Emery and Comcare

Case [2007] AATA 1695


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1695

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No Q2006/563

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re IAN EMERY

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Dr K S Levy RFD, Senior Member

Date24 August 2007

PlaceBrisbane

Decision

The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

...............[Sgd]...............................

Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – anxiety disorder and receipt of workers’ compensation benefits – retrenchment package and superannuation entitlements – lump sum with no pension payments – tax payable on superannuation component – application of s21 in terms of compensation of employees receiving lump sum benefits whether the “gross amount” of superannuation was calculated using correct application of formula in determining compensation – whether the “net amount” of superannuation should have been used instead – the formula in s21(3) is intended to use the “gross amount” – the decision under review is affirmed

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 – ss 8, 14, 19, 21(1), (3), 24, 30
Income Tax Assessment Act 1936
Acts Interpretation Act 1901 – ss 15AA, 15AB
Audit Act 1901

Emery and Comcare [2001] AATA 510
Emery and Comcare [2007] AATA 48
Archer v Comcare (2000) 101 FCR 30
Victims Compensation Fund Corporation v Brown [2003] HCA 54
Re Davina & Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefit Authority (1996) 43 ALD 761

Comcare Australia v Lees (1997) 151 ALR 647

Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian Broadcasting Authority (1998) 194 CLR 355
Palgo Holdings Pty Ltd v Gowans (2005) 221 CLR 249
Anderson v Commission of Taxes (Vict) (1937) 57 CLR 233

REASONS FOR DECISION

24 August 2007   Dr K S Levy RFD, Senior Member  

Introduction

1. The applicant, Ian Emery, has sought a review of the respondent’s decision to use the “gross amount” of superannuation received by him in determining his compensation in the formula set out in s 21 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (“the Act”).

2. The applicant has sought review of his entitlements for some time. He has previously sought review of entitlements under the formulae set out in sections 19 and 21 of the Act.[1] His current application emanates from an application dated 15 June 2006 which seeks five determinations – a review of the interpretation of s 21 of the Act, the application of the use of “gross amount” of a voluntary redundancy package in the application to the formula in s 21, and three other questions in relation to Comcare’s decision not to support an Act of Grace payment for him. The five determinations sought are comprehensive in that they particularise the applicant’s grievance (over 10 pages in length) and allude to various policy interpretations of the relevant legislative provisions and what the applicant regards as a fair outcome. Included in these claims is an Act of Grace payment totalling $134,284.00 (approximately) based on a claimed unfairness in the interpretation and application of these provisions.

[1] Emery and Comcare [2001] AATA 510

Issue

3.      The original application was subject to a preliminary determination…

Continue reading Emery and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Emery and Comcare [2007] AATA 1695
Case
[2007] AATA 1695
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case of Emery and Comcare involved an employee who was receiving workers’ compensation benefits for an anxiety disorder and was subsequently made redundant. The dispute centred on the calculation of superannuation entitlements and the tax implications arising from the redundancy package, which included a lump sum payment with no pension payments. The matter was heard and determined by the Administrative Appeals Tribunal. The primary legal issues the Tribunal had to address were whether the "gross amount" of superannuation was correctly calculated using the formula in section 21 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988, and whether the "net amount" of superannuation should have been used instead. The Tribunal was required to interpret the relevant statutory provisions and consider how these related to the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 and other relevant legislation.

The Tribunal found that the formula in section 21(3) of the Act was intended to use the "gross amount" of superannuation. It considered the legislative framework and relevant case law, including Victims Compensation Fund Corporation v Brown, Archer v Comcare, and Comcare Australia v Lees. The Tribunal concluded that the decision under review was correct in using the gross amount for the calculation. The Tribunal also examined the purpose of the relevant provisions and found that the correct approach was to use the gross amount, as this aligned with the legislative intent and the statutory framework. The Tribunal dismissed the applicant's argument that the net amount should be used instead.

The Tribunal's reasoning was grounded in the statutory text and the principles of statutory interpretation, ensuring that the decision was consistent with the legislative intent and the established legal principles. The Tribunal affirmed the decision under review, upholding the calculation method used by Comcare. This decision provided clarity on the interpretation of superannuation entitlements in the context of workers' compensation and redundancy packages. The final orders were to affirm the decision under review, meaning that Comcare's original calculation and approach were upheld.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.