Administrative Appeals Tribunal
DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 170
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL )
) No W200600389
GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION ) Re ELIZABETH GILLETT Applicant
And
COMCARE
Respondent
DECISION
Tribunal Deputy President S D Hotop
Dr D Weerasooriya, MemberDate28 February 2008
PlacePerth
Decision The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and, in substitution therefor, decides that the respondent is liable to pay compensation to the applicant, in accordance with ss 24 and 27 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“SRC Act”), the amount of such compensation to be assessed on the basis of the degrees of permanent impairment and the non-economic loss scores set out in paragraph 112 of the Reasons for Decision of the Tribunal herein.
The parties have leave to file submissions in relation to the costs of these proceedings within 14 days of the date of this decision. In the event that no such submissions are filed within that period, the Tribunal orders, pursuant to s 67(8) of the SRC Act, that the costs of these proceedings incurred by the applicant be paid by the respondent.
...........[Sgd S D Hotop]..........
Deputy President
CATCHWORDS
COMPENSATION – Commonwealth employees – permanent impairment – applicant sustained injuries to arm and lumbar spine and contracted psychiatric condition – respondent accepted liability to pay compensation to applicant in respect of physical injuries and psychiatric condition – applicant’s physical injuries and psychiatric condition have resulted in permanent impairment – Tables 5.1, 9.1, 9.4, 9.5 and 9.6 in approved Guide – compensation for permanent impairment and non-economic loss payable to applicant – decision under review set aside
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), s 4(1), s 14(1), s 24 and s 27
Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment (1st ed), Table 5.1, Table 9.1, Table 9.4, Table 9.5, Table 9.6 and Table 14.1
Comcare v Fiedler (2001) 115 FCR 328
Comcare v Moon (2003) 75 ALD 160
Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford (2006) 151 FCR 253
REASONS FOR DECISION
28 February 2008 Deputy President S D Hotop Dr D Weerasooriya, Member Introduction
1. On 6 August 1998 Elizabeth Gillett (“the applicant”) made a claim for compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“SRC Act”) for an injury described as “broken left arm” and said to have occurred on 3 July 1998 when, in the course of her employment as a housing officer with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (“ATSIC”), she “tripped and fell down a half brick step on the front verandah” of a house in Kununurra, Western Australia.
2. On 20 September 1998 Comcare (“the respondent”) determined, in response to the applicant’s claim, that it was liable under the SRC Act to pay compensation to the applicant for injuries described as “fracture of shaft of radius & ulna, closed (Left)” and “radial collateral ligament strain (Left)” sustained on 3 July 1998.
3. The respondent subsequently determined that it was…
Continue reading Gillett and Comcare
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Gillett and Comcare [2008] AATA 170
- Case
- [2008] AATA 170
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The legal issues before the Court centred on the interpretation and application of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) and the Guide to the Assessment of the Degree of Permanent Impairment. Specifically, the Court needed to determine the appropriate tables and scores from the Guide to be applied to Mr. Gillett's injuries and psychiatric condition. The Court also had to consider relevant case law, including Comcare v Fiedler, Comcare v Moon, and Telstra Corporation Ltd v Hannaford, to ensure a consistent approach to compensation assessment.
The Court found that the decision under review did not correctly apply the Guide and the SRC Act in assessing the compensation payable to Mr. Gillett. The Court emphasised the importance of the correct application of the relevant tables in the Guide to determine the degree of permanent impairment. Additionally, the Court highlighted that the assessment of non-economic loss must be based on the severity of the injury and the impact on the individual's life. As a result, the Court set aside the decision under review and directed that the compensation be recalculated according to the appropriate tables in the Guide and the provisions of the SRC Act.
The Court ordered that Comcare pay the compensation to Mr. Gillett, as determined by the recalculated degrees of permanent impairment and non-economic loss scores. The Court also granted leave for the parties to file submissions regarding the costs of the proceedings. If no submissions were received within 14 days, the Court ordered that the costs incurred by Mr. Gillett be paid by Comcare, pursuant to section 67(8) of the SRC Act.
Orders
Orders of the court
The Tribunal sets aside the decision under review and, in substitution therefor, decides that the respondent is liable to pay compensation to the applicant, in accordance with ss 24 and 27 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) (“SRC Act”), the amount of such compensation to be assessed on the basis of the degrees of permanent impairment and the non-economic loss scores set out in paragraph 112 of the Reasons for Decision of the Tribunal herein.
The parties have leave to file submissions in relation to the costs of these proceedings within 14 days of the date of this decision. In the event that no such submissions are filed within that period, the Tribunal orders, pursuant to s 67(8) of the SRC Act, that the costs of these proceedings incurred by the applicant be paid by the respondent.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Full text does not contain this section.
Decision
Reasons for decision
Full text does not contain this section.
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
Full text does not contain this section.