Kay and Comcare

Case [2006] AATA 50


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2006] AATA 50

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2004/734, Q2004/735

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)

Re AMANDA KAY

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr RG Kenny, Member

Date25 January 2006

PlaceBrisbane

Decision

The Tribunal:

1. Sets aside the decision under review and substitutes its decision that the respondent is liable to pay compensation to the applicant for adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depression under section 14 of the Act and for permanent impairment under section 24 of the Act;
2. Remits the matter to the respondent with the direction to calculate the applicant’s entitlements in accordance with its decision; and
3. Orders that the respondent pay the applicant’s costs of these proceedings in accordance with the general practice direction.

....................[Sgd]..........................

RG Kenny
  Member

CATCHWORDS

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION – benefits and entitlements – adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depression – condition attributable to employment with the Australian Antarctic Division at Mawson Station – applicant continuing to suffer permanent impairment from the condition – compensation payable for permanent impairment at 10% under table 5.1 of the Guide to the Degree of Permanent Impairment – calculation of compensation remitted to respondent – costs awarded in accordance with general practice direction.

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4, 14, 16, 19, 24 and 28

Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 s 37

Australian Postal Corporation v Oudyn (2003) FCA 318
Rosillo v Telstra Corporation Limited (2003) FCA 1628
Hart v Comcare [2005] FCAFC 16
Rodriguez and Telstra Corporation Ltd. (2002) FCA 1400
Wiegand v Comcare (2002) 72 ALD 795
Filla v Comcare (2001) 115 FCR 144
Comcare v Emery (1993) 32 ALD 147

REASONS FOR DECISION

25 January 2006 Mr RG Kenny, Member      

1.      Amanda Kay was employed by the Australian Antarctic Division from 9 September 1996 until 23 January 1998.  After a period of training in Tasmania, she spent the winter of 1997 at Mawson Station in Antarctica.  She returned to Australia on 11 November 1997 and, on the following day, completed a claim for rehabilitation and compensation, in accordance with the terms of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act).  Her claim was in respect of a condition which she described as “depressive reaction with personality and behavioural problems”. 

2.      On 15 January 1998, Comcare Australia (the respondent) accepted liability for an “episode of major mood disorder” and determined that liability for the condition was to cease from 23 January 1998, the date on which Ms Kay’s employment by the Australian Antarctic Division was to end.  On 17 July 2003, Ms Kay completed a claim for compensation for permanent injury.  On 29 August 2003, this claim was rejected by the respondent but it was noted that Ms Kay had sought reconsideration of the original decision to cease liability from 23 January 1998.  On 17 December 2003, the respondent affirmed the decisions to cease liability from 23 January 1998 and to deny the claim for permanent impairment.

3.…

Continue reading Kay and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Kay and Comcare [2006] AATA 50
Case
[2006] AATA 50
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Kay, sought compensation from Comcare for an adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depression, which she alleged was attributable to her employment with the Australian Antarctic Division at Mawson Station. The dispute was heard and determined by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal. The primary legal issues the Tribunal had to address were whether the applicant's condition was attributable to her employment and, if so, what compensation was payable under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

The Tribunal reviewed the evidence and found that the applicant's condition was indeed attributable to her employment, satisfying the criteria under section 14 of the Act. The applicant also suffered from permanent impairment due to the condition, which was assessed at 10% under table 5.1 of the Guide to the Degree of Permanent Impairment. The Tribunal considered relevant case law, including Australian Postal Corporation v Oudyn and Hart v Comcare, to determine the appropriate compensation. It was held that the respondent was liable for the compensation as claimed. The Tribunal set aside the original decision and directed the respondent to calculate the applicant's entitlements in line with its decision. Additionally, the Tribunal ordered the respondent to pay the applicant's costs in accordance with the general practice direction.

The outcome of the decision was that the Tribunal found in favour of the applicant, Kay, and mandated Comcare to compensate her for her employment-related condition and resulting permanent impairment. The case was remitted to Comcare for the calculation of the specific compensation amounts due to the applicant. The Tribunal also awarded costs to the applicant, ensuring that Comcare would bear the expenses of the proceedings.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal:

1. Sets aside the decision under review and substitutes its decision that the respondent is liable to pay compensation to the applicant for adjustment disorder with mixed anxiety and depression under section 14 of the Act and for permanent impairment under section 24 of the Act;

2. Remits the matter to the respondent with the direction to calculate the applicant’s entitlements in accordance with its decision; and

3. Orders that the respondent pay the applicant’s costs of these proceedings in accordance with the general practice direction.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.