[2014] AATA 516
Division GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION File Number
2014/1658
Re
Craig Austin
APPLICANT
And
Secretary, Department of Social Services
RESPONDENT
DECISION
Tribunal Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
Date 29 July 2014
Place Brisbane The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.
...........................Sgd.............................................
Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
CATCHWORDS
SOCIAL SECURITY – Pensions, benefits and allowances – Settlement of compensation claim – Lump-sum compensation payment includes component referable to lost earnings and capacity to earn – Imposition of preclusion period – Use of Guide to Social Security Law - Special circumstances not established for part of settlement to be treated as not having been received – Preclusion period not shortened – Decision under review affirmed
LEGISLATION
Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) ss 1170, 1184K
CASES
Angelakos v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (2007) 100 ALD 9
Brodley and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1991] AATA 669
Director-General of Social Services v Hales (1983) 47 ALR 281
Groth v Secretary, Department of Social Security (1995) 40 ALD 541
Lazarov and Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services [2004] AATA 743
Re Hajar and Secretary, Department of Social Security (1988) 16 ALD 716
Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Allan (2001) 66 ALD 147
Secretary, Department of Social Security v Smith (1991) 23 ALD 277
Winterbotham and Secretary, Department of Social Security [1990] AATA 808
SECONDARY MATERIALS
Guide to Social Security Law, Australian Government
REASONS FOR DECISION
Mr R G Kenny, Senior Member
29 July 2014
BACKGROUND
Craig Austin (“the applicant”) was injured in a motor vehicle accident on
10 December 2007. In settlement of the compensation claim associated with his injuries, he was awarded two lump sum payments which totalled $265,750. On 27 March 2012, Centrelink determined that, as a result of his lump sum payments, the applicant would be subject to a preclusion period from 22 March 2012 until 22 April 2015. The effect of the Centrelink decision was that the applicant was precluded from receiving forms of income support payments, including Newstart Allowance, under the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) (“the Act”) during the preclusion period. On 6 January 2014, the applicant applied for Newstart Allowance. His claim was rejected on the same day and that decision was affirmed by an authorised review officer on 21 January 2014 and, in turn, by the
Social Security Appeals Tribunal (“SSAT”) on 3 March 2014.
ISSUES AND LEGISLATION
The applicant did not dispute the imposition of the preclusion period or its duration. I am satisfied that this has been correctly calculated in accordance with s 1170 of the Act.
The applicant was concerned that there were special circumstances applying to his situation which required that some part of his settlement monies be disregarded so that the preclusion period would be shortened. That is the issue for determination. The relevant provision of the Act reads:
Section 1184K Secretary may disregard some payments
(1)For the purposes of this Part, the Secretary may treat the whole or part of…
Continue reading Craig Austin and Secretary, Department of Social Services
Sign in free to access the full text
- AGLC
- Craig Austin and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2014] AATA 516
- Case
- [2014] AATA 516
- Decision Date
CaseChat Overview and Summary
The AAT found that the applicant's circumstances, though difficult, did not present special circumstances warranting a deviation from the statutory preclusion period. The tribunal acknowledged the applicant's financial difficulties, including the imminent need to replenish his insulin supply, and his health issues, particularly his low back pain and sciatica. However, the tribunal concluded that these factors, while regrettable, did not uniquely distinguish the applicant's situation from the norm in a way that would justify an adjustment to the preclusion period. The tribunal emphasized the purpose of the preclusion period provisions, which is to prevent "double dipping" and to maintain a fair balance between the interests of the recipient and the community.
The tribunal's reasoning hinged on the absence of any distinguishing feature in the applicant's situation that would make it unfair or unjust to apply the preclusion period as set. The tribunal noted that the applicant had purchased a house with full knowledge of the implications of the preclusion period and that the value of the house approximated the amount of compensation received. Consequently, the tribunal affirmed the decision under review, maintaining the preclusion period as determined by the Department of Social Services.
Orders
Orders of the court
Full text does not contain this section.
Background
Background to the litigation
Full text does not contain this section.
Evidence
Evidence Before The Court
Decision
Reasons for decision
Ratio Decidendi
Legal Principle Established
For the respondent, Mr McQuinlan submitted that there were no special circumstances to justify making any adjustment to the preclusion period. He submitted that, based on the evidence concerning the value of the house, it was appropriate that the applicant sell it and that, by so doing, he would be in much the same position financially as he was when he received his compensation payment. He submitted that the current value of the house approximated the amount of compensation which he was paid. In particular, he submitted that the applicant purchased the house with full knowledge of the significance of the preclusion period. He submitted that it was not the intent of the Act to allow such an asset to be retained so that he could receive Centrelink benefits. He also submitted that the applicant should investigate further the selling of his car and noted that, even if it sold for $5,000, those monies would assist him with his immediate financial concerns. Mr McQuinlan submitted that the decision under review ought be affirmed.CONSIDERATION The purpose of the provisions relating to preclusion periods has been described as operating as a:fair balance of the interests of the recipient of the payment with the competing interests of others in the community whose needs must be met as far as possible from a finite budget allocation for social security measures.[2][2] Secretary, Department of Social Security v Smith (1991) 23 ALD 277 at 281-282. Similarly, they have been described as a safeguard against “double dipping” in that:People should not receive social security payments for loss of earnings where they have received compensation for that same loss of earnings from another source.[3][3] Secretary, Department of Family and Community Services v Allan (2001) 66 ALD 147 at 148. Those considerations must be kept in mind when determining, for the purposes of applying s 1184K(1) of the Act, whether or not special circumstances exist in a given case. The issue of special circumstances arises in various parts of the Act. In the context of other aspects of the Act, it was observed that what is required is: something to distinguish [the] case from others, to take it out of the usual or ordinary case… It would of course follow that if one were to conclude that something unfair, unintended or unjust had occurred that there must be some feature out of the ordinary.[4][4] Groth v Secretary, Department of Social Security (1995) 40 ALD 541 at 545. That observation is equally applicable to s 1184K(1) of the Act. Accordingly, there must be something about the applicant’s situation which makes it unfair, unusual or uncommon such that it distinguishes it from the ordinary or usual case.[5] I am satisfied that the applicant’s circumstances do not meet that description. [5] Angelakos v Secretary, Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (2007) 100 ALD 9 at 18. The breadth of discretion in s 1184K(1) of the Act is such as to accommodate health problems. The applicant experiences problems with low back pain and sciatica which would seem to be unrelated to the accident which led to his compensation payment. He has undergone injection procedures with Dr McLean but these have not relieved his pain. He has insulin dependent diabetes and has almost depleted his current supply of this medication. Also, he has been unable to make payments of periodic expenditure on service items such as electricity.