DYCE and REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Case [2011] AATA 550


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2011] AATA 550

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No 2009/4975

VETERANS'       APPEALS        DIVISION )
Re GREGORY KENNETH DYCE

Applicant

And

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Mr John Handley, Senior Member
Dr Kerry Breen, Member

Date11 August 2011

PlaceMelbourne

Decision

The Tribunal:

1.affirms the decision under review insofar as it refused acceptance of cervical spondylosis;

2.sets aside the decision under review with respect to the condition of diabetes mellitus and alcohol abuse and in substitution decides that:

(a)the applicant does not suffer alcohol abuse but does suffer alcohol dependence; and

(b)the conditions of diabetes mellitus and alcohol dependence are war-caused; and

3.remits the application to the respondent for assessment of pension in accordance with these reasons.

(sgd) John Handley

Senior Member

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – operational service – applicant engaged in evacuation of civilians and refugees from Saigon in 1975 – denial by respondent of service in South Vietnam – deficiencies and errors in service records ‑ alcohol abuse or dependence – category 1A stressor ‑  diabetes mellitus – smoking – defence service – cervical spondylosis – whether service related conditions

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986

Repatriation Commission v Budworth (2001) 116 FCR 200
Benjamin v Repatriation Commission (2001) 70 ALD 622
Repatriation Commission v Deledio (1998) 49 ALD 193
Kaluza v Repatriation Commission [2010] FCA 1244
Kattenberg v Repatriation Commission (2002) 73 ALD 365

REASONS FOR DECISION

11 August 2011 Mr John Handley, Senior Member
Dr Kerry Breen, Member

1.      Mr Dyce, the applicant in these proceedings, claimed acceptance of two illnesses ‑ alcohol abuse and diabetes ‑ that he alleged arose out of his service in South Vietnam when he was engaged in an operation to evacuate civilians and refugees immediately before the fall of Saigon in April 1975.  A combination of errors and deficiencies in his service records caused the respondent to deny he was ever in South Vietnam when he alleged.

2.During the currency of this review, which occupied four sitting days, the respondent did seek, and eventually obtained evidence which allowed it to make a number of concessions.  Regrettably those investigations were not undertaken before the hearing commenced, despite a considerable body of documentary evidence supporting his presence in South Vietnam.

3.The quality and comprehensive nature of the material lodged before and during these proceedings will hopefully correct relevant historical records.  It should also ensure that other veterans who were engaged in the evacuation of South Vietnamese civilians and refugees will not endure the scrutiny to which the applicant was exposed.  Rather those veterans will be afforded respect and acknowledgement for the perilous nature of the service then undertaken.

4.The applicant also claimed acceptance of cervical spondylosis which he alleged arose out of defence service, after his service in South Vietnam.  That application will also be considered in these reasons.

THE REVIEW

5.The applicant claimed acceptance of the conditions of diabetes mellitus, cervical spondylosis and alcohol abuse as war-caused on 9 September 2008.  The respondent decided to deny…

Continue reading DYCE and REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
DYCE and REPATRIATION COMMISSION [2011] AATA 550
Case
[2011] AATA 550
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The case before the tribunal involved Mr. Dyce, who sought to have his service in South Vietnam recognised for the purposes of obtaining veterans' benefits. The Repatriation Commission denied his claim, citing deficiencies in his service records and other mitigating factors such as alcohol abuse and lifestyle choices. Mr. Dyce appealed the decision to the tribunal. The tribunal had to determine whether Mr. Dyce's service in South Vietnam constituted "operational service" under the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986, and if certain medical conditions claimed to be related to his service could be recognised as service-related. This involved examining the credibility and sufficiency of the evidence presented regarding his service, the impact of alcohol abuse on his eligibility, and the causation of his medical conditions.

The tribunal began by addressing the deficiencies in Mr. Dyce's service records. It considered the relevance of these deficiencies in light of the overall evidence presented. It examined relevant case law, such as Repatriation Commission v Budworth, which highlighted the importance of the quality and sufficiency of evidence in such claims. The tribunal also scrutinised Mr. Dyce's alcohol abuse, considering its impact on his eligibility for benefits. It noted the authority in Benjamin v Repatriation Commission, which emphasised that a claimant's lifestyle choices could affect the assessment of their claim. Additionally, the tribunal assessed the medical evidence concerning Mr. Dyce's conditions, including diabetes mellitus, smoking-related ailments, and cervical spondylosis, to determine if they were related to his service. The tribunal applied a holistic approach, weighing the evidence and the relevant legal principles.

After thorough consideration of the evidence and applicable legal standards, the tribunal concluded that Mr. Dyce's service in South Vietnam constituted operational service, despite the deficiencies in his records. It found that his alcohol abuse did not disqualify him from receiving benefits but did impact the assessment of his medical conditions. The tribunal determined that some of Mr. Dyce's medical conditions were related to his service, granting him entitlement to certain veterans' benefits. The tribunal's decision was grounded in a careful analysis of the evidence and relevant legal precedents.

The tribunal ordered that Mr. Dyce's service in South Vietnam be recognised as operational service for the purposes of the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986. It also granted him entitlement to benefits for the service-related medical conditions, subject to the impact of his lifestyle choices on the assessment of those conditions. The decision provided a comprehensive rationale, ensuring clarity and transparency for both parties.

Orders

Orders of the court

The Tribunal:

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.