[2012] AATA 514
Division GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION File Number(s)
2011/2123
Re
Lynette Briggs
APPLICANT
And
Comcare
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal Miss E A Shanahan, Member
Date 6 August 2012 Place Melbourne The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and substitutes its decision that the Respondent is liable under section 14 and section 16 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 to pay compensation to Mrs Briggs in respect of the injury to her lumbar spine.
.............[sgd]……….........................
Miss E A Shanahan, Member
CATCHWORDS
Workers Compensation – employment related injury – aggravation of degenerative spondylosis and spondylolisthesis necessitating surgical intervention – contribution to a significant degree – delay in giving section 53 notice – prejudice to the Respondent – decision set aside.
LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, sections 5A, 5B, 7, 14, 16 and 19
CASES
Banks v Comcare (1996) FCA 1490
Frosch v Comcare (2004) FCA 1642
Re Farnaby and Military, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission [2008] AATA 603
Re Fuad and Telstra Corporation Limited [2004] AATA 1182
Re Holmes and Comcare [2001] AATA 290
Re McCarthy and Comcare [2002] AATA 5
Re Scutts and Department of Defence [1998] AATA 13085
Re Smith and Comcare [2011] AATA 662
Re Tierney and Reserve Bank of Australia (1988) 15 ALD 534
Tralongo and MRCC [2004] AATA 1242Re Vo and Comcare [2005] AATA 773
REASONS FOR DECISION
Miss E A Shanahan, Member
6 August 2012
On 23 December 2010 Mrs Briggs lodged a claim for compensation with her employer, Australian Aboriginal Hostels Limited (AAH Limited), for an injury to her back. She sustained the injury while working at the William T Onus Hostel between 31 March 2008 and 2 April 2008. Mrs Briggs underwent spinal surgery in the form of L4/5 posterior interbody fusion for L4/5 spondylolisthesis on 3 February 2010 at St Vincent’s Hospital in Melbourne. On 8 April 2011 a delegate of Comcare, the Respondent, disallowed the claim for compensation. On 25 May 2011 a review officer affirmed the delegate’s decision. Mrs Briggs lodged an application for review with this Tribunal on 31 May 2011.
Mrs Briggs was represented at the hearing by Mr Mark Carey of counsel, instructed by Hounslow and Associates solicitors. The Respondent was represented by Ms Cathy Dowsett of counsel, instructed by Thomsons Lawyers solicitors. The Tribunal had before it the documents filed by the Respondent in accordance with s 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (the T-documents). The parties tendered further documents in the course of the hearing (Exhibits R2 to R14 for the Respondent and Exhibits A1 to A4 for the Applicant). Mrs Briggs, Dr Sybil Borthwick, Mr Gerald Moran, Dr Alethea Dwyer and Mr Clive Jones gave oral evidence.
BACKGROUND TO THE APPLICATION
Mrs Briggs started work with AAH Limited on 25 October 2007 as a casual worker. On 8 November 2007 AAH Limited employed Mrs Briggs on non‑ongoing, two-month contracts. Her duties included planning menus, food delivery, preparation of rooms and changing, washing and stock control of all…
Continue reading Lynette Briggs and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Lynette Briggs and Comcare [2012] AATA 514
- Case
- [2012] AATA 514
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The court found that Mrs Briggs' employment had indeed contributed significantly to the aggravation of her pre-existing condition. However, the court also determined that the delay in giving notice prejudiced Comcare. The medical evidence presented was insufficient to establish a causal link between the workplace incident and Mrs Briggs' symptoms, as the medical records were poor and lacked continuity of care. The court held that the delay in giving notice was not due to ignorance, a mistake, or any other reasonable cause, and thus, Comcare was not liable for compensation.
The Tribunal set aside the decision that Comcare was liable to pay compensation. This outcome was based on the significant delay in giving notice, which prejudiced Comcare, and the lack of sufficient medical evidence to establish a causal link between the workplace incident and Mrs Briggs' symptoms. The Tribunal's decision underscores the importance of timely notice and the quality of medical records in establishing a compensable claim.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Mr Carey also pointed out that Mr Jones, in forming his opinion, had placed no reliance on the time of onset of the symptoms of sciatica. TRIBUNAL’S DELIBERATIONS AND DECISION There is no dispute as to Mrs Briggs’s diagnosis: degenerative anterolisthesis of L4 on L5 producing mild to moderate spinal canal stenosis, degenerative disc changes at L1-2, L3-4, L4-5 and L5/S1, facet joint degenerative changes and compression of the right L5 nerve root. The parties accept that the injury suffered by Mrs Briggs in the course of her employment at William T Onus Hostel between 31 March 2008 and 2 April 2008 rendered her pre-existing ailment symptomatic. The issues for determination by the Tribunal are:·was the contribution by Mrs Briggs’ employment to the aggravation of a pre-existing degenerative spinal disease of a significant degree and if so;·is the Respondent liable to pay compensation in accordance with s 14(1) of the Act and by extension s 16 and s 19; ·is any such liability negated by the requirements of s 53 to give notice as soon as practicable (s 53(1)(a));·was the delay in giving notice prejudicial to the Respondent (should this notice be considered sufficient); and ·did the delay result from ignorance, a mistake or any other reasonable cause and be thereby considered sufficient.A SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTION Mrs Briggs acknowledged her history of episodic back pain commencing in 1983. She acknowledged that she had not apprised the doctors she had seen of all of these episodes because they had only lasted for a few days and had been responsive to rest and simple analgesia. Mrs Briggs has given a clear history of the events of 31 March to 2 April 2008 and her resulting symptomatology, which shall not be repeated here. She admits that she did not notify her employer of these events or her symptoms. She did not seek medical attention until 10 April 2008, when her pain became more severe and unresponsive to rest and Panadeine Forte. It is unfortunate in terms of reaching a decision in this matter (and from the viewpoint of Mrs Briggs’s medical management) that throughout the relevant period Mrs Briggs has attended two medical clinics and has been seen by different doctors, with little continuity of care. The medical records of both clinics are poor and the notes are brief. These defects in the note-keeping have been acknowledged by the representatives of both clinics. Mrs Briggs was physically examined at Doctors of Northcote on 10 April 2008. The findings on examination are limited to the lumbar spine. The entry no sciatica could mean no symptoms of radiation or no signs of nerve compression. Her back was not examined again until 12 November 2008. In the interim, the only physical examination of Mrs Briggs was of her mouth. There are no entries in the VAHSC clinical record of Mrs Briggs undergoing physical examination of her back or a neurological examination of her lower limbs. In the letter of referral to the St Vincent’s Hospital neurosurgical clinic dated 24 November 2008, Dr Dwyer stated Absent reflexes on R. However, the clinical notes of that day merely say + ve neurology. Dr Dwyer’s letter of 7 April 2011 refers to Mrs Briggs attending the clinic and complaining of back pain on 10 April 2008 and on 31 August 2008. The letter states that on 31 August 2008 Mrs Briggs had positive SLR [straight leg raising] at 75-80 degrees [side not stated]. The letter of 4 April 2011 states that markedly reduced lower limb reflexes [side unstated] were demonstrated on physical examination on 3 November 2008. The three-word entry in the notes of that date does not record any examination findings other than bilateral sciatica found. [Tribunal note: sciatica is a symptom not a physical sign].