Magher and Comcare

Case [2008] AATA 970


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 970

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No 2007/0254

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)
Re TERI-ANN MAGHER

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr G L McDonald, Deputy President

Date31 October 2008

PlaceMelbourne

Decision The decision under review is set aside and a decision substituted that the applicant’s prolapse of the disc at the L5/S1 level is an injury as defined in (c) of the definition of ‘injury’ contained in s 4 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and she therefore qualifies to receive compensation under s 14(1).

..............................................

Deputy President

CATCHWORDS – COMPENSATION – disc prolapse – disc degeneration – whether injury occurred in the course of employment – whether injury was aggravated by employment – competing expert medical opinions – decision under review set aside 

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 s 37

Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss   4, 14

Briginshaw v Briginshaw (1938) 60 CLR 336

Health Insurance Commission v Van Reesch (1996) 45 ALD 302

Kennedy Cleaning Services Pty Ltd v Petkoska (2000) 174 ALR 626

Rodgers and Australian Postal Commission [2005] AAT 1007

Zickar v MGH Plastic Industries Pty Ltd (1996) 187 CLR 310

REASONS FOR DECISION

31 October 2008   Mr G L McDonald, Deputy President

1.        The applicant is applying for the review of a decision of a delegate of the respondent dated 14 December 2006 which affirmed, after internal review, a decision refusing to accept her injury of sciatic nerve and rotated disc displacement thoracic/lumbar intervetebral disc as being work related.  The applicant is seeking a determination that she qualifies to receive compensation under s 14 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act) on the basis that her work activities materially contributed to and/or aggravated her back condition.

2. The Tribunal had before it the documents filed for purposes of s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the T documents) and the exhibits. The applicant and Associate Professor O’Brien, a rheumatologist, gave oral evidence on behalf of the applicant. Two additional reports to one contained in the T documents from Dr Fox, the applicant’s treating general medical practitioner, were admitted by consent[1]. A report from the applicant’s treating orthopaedic surgeon, Mr Hunt, was also admitted by consent[2].

[1] Exhibits A5 and A6.

[2] Exhibit A7.

3.        The respondent called Mr Shannon, an orthopaedic surgeon, Dr Karna, a rheumatologist, and Ms Johnstone, a manager of the agency (Centrelink) where the applicant worked and continues to work.  The respondent admits, and the material before the Tribunal confirms, that the applicant has suffered from a constitutionally based degenerative spine condition, that in May 2006 she suffered a disc prolapse at the L5/S1 level, but the respondent denies that there is any relationship between the condition and the applicant’s work.

The Issues

4.      The applicant’s case is:

(a)that the prolapse of her spinal vertebrae at the L5/S1 level occurring in May 2006 is an injury which was suffered by…

Continue reading Magher and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Magher and Comcare [2008] AATA 970
Case
[2008] AATA 970
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Magher, the applicant, sought review of a decision made by the respondent, Comcare, regarding her entitlement to workers' compensation for a disc prolapse at the L5/S1 level. The case was heard in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, presided over by Senior Member M.J. Gibson. The applicant contended that the injury was either caused by or aggravated by her employment, thus qualifying for compensation under the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988. Comcare argued that the injury did not occur in the course of employment and was not aggravated by it, thereby denying the applicant's entitlement to compensation.

The primary legal issues were whether the applicant's disc prolapse was caused by or aggravated by her employment, and whether the Tribunal had correctly applied the Briginshaw standard in assessing the evidence. The court needed to determine whether the applicant's injury fell under the definition of 'injury' in the Act, specifically if it arose out of or in the course of her employment. The competing medical opinions presented by both parties further complicated the issue, requiring the court to weigh the evidence carefully.

The Tribunal found that the decision under review was incorrect. It concluded that the applicant's injury was caused by or in the course of her employment, as required by the Act. The Tribunal considered the evidence, including the differing expert opinions, and applied the Briginshaw standard of proof, finding the applicant's case more probable on the balance of probabilities. The Tribunal set aside the original decision and substituted a new decision that the applicant's disc prolapse was an injury as defined in the Act, entitling her to compensation.

The Tribunal ordered that the decision under review be set aside and that a new decision be substituted, recognising the applicant's prolapse as an injury under the Act. This ruling granted the applicant the right to compensation as defined in section 14(1) of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is set aside and a decision substituted that the applicant’s prolapse of the disc at the L5/S1 level is an injury as defined in (c) of the definition of ‘injury’ contained in s 4 of the Safety Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 and she therefore qualifies to receive compensation under s 14(1).

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.