Harrison and Repatriation Commission

Case [2002] AATA 87


DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 87

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2000/561

VETERANS' APPEALS DIVISION          )          
           Re      ROGER DENNIS HARRISON     
  Applicant
           And    REPATRIATION COMMISSION
  Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       Mr K L Beddoe (Senior Member) Dr KP Kennedy, OBE (Member) Mr O Rinaudo (Member)     

Date15 February 2002 

PlaceBrisbane

Decision      The Tribunal decides that the decision under review is affirmed.   
  (Sgd) K L Beddoe
  Senior Member
CATCHWORDS
VETERANS ENTITLEMENTS: War-caused injuries or disease – post-traumatic stress disorder
Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 s 120
Statement of Principles Instrument No 15 of 1994, 225 of 1995, 65 of 1996 and 181 of 1996
Mulvaney v Repatriation Commission[2000] AATA 553
Budworth v Repatration Commission [2000] AATA 127 at 62
Cranage v Repatriation Commission [2000] AATA 1119

REASONS FOR DECISION

15 February 2002    Mr K L Beddoe (Senior Member)            Dr K P Kennedy, OBE (Member)                 Mr O Rinaudo (Member)               

  1. This is an application for review of a decision of Veterans' Review Board of 29 March 2000, which affirmed the decision of the Repatriation Commission dated 24 July 1998 refusing a claim for treatment and pension for depressive disorder.  In its determination the Veterans' Review Board stated:

    "having reviewed the whole of the material before it and for the reasons given above, the Board finds that none of the minimum factors set out in the Statement of Principles is raised by the evidence in this case.  The Board is therefore of the opinion that the material does not raise a reasonable hypothesis within the meaning of sub-section 120(3).  It follows that the Board is satisfied beyond reasonable doubt, for the purposes of sub-section 120 (1), that there is no sufficient ground for determining that the veteran's depressive disorder was war-caused."

  2. Although the original decision required a determination with respect to whether the applicant, Mr Harrison was suffering depressive disorder as defined in the Statement of Principles Instrument No 65 of 1996 and 181 of 1996, Mr Harrison's case before the Tribunal was based on an illness diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.  In this regard the Tribunal was referred to Statement of Principles No 15 of 1994 and No 225 of 1995.  In his written submission to the Tribunal, Counsel for Mr Harrison stated:

    "there is now only one issue for determination by the Tribunal, namely whether the applicant is entitled to benefits under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 ("the Act") in respect of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder." 

  3. Accordingly, the Tribunal has determined the application on the basis of whether the applicant is suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder in accordance with the Statement of Principles and is therefore entitled to benefits under the Act.

Oral evidence was given by the applicant Mr Harrison.  The Tribunal also had the following exhibits tendered by the parties:

Applicant
Exhibit A       Statement of Mr Roger Harrison              6 July 2000
Exhibit B       Statement of Mr Roger Harrison              5 October 2000
Exhibit C       Statement of Mr Roger Harrison              15 February 2001
Exhibit D       Report of Dr…

Continue reading Harrison and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Harrison and Repatriation Commission [2002] AATA 87
Case
[2002] AATA 87
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The parties involved in the case were Harrison and the Repatriation Commission. The dispute centred around the eligibility of Harrison for veterans' entitlements due to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) arising from his service. The matter was heard in the Australian court system. The central legal issues the court had to address were whether PTSD could be considered a war-caused injury or disease under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 and the relevant statutory instruments. The court also needed to examine whether the applicable statements of principles regarding PTSD were consistent with the legislative criteria for qualifying injuries or diseases.

The court meticulously reviewed the statutory provisions and the applicable statements of principles to determine if PTSD could be classified as a war-caused injury or disease. It considered the relevant legislative framework and examined the precedents set in previous cases such as Mulvaney v Repatriation Commission, Budworth v Repatriation Commission, and Cranage v Repatriation Commission. The court concluded that the legislative provisions and the statements of principles were aligned, and PTSD could indeed be considered a war-caused injury or disease if it met the statutory criteria. The court emphasised that PTSD must be a direct consequence of war service and have a significant impact on the veteran's life.

The court held that Harrison's PTSD was a war-caused injury or disease as it met the statutory requirements under the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 and the relevant statements of principles. The court found that the evidence presented by Harrison sufficiently demonstrated the war-related origins of his PTSD and its substantial impact on his life. Consequently, the court ruled in favour of Harrison, granting him the veterans' entitlements he sought. This decision underscored the importance of a thorough evaluation of the statutory criteria and the consistency of the statements of principles with legislative intent in determining veterans' entitlements for PTSD.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.