Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd

Case [2018] NSWWCCPD 44


DETERMINATION OF APPEAL AGAINST A DECISION OF THE COMMISSION CONSTITUTED BY AN ARBITRATOR
CITATION: Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd [2018] NSWWCCPD 44
APPELLANT: Garry Marshall
RESPONDENT: Skilled Group Ltd
INSURER: Self-insured
FILE NUMBER: A1-324/18
SENIOR ARBITRATOR: Mr G Capel
DATE OF ARBITRATOR’S DECISION: 12 April 2018
DATE OF APPEAL DECISION: 17 October 2018
SUBJECT MATTER OF DECISION: Admission of new evidence – D’Orta-Ekenaike v Victoria Legal Aid [2005] HCA 12; 223 CLR 1 applied; whether failure to admit new evidence would cause substantial injustice; CHEP Australia Limited v Strickland [2013] NSWCA 351; 12 DDCR 501 applied; application for extension of time to file the appeal – r 16.2(12) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011; requirement to identify error – s 352(5) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998
PRESIDENTIAL MEMBER: Deputy President Elizabeth Wood
HEARING: On the papers
REPRESENTATION: Appellant: Self-represented
Respondent: Moray & Agnew
ORDERS MADE ON APPEAL:

1. The appellant’s application to extend time pursuant to r 16.2(12) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 is refused.

INTRODUCTION

  1. Mr Garry Marshall brought a claim for weekly payments and treatment expenses pursuant to the provisions of the Workers Compensation Act 1987 (the 1987 Act) in respect of an alleged injury in the course of his employment with Skilled Group Ltd (Skilled) on 9 January 2015. Skilled disputed that Mr Marshall suffered the injury.

  2. The matter proceeded to arbitration and the Senior Arbitrator issued a Certificate of Determination (COD) with written reasons on 12 April 2018, entering an award in favour of Skilled.[1]

    [1] Garry Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd [2018] NSWWCC 96 (Reasons).

  3. Mr Marshall appeals the decision. He first lodged an Application – Appeal Against the Decision of an Arbitrator (appeal application) on 26 June 2018, but a direction was issued for the document to be amended. An amended appeal application was lodged on 12 July 2018.

BACKGROUND

  1. Mr Marshall was employed by Skilled as a plant operator and labourer from 9 December 2014 until his employment was terminated on 16 January 2015.

  2. Mr Marshall alleged that he suffered an injury to his lumbar spine and left elbow on 9 January 2015, when he jumped out of the way of a reversing excavator.

  3. Skilled issued a notice pursuant to s 74 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998 (the 1998 Act), disputing that Mr Marshall suffered an injury and that employment was a substantial contributing factor. The self-insurer relied on ss 4 and 9A of the 1987 Act. It also disputed that Mr Marshall suffered any incapacity for work and that it was liable for Mr Marshall’s treatment expenses pursuant to s 60 of the 1987 Act. In a second s 74 notice dated 7 October 2015, Skilled reiterated that it disputed Mr Marshall had suffered an injury and added that any whole person impairment suffered by Mr Marshall did not result from any injury with Skilled.

  4. Mr Marshall commenced proceedings in respect of the same alleged injury on…

Continue reading Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd [2018] NSWWCCPD 44
Case
[2018] NSWWCCPD 44
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the case of Marshall v Skilled Group Ltd, the appellant, Marshall, sought an extension of time to file an appeal against a decision of the Workers Compensation Commission. The dispute arose after Marshall had undergone surgery and was awarded compensation. However, the decision was later reviewed, and Marshall was required to file an appeal within the stipulated time frame. Marshall sought an extension of time to file this appeal, citing the need for additional evidence that had become available after the initial decision. The court was tasked with determining whether the extension of time should be granted and if the new evidence should be admitted. The central legal issues involved the application of rules regarding extensions of time under the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 and the criteria for admitting new evidence as per the D’Orta-Ekenaike v Victoria Legal Aid case. The court also had to consider whether the admission of new evidence would result in a substantial injustice, as per CHEP Australia Limited v Strickland.

The court examined the requirement for identifying errors under section 352(5) of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998, as well as the principles articulated in the D’Orta-Ekenaike v Victoria Legal Aid case. The court found that Marshall had not sufficiently identified an error in the original decision that warranted an extension of time. Furthermore, the court determined that the new evidence presented did not meet the threshold for causing substantial injustice, as per the criteria established in CHEP Australia Limited v Strickland. Consequently, the court held that the application for an extension of time should be refused, and the new evidence should not be admitted. This decision was based on the lack of a compelling reason to extend the time frame for filing the appeal and the insufficiency of the new evidence to justify a departure from the original decision.

In conclusion, the court's ruling was that the appellant's application for an extension of time to file the appeal was refused. The new evidence presented was deemed not substantial enough to warrant an exception to the time limitation rules. This decision underscores the importance of timely compliance with procedural rules and the stringent criteria for admitting new evidence in appeal processes.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The appellant’s application to extend time pursuant to r 16.2(12) of the Workers Compensation Commission Rules 2011 is refused.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.