MacGregor and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2020] AATA 2122 (7 July 2020)
Division:GENERAL DIVISION
File Number(s): 2019/4260
Re:Alan MacGregor
APPLICANT
AndSecretary, Department of Social Services
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal:Brigadier A G Warner, Member
Date:7 July 2020
Place:Perth
The Tribunal affirms the decision under review to reject the Applicant’s claim for Disability Support Pension made on 8 March 2019.
.........................[sgd]...............................................
Brigadier A G Warner, Member
CATCHWORDS
SOCIAL SECURITY – disability support pension – whether Applicant’s impairments were fully diagnosed, fully treated and fully stabilised at the qualification period – qualification period – conduct of Job Capacity Assessments – whether Applicant’s impairments attract 20 points under the Impairment Tables – whether Applicant has a continuing inability to work – decision under review affirmed
LEGISLATION
Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) – ss 94(1)(a), 94(1)(b), 94(1)(c), 94(2)
Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (Cth) – Schedule 2
Social Security (Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2014Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for DisabilitySupport Pension) Determination 2011 – Table 2, Table 4
CASES
Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634
Wilson and Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations [2006] AATA 638
SECONDARY MATERIALS
Sutherland, P & Anforth, A, Social Security and Family Assistance Law. 3rd ed, Sydney, 2013, The Federation Press
Guide to Social Security Law, Department of Social Services, version 1.239
REASONS FOR DECISION
Brigadier A G Warner, Member
7 July 2020
INTRODUCTION
The decision under review is a decision of the Social Services & Child Support Division of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT1), made on 20 June 2019, that affirmed the decision of an authorised review officer (ARO) of the Department of Human Services
(the Department) to reject Mr MacGregor’s claim for disability support pension (DSP) lodged on 10 September 2018.
Mr MacGregor attended the hearing, was self-represented and gave evidence on affirmation.
Ms L Hinwood represented the Respondent and participated by telephone conference.
BACKGROUND
Mr MacGregor was born in 1962. He injured his right shoulder in 2009 whilst working as a geophysics field assistant and subsequently had on operation on his shoulder. In 2010,
Mr MacGregor was involved in a motor vehicle accident which was followed by further surgeries. He later engaged in less manual work and worked in a motel until August 2018 (T2/9). Mr MacGregor told the Tribunal that he ceased that employment because of a dispute over wages.
On 10 September 2018, Mr MacGregor lodged a claim for DSP (T35/219-250).
Mr MacGregor listed his medical conditions as: “Struggle to lift both arms above shoulder height. Stiff, sore + painful neck. Stiff, sore + painful thoracic spine. Stiff, sore + painful lumbar pain in hips. Torn hamstring. Sore right elbow” (T35/245).
On 30 November 2018, Mr MacGregor underwent a Job Capacity Assessment (JCA) and a report was provided on 5 December 2018. The…
Continue reading MacGregor and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Soci...
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- MacGregor and Secretary, Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2020] AATA 2122
- Case
- [2020] AATA 2122
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The primary legal issues before the Tribunal were whether Mr MacGregor’s impairments were fully diagnosed, fully treated, and fully stabilised (FDTS) during the qualification period, and whether these impairments attracted a total rating of 20 or more points under the Impairment Tables. Additionally, the Tribunal had to consider whether Mr MacGregor had a continuing inability to work (CITW). The qualification period for assessing his claim was from 10 September 2018 to 10 December 2018.
The Tribunal reasoned that for a condition to be considered permanent for DSP purposes, it must be fully diagnosed by a qualified medical practitioner, fully treated and stabilised, and likely to last more than two years. Applying this to Mr MacGregor's circumstances, the Tribunal found that while his upper limb and spinal conditions were considered FDTS and attracted ratings of five and ten points respectively, his hip pain was not fully treated and stabilised. Consequently, his total impairment rating did not reach the required threshold of 20 points. Furthermore, the Tribunal found that Mr MacGregor did not satisfy the CITW criteria.
Based on these findings, the Tribunal concluded that Mr MacGregor was not qualified for a DSP during the relevant qualification period. Therefore, the decision to reject his claim was affirmed.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
The legislation applicable to this matter is contained in:a) the Act;b) the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (the Administration Act);c) the Impairment Tables; andd) the Social Security (Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2014 (the POS Determination). The relevant policy is contained in the Guide to Social Security (the Guide). To ensure consistency in decision making, the Tribunal relevant policy should follow the relevant policy in the Guide unless there are cogent reasons for departing from its application (Re Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No. 2) (1979) 2 ALD 634). The relevant statutory and policy provisions are laid out comprehensively in the Secretary’s Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions dated 17 December 2019 (R1, paras 23-31). The qualification criteria for DSP can be summarised as follows:a)Section 94 of the Act sets out the first requirement for qualification for DSP, and that is that a person had an impairment at the time they lodged their claim. The Respondent accepts (Exhibit R1, paras 32, 37), and the Tribunal is satisfied, that Mr MacGregor meets this requirement as the evidence is that he had medical conditions when he lodged his DSP claim.b)The second requirement for DSP is also in s 94 of the Act and provides that a person’s impairment must rate 20 or more points against the Impairment Tables at the relevant time. To apply the Impairment Tables, the condition or impairment must be considered permanent. In the Impairment Tables, the word ‘permanent’ does not have its usual meaning. For DSP purposes, for a condition to be permanent it must have been fully diagnosed by an appropriately qualified medical practitioner, have been fully treated and stabilised, and is more likely than not to last for more than two years (s 6(4) of the Impairment Tables).c)There is also a requirement that an applicant for DSP must have a CITW. For DSP eligibility, both the minimum qualification threshold of 20 points and the CITW criteria must be met and they are of equal importance.EVIDENCE The Tribunal had before it the following evidence:a)The ‘T-Documents’ (T1-T49, pp 1-344);b)The Applicant’s Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions dated 10 June 2019(Exhibit A1);c)Centrelink Mutual Obligation letter dated 15 October 2919 (Exhibit A2);d)A bundle of documents received 14 October 2019, including a medical note from Dr Andrew Taylor, letter from Dr Alison Kearsley, and booklet ‘STEPS Self-Training Educative Pain Sessions’ (Exhibit A3);e)Medical Reporting Spreadsheet for June 2010, received 13 October 2019 (Exhibit A4);f)The Secretary’s Statement of Issues, Facts and Contentions dated 17 December 2019 (Exhibit R1); andg)the oral evidence of the Applicant.CONSIDERATIONQualification Period Mr MacGregor’s claim for DSP must be assessed on his medical conditions as at the date of claim or within 13 weeks of that time, and that period is referred to as the qualification period. In the present case that means the qualification period is 10 September 2018 until 10 December 2018.