether Comcare is liable to pay compensation for psychological injury – whether Applicant suffered a psychological ailment for the purposes of section 5B of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) – whether the Applicant’s ailment was contributed to, to a significant degree, by his employment with NBN Co – whether the Applicant’s ailment constitutes a disease under section 5B – decision affirmed.
LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth)
REASONS FOR DECISION
Dr I Alexander, Senior Member
10 June 2022
Mr McEwan was employed as a Project Officer NSW/ACT[1] and Project Manager NSW/ACT[2] by NBN Co Ltd (NBN) until he accepted a redundancy as of 28 June 2019.
[1] Appointed on 23 September 2013
[2] Promoted on 26 February 2018
On 17 January 2020 Mr McEwan lodged a worker’s compensation claim for ‘depression caused by systemic bullying that lead me to try suicide’.
Mr McEwan claimed that he first noticed symptoms on ‘17/08/2017 11:00 AM’ and first sought treatment on 30 August 2017. He also claimed that he was ‘subjected to bullying and harassment by several people over 5 years’ and that this led to ‘two suicide attempts and a hospitalised in a mental ward’ [sic]
By determination dated 23 March 2020, Comcare denied liability pursuant to section of the of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (the SRC Act) on the basis that Mr McEwan’s ‘employment did not significantly contribute’ to his psychological condition.
In a reviewable decision dated 8 February 2021, a Review Officer decided to affirm the 23 March 2020 determination and declined liability for ‘depressive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder’ under section 14 of the SRC Act.
In these proceedings Mr McEwan, who was represented by counsel, seeks review of the reviewable decision dated 8 February 2021.
In view of the temporary changes regarding the suspension of face-to-face Tribunal hearings during the COVID-19 pandemic, all parties attended the hearing by video conference.
RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS
A Section 14 of the SRC Act relevantly provides as follows.
14 Compensation for injuries
(1) Subject to this Part, Comcare is liable to pay compensation in accordance with this Act in respect of an injury suffered by an employee if the injury results in death, incapacity for work, or impairment.
A Section 5A of the SRC Act provides as follows.
5A Definition of injury
(1) In this Act:
injury means:
(a) a disease suffered by an employee; or
(b) an injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee, that is a physical or mental injury arising out of, or in the course of, the employee’s employment; or
(c) an aggravation of a…
Continue reading McEwan and Comcare (Compensation)
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- McEwan and Comcare (Compensation) [2022] AATA 1586
- Case
- [2022] AATA 1586
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The primary legal issues before the Tribunal were whether Mr. McEwan's condition constituted an "ailment" as defined by the Act, and whether his employment with NBN Co was a significant contributing factor to this ailment. The Tribunal also considered whether the ailment constituted a "disease" under section 5B of the Act.
The Tribunal found that while Mr. McEwan claimed to suffer from major depressive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder, the evidence supporting this diagnosis, particularly the psychiatric assessments conducted retrospectively and via telehealth, was problematic and inconsistent with other evidence. The Tribunal preferred the contemporaneous records from the Mater Hospital Mental Health Unit and the evidence of Dr. Lee, concluding that Mr. McEwan suffered from an "adjustment disorder" in November 2018, which qualified as an "ailment" under the Act. However, the Tribunal was not persuaded that Mr. McEwan's employment contributed to this ailment to a significant degree, finding that his own narrative of bullying and harassment was largely uncorroborated, self-serving, and exaggerated, and that his recollections lacked the detail present in his diary entries. The Tribunal concluded that the evidence suggested differences of opinion and disagreements rather than bullying or harassment.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
After the Tribunal raised various issues, in Mr McEwan’s medical history, that had not been considered by Dr Saker, he agreed that the contribution of McEwan’s employment to his psychiatric condition was ‘a much more complex issue’.CONSIDERATION‘Ailment’? The first issue to consider is whether Mr McEwan suffered an ‘ailment’ for the purpose of the SRC Act. Section 4 of the SRC Act defines an ‘ailment’ as any physical or mental ailment, disorder, defect or morbid condition (whether of sudden onset or gradual development). Mr McEwan submits that he has suffered an ‘injury’ for the purposes of the SRC Act and that the ‘injury’ described as ‘major depressive disorder and generalised anxiety disorder’ (MDDA). Mr McEwan submits that his ‘injury’ is a ‘mental disorder of gradual development’ that began in 2015 but became symptomatic in April 2017 when he first attended his general practitioner for treatment of ‘low mood anxiety’. Alternatively, he submits that the ‘date of injury’ is 25 November 2018 when he was admitted to the Mater Hospital Mental Health Unit. Notwithstanding the uncertainty about the onset of his injury, Mr McEwan, as a matter of fact, claims that he has suffered from MDDA since April 2017. In support of his claim, he relies on the assessments and opinions of Drs Takyar and Saker. The difficulty for Mr McEwan is that the written and oral evidence provided by the two psychiatrists is, in my view, problematic in that it is not consistent with other evidence before the Tribunal. Both psychiatric assessments were performed by telehealth interview more than twelve months after Mr McEwan had accepted a redundancy from NBN and about six or more months after Comcare had denied liability for compensation. Both psychiatrists had concluded that Mr McEwan’s MDDA was causally related to persistent bullying and harassment he had experienced during his employment. These conclusions assumed, that the self-reported retrospective history, provided by Mr McEwan, was accurate and reliable. On my reading of the available evidence, that assumption was unsound. Notwithstanding the issue with respect of causation, it is possible that Mr McEwan’s clinical presentation at the time of the assessments was consistent with a diagnosis of MDDA for other reasons. However, given the concerns about the reliability of Mr McEwan’s reported history and the fact that, neither psychiatrist fully addressed alternative causal factors, the validity of the diagnosis of MDDA caused by his employment is, in my view, uncertain. In the Mayfield Medical Centre clinical records, between January 2017 and October 2018 there are sporadic references to symptoms such as ‘depression, low mood, anxiety, stress at work, insomnia’, however, there is no evidence of a formal psychiatric assessment and no evidence of significant impairment of social or occupational functioning. Between January 2017 and February 2020, the first and only formal assessment of Mr McEwan’s mental health, by a psychiatrist, was during his 3-day admission to the Mater Hospital Mental Health Unit in November 2018.