DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 927
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No N2000/1793
GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION )
Re DAVID HOUGHTON
Applicant
And COMCARE
Respondent
DECISION
Tribunal Dr J D Campbell, Member
Date15 October 2002
PlaceSydney
Decision The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and in substitution thereof determines that liability be accepted for hearing loss in the right ear and that the matter be remitted to the Respondent for assessment of the Applicant's compensation entitlements.
[SGD] Dr J D Campbell Member
CATCHWORDS
Workers' Compensation - Military Compensation Scheme - Acoustic nerve neuroma - surgical treatment - loss of hearing in treated ear – whether hearing loss an unintended consequence of the medical treatment
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 - sections 4, 6A
Acts Interpretation Act 1901 - section 15 AA
Military Compensation Bill 1993 – Explanatory Memorandum
Theile v Commonwealth of Australia (1990) 22 FCR 342
Oswald v Bailey (1987) 11 NSWLR 715
Re Eaton and Comcare (2002) 64 ALD 182
Vallance v R (1961) 108 CLR 56
Australian Paper Manufacturers Ltd v American International Underwriters (Australia) Pty Ltd [1994] 1 VR 685
REASONS FOR DECISION
15 October 2002 Dr J D Campbell, Member
In this matter, Mr David Houghton ("the Applicant") seeks a review of the decision of the Reconsideration Officer of the Military Compensation and Rehabilitation Service ("the Respondent") dated 17 August 2000. The decision of 17 August 2000 affirmed an earlier decision of an authorised delegate, dated 5 July 2000, that liability was not accepted for the hearing loss in the right ear on the basis that it was not an unintended consequence of an operation undertaken on 8 March 1999.
A hearing was held in Sydney on 8 August 2002 at which the Applicant was represented by Mr P Strain of Counsel. The Respondent was represented by Ms E Ford of Counsel. There was no oral evidence in this matter, with there being no disagreement between the parties on the facts, which were included in material placed before the Tribunal.
The following material was placed into evidence before the Tribunal:
Exhibit Description Date
TD1 Documents lodged under section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 being T1-T17, pp 1-89
A1 Applicant's Statement of Facts and Contentions 16 October 2001
A2 Report of Dr J Scoppa 7 August 2001
A3 Report of Dr J Scoppa 7 August 2001
A4 Report of Dr J Scoppa 22 October 2001
A5 Report of Dr M Redmond 1 February 1999
R1 Respondent's Statement of Facts and Contentions 6 August 2002
issue
The relevant issue in this matter is whether the Applicant's hearing loss in his right ear is an unintended consequence of the surgical removal of a right acoustic nerve neuroma on 8 March 1999.
legislationThe relevant legislation in this matter is the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ("the Act") and in particular sections 4 and 6A.
backgroundThe Applicant was born on 20 July 1965. In 1974 the Applicant is recorded…
Continue reading Houghton and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Houghton and Comcare [2002] AATA 927
- Case
- [2002] AATA 927
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The Court considered the statutory provisions of sections 4 and 6A of the Act, as well as the Explanatory Memorandum to the Military Compensation Bill 1993, which introduced section 6A. Section 6A of the Act provides that if an employee receives medical treatment paid for by the Commonwealth and, as an unintended consequence of that treatment, the person suffers an injury, the injury is deemed to have arisen out of or in the course of the employee's employment. The Court also referred to relevant case law, including Theile v Commonwealth of Australia, Oswald v Bailey, and Re Eaton and Comcare.
The Tribunal found that the Applicant's hearing loss in the right ear was a direct and intended consequence of the surgical procedure undertaken to remove the acoustic neuroma. The evidence indicated that while the surgical team aimed to preserve hearing, the probability of achieving this goal was poor, and hearing loss was a known risk of the surgery. The Tribunal concluded that the hearing loss in the right ear was not an unintended consequence of the medical treatment, as it was a foreseeable outcome of the surgical procedure, and therefore, it did not qualify as an injury under section 6A of the Act. Consequently, the Tribunal dismissed the Applicant's claim for compensation for the hearing loss in his right ear.
The final orders of the Court were that the Applicant's claim for compensation for the hearing loss in his right ear was dismissed, and no orders were made regarding the hearing loss in his left ear as it had already been compensated.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Finally, Counsel submitted that there is no evidence to support an argument that the Applicant's hearing loss is the result of an "accident" which occurred during surgery, while there is much evidence to suggest that the hearing loss was a probable consequence of a routine deliberate surgical procedure.consideration and findings In this matter as the facts are not in contention between the parties, the Tribunal makes the following finding of facts: The issue before the Tribunal is whether the hearing loss in the right ear was an unintended consequence of the surgery undertaken. The Tribunal notes section 6A of the Act, which states:"Section 6AInjury arising out of or in the course of employment - extended operation (1) This section applies to the following employees:(a)members of the Defence Force;(b)members of the Air Training Corps established under section 8 of the Air Force Act 1923;(c)members of the Australian Cadet Corps established under section 62 of the Defence Act 1903;(d)members of the Naval Reserve Cadets established under section 38 of the Naval Defence Act 1910;(e)persons declared by the Minister under subsection 5(6A).(2) If, at any time, whether before, on, or after, 1 December 1988:(a)an employee to whom this section applies received or receives medical treatment paid for by the Commonwealth; and(b)as an unintended consequence of that treatment the person suffered or suffers an injury;the injury to the employee is taken to have arisen out of, or in the course of, the person's employment, whether or not the person has remained an employee to whom this section applies.(3) Subsection (2) applies whether or not the original condition that was being treated was compensable under this Act." The Tribunal also notes the definition of injury contained within section 4 of the Act"injury means(a)a disease suffered by an employee; or(b)an injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee, being a physical or mental injury arising out of, or in the course of, the employee's employment; or(c)an aggravation of a physical or mental injury (other than a disease) suffered by an employee…" The Tribunal further notes the Explanatory Memorandum to the Military Compensation Bill, which resulted in the insertion of section 6A into the Act as a consequence of the Military Compensation Act 1994:"8. Clause 5, which inserts a new section 6A, covers members of the Defence Force, members of Cadet Corps and persons declared under the new subsection 5(6A) for any injury that arises from medical treatment provided at Commonwealth expense where that injury is an unintended consequence of the treatment. This entitlement applies regardless of whether there has been negligence and regardless of whether the original condition being treated was compensable." In addressing the purpose of section 6A of the Act, the Tribunal observes the following: The Tribunal observes that, while there may be some concerns raised by the section as to whether it is intended to cover only injury, there is little room for misunderstanding as to what the purpose of the section is, and its placement within the confines of the Act, which is one of beneficial purpose, provided an individual's circumstances in a particular matter permit the necessary sections of the Act to be employed.