Findlay and Comcare

Case [2008] AATA 808


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2008] AATA 808

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q 2005/746, Q 2005/747,

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

)         Q 2006/691, Q 2006/692 & 2007/3175  

Re SHERRILL FINDLAY

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal M J Carstairs, Senior Member
Assoc Prof J B Morley RFD, Member

Date11 September 2008

PlaceBrisbane (heard in Murwillumbah)

Decision

In each of applications Q2005/746, Q2005/747, Q2006/691, Q2006/692 and 2007/3175, the Tribunal affirms the reviewable decision.

......................[sgd]........................

SENIOR MEMBER

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – injury – neck condition – whether injury results in incapacity to work –Tribunal affirms reviewable decision

COMPENSATION – injury – assessment of degree of impairment – whether degree of impairment less than 10% – whether impairment permanent – Tribunal affirms reviewable decision

COMPENSATION – costs associate with medical treatment – cost of travel – distances travelled – whether necessary – Tribunal affirms reviewable decision

COMPENSATION – other claimed conditions – whether conditions are related to employment – Tribunal affirms reviewable decision

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth), ss 4, 16, 19, 24

Findlay and Comcare [2005] AATA 206
Lees v Comcare (1999) 56 ALD 84

REASONS FOR DECISION

11 September 2008 M J Carstairs, Senior Member
Assoc Prof J B Morley RFD, Member

1.      In these applications, Sherrill Findlay seeks review of decisions refusing a number of claims she has made upon Comcare with respect to different heads of compensation.  We must decide whether she is entitled to incapacity payments; to payments for permanent impairment; to payments for travel to medical appointments; and whether Comcare is liable to pay compensation for a range of other medical conditions which she says are related to her existing accepted medical conditions.

2.      Ms Findlay worked as a batch clerk for the Commonwealth Bank from about 1974 until she took retrenchment in 1993.  Comcare later accepted and paid compensation payments for the condition of bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome, having accepted that the condition was related to her duties at the Commonwealth Bank, including lifting heavy bags of coins and operating electronic adding machines.  Later medical evidence indicated that Ms Findlay had recovered from bilateral carpal tunnel condition.  Since leaving her employment, Ms Findlay has been diagnosed with a number of other medical conditions.

3.      Importantly, for the matters now before us, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal in an earlier decision (Findlay and Comcare [2005] AATA 206) had been called upon to determine Comcare’s liability for her neck condition. The Tribunal in that case decided that Ms Findlay’s neck condition, described by doctors as “degenerative C4/5 and C5/6 spondylosis”, was work related. One doctor in particular, Dr R Cooke, orthopaedic surgeon, thought that the condition did stem from Ms Findlay’s work at the bank. His view carried the day, despite finding little support in other medical opinion. A number of other doctors thought Ms Findlay’s were merely degenerative changes, consistent with aging.

4.      The respondent, while noting that the weight of the medical evidence even now suggests that any…

Continue reading Findlay and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Findlay and Comcare [2008] AATA 808
Case
[2008] AATA 808
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant in this case, represented by Mr Findlay, sought review of several decisions made by Comcare, the respondent, which had denied various compensation claims. The decisions were reviewed by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT), which had to determine whether the applicant was entitled to compensation for a neck condition that resulted in incapacity to work, the degree of impairment, costs associated with medical treatment, and other claimed conditions related to his employment. The primary legislation in question was the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth).

The primary legal issues before the Tribunal were whether the injury resulted in incapacity to work, whether the degree of impairment was less than 10%, whether the impairment was permanent, and whether the costs associated with medical treatment were necessary and related to the employment. The Tribunal also had to determine whether other claimed conditions were related to the employment.

In affirming the reviewable decisions, the Tribunal found that the evidence did not support a finding that the applicant had an incapacity to work due to the neck condition. The Tribunal also found that the degree of impairment was less than 10%, and that the impairment was not permanent. Regarding the costs associated with medical treatment, the Tribunal found that the distances travelled were not necessary and therefore not compensable. Finally, the Tribunal found that the other claimed conditions were not related to the employment.

The Tribunal affirmed the reviewable decisions in their entirety. The applicant was not entitled to compensation for the neck condition, the degree of impairment, costs associated with medical treatment, or other claimed conditions related to employment. The decision provides clarity on the requirements for compensation claims under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth).

Orders

Orders of the court

In each of applications Q2005/746, Q2005/747, Q2006/691, Q2006/692 and 2007/3175, the Tribunal affirms the reviewable decision.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.