Davies and Comcare

Case [2007] AATA 1829


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 1829

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No A 2005/150

GENERAL  ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION )
Re KERRY DAVIES

Applicant

And

COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       J.W. Constance, Senior Member

Dr M.D Miller AO, Member

Date3 October 2007

PlaceCanberra

Decision

1.      The reviewable decision made 24 June 2005, which affirmed a determination of 1 March 2005, is set aside.

2.      The matter is remitted to Comcare for reconsideration in accordance with the following directions:

1)     during the whole of the period from 3 December 2001 to 19 April 2006 inclusive, Ms Davies was incapacitated for work as a teacher as a result of the injury, being anxiety and depression, ongoing liability for which was accepted by Comcare on 18 July 1997;

2) the offer of employment in the Department of Defence made to Ms Davies by letter of 27 July 1999 was not an offer of suitable employment within the meaning of section 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988;

3) during the period 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006, any employment requiring Ms Davies to work in the Commonwealth, State or Territory Public Services was not suitable employment within section 19 of the Act;

4)     during the period 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006 inclusive, the self employment of Ms Davies in the business known as Bali Gardens was suitable employment within the meaning of section 19 of the Act; and

5)     during the period 3 December 2001 to 30 June 2004  inclusive, the amount which Ms Davies was able to earn in employment in the business was nil.

....................................................

J.W. Constance, Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Commonwealth employees – Anxiety and depression- Incapacity – Suitable employment – Failure to accept offer of employment - Whether offer of employment suitable under section 19

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 4, 19

Re Ferreira and Comcare (1995) AATA 10281

Moon v Telstra Corporation [2006] AATA 996

Re Prica and Comcare (1966) 44 ALD 45 at 51

Re West and Comcare (1994) AATA 9320

Smith v Comcare [2002] AATA 249

REASONS FOR DECISION

J.W. Constance, Senior Member

Dr M.D. Miller AO, Member

3 October 2007

INTRODUCTION

  1. In 1998 Ms Davies was injured whilst working as a teacher employed by the Australian Capital Territory.  In September 1999 Ms Davies accepted an offer of voluntary redundancy.  At the time she was not working as a result of the injury she had suffered.  Following the redundancy Comcare ceased to compensate Ms Davies in respect of her incapacity, although she continued to receive compensation for treatment expenses.

  2. In 2001 Ms Davies sought a resumption of compensation payments for incapacity.  Ultimately this request was refused by Comcare on the ground that she was not incapacitated for work as a result of the injury.  It was therefore unnecessary to determine the amount to which Ms Davies would have been entitled had she been partially incapacitated.

  3. Ms Davies is seeking a review of this…

Continue reading Davies and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Davies and Comcare [2007] AATA 1829
Case
[2007] AATA 1829
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

In the case of Davies and Comcare, the primary dispute centred on whether Ms Davies, a Commonwealth employee who had suffered from anxiety and depression, was incapacitated for work and thus entitled to compensation. The matter was heard in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia (AAT). The legal issues before the AAT were whether Ms Davies was incapacitated for work during specified periods and whether the offers of employment made to her were suitable under section 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988.

The AAT found that Ms Davies was indeed incapacitated for work from 3 December 2001 to 19 April 2006 due to her ongoing anxiety and depression. Additionally, the tribunal held that the offer of employment in the Department of Defence made to Ms Davies on 27 July 1999 did not qualify as suitable employment under section 19 of the Act. The tribunal reasoned that any employment requiring Ms Davies to work in the Commonwealth, State, or Territory Public Services was unsuitable from 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006. However, the tribunal found that Ms Davies's self-employment in the business known as Bali Gardens during the period from 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006 was suitable employment. The tribunal also determined that from 3 December 2001 to 30 June 2004, Ms Davies was unable to earn any income from her self-employment.

In light of these findings, the AAT set aside the reviewable decision made on 24 June 2005 and remitted the matter to Comcare for reconsideration, providing specific directions as outlined in the orders.

Orders

Orders of the court

1. The reviewable decision made 24 June 2005, which affirmed a determination of 1 March 2005, is set aside.

2. The matter is remitted to Comcare for reconsideration in accordance with the following directions:

1) during the whole of the period from 3 December 2001 to 19 April 2006 inclusive, Ms Davies was incapacitated for work as a teacher as a result of the injury, being anxiety and depression, ongoing liability for which was accepted by Comcare on 18 July 1997;

2) the offer of employment in the Department of Defence made to Ms Davies by letter of 27 July 1999 was not an offer of suitable employment within the meaning of section 19 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988;

3) during the period 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006, any employment requiring Ms Davies to work in the Commonwealth, State or Territory Public Services was not suitable employment within section 19 of the Act;

4) during the period 28 September 1999 to 19 April 2006 inclusive, the self employment of Ms Davies in the business known as Bali Gardens was suitable employment within the meaning of section 19 of the Act; and

5) during the period 3 December 2001 to 30 June 2004 inclusive, the amount which Ms Davies was able to earn in employment in the business was nil.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.