Graves and Comcare

Case [2008] AATA 965


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 965

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No   N2006/1457

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)                   2007/0791
  2008/1047

Re LOUISE GRAVES

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Dr I Alexander, Member  

Date30 October 2008  

PlaceSydney

Decision

For the reasons given below the Tribunal decides that:

a)    The reviewable decision of 5 October 2006 is set aside.

b)    The reviewable decision of 6 March 2007 is varied so that Mrs Graves has suffered 10% Whole Person Impairment as a result of her work related injury of “Major Depressive Disorder with secondary co-morbid Alcohol Dependence” and is entitled to claim compensation pursuant to s 24 and s 27 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act).

c)    The reviewable decision of 7 March 2008 is set aside and in substitution it is decided that Mrs Graves continues to suffer the effects of her work related injuries namely:

(i)      injury to her right ear resulting in permanent tinnitus; and

(ii)     Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol  Dependence;

and is entitled to claim compensation under s 16 and s 19 of the Act.

d)    The decision on the matter of costs is reserved. The parties have 14 calendar days from the date of this decision to advise the Tribunal if they wish to put further argument on the matter of costs. If they do not, the Tribunal will make an order pursuant to s 67(8) of the Act that the respondent pay Mrs Graves’ costs.

...............[sgd]........................

Dr I Alexander
  Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Injury – Disease – Ailment – Tax Office Employee – Claim for injury to acoustic nerve right ear – Major Depressive Disorder – Liability accepted – Determination no longer suffers effects – Whether continues to suffer effects of injury or disease – Whether contributed to in a material degree by employment – Whether permanent impairment – Held injury to right ear with permanent tinnitus – Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol Dependence – Injury materially contributed to by employment – Continues to suffer effects – Psychiatric condition permanent impairment – Reviewable decisions set aside and varied – Costs reserved

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, ss 4, 14, 16, 19, 24, 27, 67

Canute v Comcare (2006) 226 CLR 535

Comcare v Sahu Khan (2007) 156 FCR 536

Wiegand v Comcare (2002) 72 ALD 795

Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment, Table 5.1, Table 7.1, Table 7.2, Table 13.1

REASONS FOR DECISION

30 October 2008  Dr I Alexander, Member

INTRODUCTION

1.      Mrs Graves seeks review of three decisions that arose from an incident that occurred in the course of her employment as a client service representative by the Australian Tax Office (“ATO”).

2.      On the 6 April 2004, while working at the ATO call centre in Parramatta, Mrs Graves experienced two loud high pitched noises through the headset on her right ear. As a result of this incident she claimed to have suffered immediate symptoms that included…

Continue reading Graves and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Graves and Comcare [2008] AATA 965
Case
[2008] AATA 965
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Mrs Graves sought judicial review of decisions made by Comcare, which rejected her claim for compensation for injuries suffered while working as a tax office employee. The main issues were whether Mrs Graves continued to suffer the effects of her injuries and whether her employment materially contributed to her injuries. The primary injury in question was an injury to her right ear, which resulted in permanent tinnitus. Additionally, Mrs Graves suffered from Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol Dependence. The court had to determine whether these conditions were related to her employment and if they were ongoing.

The legal issues involved interpreting the relevant sections of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, and applying case law such as Canute v Comcare and Comcare v Sahu Khan. The court had to assess whether Mrs Graves' injuries were work-related, continuing, and materially contributed by her employment. The assessment of permanent impairment also required reference to the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment. The court considered the evidence provided and applied the statutory provisions and legal precedents to the facts.

The court found that Mrs Graves' Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol Dependence was related to her employment and that she continued to suffer its effects. The court also found that her employment materially contributed to this condition, and it resulted in a 10% Whole Person Impairment. Additionally, the court determined that Mrs Graves continued to suffer the effects of her injury to her right ear, which included permanent tinnitus. Based on these findings, the court set aside the earlier Comcare decisions and substituted its own, entitling Mrs Graves to compensation for her ongoing injuries.

The court's decision set aside the prior Comcare decisions and varied them to recognise Mrs Graves' entitlement to compensation. It found that she suffered from ongoing effects of her work-related injuries, including Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol Dependence and injury to her right ear. The court ordered Comcare to pay Mrs Graves' costs unless the parties otherwise agreed within 14 days.

Orders

Orders of the court

For the reasons given below the Tribunal decides that:

a) The reviewable decision of 5 October 2006 is set aside.

b) The reviewable decision of 6 March 2007 is varied so that Mrs Graves has suffered 10% Whole Person Impairment as a result of her work related injury of “Major Depressive Disorder with secondary co-morbid Alcohol Dependence” and is entitled to claim compensation pursuant to s 24 and s 27 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (the Act).

c) The reviewable decision of 7 March 2008 is set aside and in substitution it is decided that Mrs Graves continues to suffer the effects of her work related injuries namely:

(i) injury to her right ear resulting in permanent tinnitus; and

(ii) Major Depressive Disorder with secondary Alcohol Dependence;

and is entitled to claim compensation under s 16 and s 19 of the Act.

d) The decision on the matter of costs is reserved. The parties have 14 calendar days from the date of this decision to advise the Tribunal if they wish to put further argument on the matter of costs. If they do not, the Tribunal will make an order pursuant to s 67(8) of the Act that the respondent pay Mrs Graves’ costs.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.