Daaboul and Comcare

Case [2002] AATA 1208


DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2002] AATA 1208

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No N2000/1682

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE  DIVISION     )              N2001/573         
           Re      Jeanette Daaboul
  Applicant
           And    Comcare     
  Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal       Ms S M Bullock,   Senior Member Dr M E C Thorpe, Member         

Date22 November 2002

PlaceSydney

Decision      Pursuant to section 43 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975, the Administrative Appeals Tribunal ("the Tribunal") decides: 1. In relation to the reviewable decision dated 29 September 2000 (N2000/1682), the decision is set aside and in substitution therefor, the Tribunal decides that: (i) The Applicant suffers from an injury pursuant to section 4 of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ("the Act") in the form of a chronic pain disorder referrable to carpal tunnel syndrome and is entitled to compensation pursuant to section 14 of the Act on and from 16 February 1999. (ii) The Respondent is liable to pay for Ms Daaboul's reasonable medical treatment costs pursuant to section 16 of the Act on and from 16 February 1999, including, if medically indicated, participation in a pain management control treatment program. (iii) The Applicant has ongoing incapacity as a result of her workplace injuries and is entitled to incapacity payments pursuant to section 19 of the Act on and from 16 February 1999. 2. In relation to matter N2001/573, the reviewable decision of 20 April 2001 is affirmed, such that Mrs Daaboul is not entitled to compensation for permanent impairment pursuant to section 24 of the Act, nor is she entitled to compensation for non-economic loss pursuant to section 27 of the Act. 3. The Respondent is liable to pay Mrs Daaboul's reasonable legal costs as agreed or taxed in relation to matter N2000/1682.

..............................................
  Ms S M Bullock
  Presiding Member
CATCHWORDS
WORKERS COMPENSATION – carpal tunnel syndrome - chronic pain disorder – liability for compensation and medical treatment – permanent impairment

LEGISLATION
Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 ss 4, 14, 16, 19, 24, 27
AUTHORITIES
Comcare v Mooi (1996) 42 ALD 495
Re Budarick and Comcare [2000] AATA 673
Treloar v Australian Telecommunications Commission (1990) 26 FCR 316
Re Polder and Comcare [2001] AATA 780
Re Bianchi and Comcare [2001] AATA 805
Re Lewis and Comcare [2002] AATA 197
Re Fiedler and Comcare [2001] AATA 518
Re Pavic and Comcare (1996) 45 ALD 409
Comcare v Fielder (2001) 115 FCR 328
Tippett v Australian Postal Corporation (1998) 27 AAR 40
Re Toohey and Australian Postal Corporation (AAT 13360, 9 October 1998)

REASONS FOR DECISION

22 November 2002 Ms S M Bullock, Senior Member Dr M E C Thorpe, Member             

  1. This is an application for review to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal ("the Tribunal") by the Applicant, Mrs Jeanette Daaboul, of the reviewable decisions made on 29 September 2000 (T38, N2000/1682) and 20 April 2001 (T9, N2001/573).  The reviewable decision on 29 September 2000 affirmed a determination made on 26 March 1999 (T29, N2000/1682) that no compensation was payable to Mrs Daaboul under any section of the Safety, Rehabilitation…

Continue reading Daaboul and Comcare

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Daaboul and Comcare [2002] AATA 1208
Case
[2002] AATA 1208
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The applicant, Mrs Daaboul, sought a review of a decision made by Comcare, which declined to compensate her for a condition resulting from her employment. Mrs Daaboul was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome and a chronic pain disorder, for which she had received medical treatment. The dispute centred on whether her condition was caused by her employment duties or other factors, and if so, whether Comcare was liable for her compensation and ongoing medical treatment. The case was heard in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The central legal issues the Tribunal had to address were whether Mrs Daaboul's carpal tunnel syndrome and chronic pain disorder were caused by her employment duties, and if so, the extent of Comcare's liability for her compensation and medical treatment. This required an assessment of the medical evidence and the degree of permanent impairment, as well as a determination of the causation of her conditions. The Tribunal had to consider Dr Guirgis' opinion that Mrs Daaboul's work and repetitive duties were responsible for her carpal tunnel syndrome and the extent to which her employment contributed to her chronic pain disorder.

