Kavanagh and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS)

Case [2025] ARTA 1800


Kavanagh and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1800 (13 May 2025)

Applicant/s:  Ms Kerry Kavanagh

Respondent:  National Disability Insurance Agency

Tribunal Number:                2023/2795

Tribunal:General Member Gooch  

Place:  Adelaide 

Date:13 May 2025  

Decision:  

The Tribunal affirms the decision under review pursuant to subsection 105(a) of the Administrative Review Act 2024.

Statement made on 13 May 2025 at 3:21pm

General Member Gooch

Catchwords

National Disability Insurance Scheme – reviewable decision of Chief Executive Officer – becoming a participant – access request – whether applicant meets the access criteria – whether applicant meets the disability requirement – whether applicant has impairments which are, or likely to be permanent – whether impairment or impairments result in substantially reduced functional capacity – requirements not satisfied – reviewable decision affirmed

Legislation

Administrative Review Tribunal (Consequential and Transitional Provisions No. 1) Act 2024 (Cth) Schedule 16, item 24.

National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cth), ss 3, 4, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 209

National Disability Insurance Scheme Amendment (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) Act 2024 Items 14, 126 and 138 of Schedule 1

National Disability Insurance Scheme (Becoming a Participant) Rules 2013 (Cth);  rr 5.1, 5.4, 5.8, 6.8, 6.9

National Disability Insurance Scheme (Getting the NDIS Back on Track No. 1) (NDIS Supports) Transitional Rules 2024 Schedules 1 and 2

Cases

Drake and Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (No. 2) 1979 2 ALD 634

Foster and National Disability Insurance Agency [2025] ARTA

Garcia Albiol and National Disability Insurance Agency [2024] AATA 496

Madelaine and National Disability Insurance Agency [2020] AATA 4025

Mulligan and National Disability Insurance Agency [2015] FCA 544

National Disability Insurance Agency v Davis [2022] FCA 1002

National Disability Insurance Agency v Foster (2023) 295 FCR 521

Rooney and National Disability Insurance Agency [2021] AATA 3523

Secondary Materials

Disability Care and Support – Productivity Commission Inquiry Report Overview and Recommendations No. 54 31 July 2011

National Disability Insurance Agency Guidelines, Applying to the NDIS – Pre-Legislation Changes, 14 October 2024

National Disability Insurance Agency Assistive Technology (equipment, technology and devices) 20 December 2023

Reasons for Decision

1.Ms Kerry Kavanagh requested the Tribunal review a decision by the National Disability Insurance Agency (‘the Agency’) to reject her application to join the National Disability Insurance Scheme. (‘the Scheme’).

2.Ms Kavanagh is a 63-year-old woman, living in her own home in Werribee.

3.Ms Kavanagh sought access to the NDIS on the basis of impairments arising from depression, osteoarthritis, lumbar spine injury, cervical spine injury, bilateral Achilles tendinopathies and osteoporosis.[1]

[1] Statement of Facts, Issues and Contentions dated 7 March 2025 (SFIC) – Exhibit 2 at [1]

4.It appears that access applications had been made at an earlier stage, but the decision relevant to this application involved an original decision made on 11 December 2022 which refused Ms Kavanagh’s access request.

5.On 27 February 2023 Ms Kavanagh requested an internal review of this decision.

6.On 30 March 2023 the original…

Continue reading Kavanagh and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS)

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Kavanagh and National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) [2025] ARTA 1800
Case
[2025] ARTA 1800
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Kavanagh and the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIS) involved an applicant seeking to become a participant in the NDIS. The dispute centred around the applicant's eligibility, specifically whether they satisfied the access criteria, including the disability requirement. This requirement mandates that the applicant have impairments which are, or are likely to be permanent, and which result in substantially reduced functional capacity. The matter was heard in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia.

The primary legal issues for the Tribunal to decide were whether the applicant met the specified criteria under the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act. The Tribunal needed to assess the evidence presented regarding the permanence and severity of the applicant's impairments, and whether these impairments led to substantially reduced functional capacity. The Tribunal's role was to review the decision of the Chief Executive Officer, who had previously determined that the applicant did not meet the access criteria.

After reviewing the evidence and submissions from both parties, the Tribunal found that the requirements for access to the NDIS had not been met. The Tribunal concluded that the applicant's impairments were not of a permanent nature, nor did they result in substantially reduced functional capacity. Consequently, the Tribunal affirmed the decision of the Chief Executive Officer. The Tribunal's reasoning was based on the statutory criteria and the evidence provided, which did not sufficiently demonstrate that the applicant met the necessary conditions for NDIS participation.

In light of the Tribunal's findings, the application for access to the NDIS was dismissed. The Tribunal's decision was that the reviewable decision of the Chief Executive Officer, which denied the applicant's access to the scheme, was correctly made and should be affirmed. This outcome was based on the applicant not meeting the specified access criteria under the NDIS legislation.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.