The Tribunal found that Mrs Daaboul's carpal tunnel syndrome was caused by her employment duties, which involved repetitive tasks that placed strain on her wrists and hands. Dr Guirgis' evidence was pivotal in establishing the link between her work and the onset of her condition. The Tribunal also acknowledged that her employment contributed to her chronic pain disorder, which was exacerbated by her work duties. Consequently, Comcare was held liable for her compensation and medical treatment. The Tribunal assessed her degree of whole body impairment based on the Comcare Guide, considering both the physical and psychological impacts of her conditions.

In conclusion, the Tribunal ordered Comcare to compensate Mrs Daaboul for her carpal tunnel syndrome and chronic pain disorder, recognising that her employment was a significant contributing factor. Comcare was also directed to provide ongoing medical treatment for her conditions. The Tribunal's decision underscored the importance of workplace conditions in the development of occupational injuries and the responsibility of employers to provide adequate compensation and support.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Mrs Daaboul continues to work on the program although longer hours. She has no specific treatment, takes no medication apart from "Panadol" for pain, and over the past six months would take approximately four tablets per week. Mrs Daaboul consults Dr Maniam, her treating Orthopaedic Surgeon, approximately every two or three months at which time he will examine her and also issue a medical certificate. Mrs Daaboul told the Tribunal that currently her left hand is becoming more painful because she uses her left hand more than the right. MEDICAL EVIDENCEDR M GUIRGIS, ORTHOPAEDIC SURGEON Dr Guirgis originally examined Mrs Daaboul on 20 April 1993 and provided a report dated 20 April 1999 (T30, N2000/1682). Dr Guirgis provided evidence by telephone. Dr Guirgis reported that Mrs Daaboul had started feeling twinges of pain in the region of her right thumb and hand in 1992. There is no reference in his report to Mrs Daaboul being on maternity leave at that time. Dr Guirgis' opinion was that the signs and diagnosis were consistent with repetitive work which caused chronic soft tissue injuries representing a cumulative traumatic stress disorder to the right arm, left wrist and neck which took the form of: Dr Guirgis maintained that Mrs Daaboul's work and repetitive duties were responsible for the onset of her carpal tunnel syndrome. In oral evidence to the Tribunal, in relation to the issue of maternity leave, Dr Guirgis considered that the hormonal disturbance which occurs during pregnancy "would make her more vulnerable to highlight the underlying chronic problem" (Transcript, 13 February 2002). No other explanation was provided. In relation to the left carpal tunnel syndrome, Dr Guirgis stated that he would not operate unless they were both objective and clinical signs indicating this. In relation to Dr Guirgis' reports of swelling in Mrs Daaboul's left and right forearm and wrist, he distinguished swelling from there being fat deposits in her arms and wrists. Dr Guirgis opined that fat deposition would not be localised to the front of the lower forearm and this is what he found with Mrs Daaboul. He found there was both swelling and tenderness. Dr Guirgis undertook the "two point discrimination test" in addition to his other examination and this provided symptoms of pain (Transcript, 13 February 2002). Dr Guirgis did not have the benefit of other tests such as X-rays and nerve conduction tests. Dr Guirgis was also not aware of Mrs Daaboul's increase in duties to 25 hours. Dr Guirgis stated "I think Mrs Daaboul's problem now is a chronic pain problem and whatever is there will be there everlasting". (Transcript, 13 February 2002). Dr Guirgis noted that Mrs Daaboul might become better in dealing with the pain she experiences and that she also would benefit from hydrotherapy, physiotherapy and swimming. In a further report of 20 April 1999 (T30, p54), Dr Guirgis estimated the following whole body impairment percentages according to the "Guide to the assessment of the degree of permanent impairment" ("the Comcare Guide"):

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.