Cotton and Repatriation Commission

Case [2006] AATA 648


Administrative

Appeals

Tribunal

 

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2006] AATA 648

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No N2004/783

VETERANS' APPEALS DIVISION )
Re GEOFFREY COTTON

Applicant

And

REPATRIATION COMMISSION

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal Rear Admiral A R  Horton AO, Member, Dr M E C Thorpe, Member

Date24 July 2006

PlaceSydney

Decision The decision under review is varied in that the condition of Ischaemic Heart Disease is accepted as being related to service.

[Sgd]  Rear Admiral A R Horton AO,
  Member           

CATCHWORDS

VETERANS’ AFFAIRS – veterans’ entitlements – disability pension – eligible war service – Army service in Australia - hypertension – ischaemic heart disease – whether causal connection with service – consumption of alcohol - Statements of Principles – standard of proof -  reasonable satisfaction – Ischaemic heart disease related to war service - decision varied.

LEGISLATION

Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 - sections 7, 9, 13(1), 120(4, 120(B)

Statement of Principles Instrument Number 36 of 2003, as amended by Number 4 of 2004 - Hypertension

Statement of Principles Number 54 of 2003 as amended by Number 10 of 2004 – Ischaemic Heart Disease

AUTHORITIES

Repatriation Commission v Law 147 CLR 635

Repatriation Commission v Smith (1987) 15 FCR 327

Repatriation Commission v Tuite (1993) 17 AAR 158

Lees v Repatriation Commission [2002] FCAFC 398

REASONS FOR DECISION

24 July 2006  Rear Admiral Horton AO, Member

Dr M E C Thorpe, Member

1.      This is an application to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (”the Tribunal”) by Geoffrey Norman Cotton (“the Applicant”), who seeks review of a decision of the which affirmed a decision of the Repatriation Commission (“the Respondent”) dated 6 August 2003 which refused a claim for Ischaemic Heart Disease. This decision was affirmed by the Veterans’ Review Board (“VRB”) on 12 May 2004, the Disability Pension being increased from 70% to 90% of the General rate.

2.        At the hearing before the Tribunal on 26 to 27 June 2006, the Applicant was represented by Mr Mark Vincent of Counsel, instructed by Thomson Playford.   Ms Jane Warmoll represented the Respondent.  The Applicant, Dr David Beard, General Practitioner and Professor Michael O’Rourke, Cardiologist, gave evidence.  The Tribunal took into evidence the documents provided by the Respondent pursuant to section 37 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (T1 – T13), reports by Dr L Thomas, Cardiologist, dated 31 August 2005 (Exhibits A1 and A4) and Dr P Henke, Consultant in Rehabilitation Medicine, dated 2 February 2006 (A2), an Alcohol History of the applicant dated 28 January 2006 (A3) and a report by Professor M O’Rourke dated 5 July 2005 (R1).

BACKGROUND AND ISSUES

3.        Mr Cotton has accepted conditions of bilateral sensorineural hearing loss with tinnitus, solar keratoses, basal cell carcinoma and malignant neoplasm of the colon. On 22 May 2003, he lodged a claim for conditions subsequently defined by the Respondent as osteoarthrosis affecting both feet, malignant neoplasm of the prostate and ischaemic heart disease.  These conditions were assessed by the Respondent on 6 August 2003 as not being related…

Continue reading Cotton and Repatriation Commission

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
Cotton and Repatriation Commission [2006] AATA 648
Case
[2006] AATA 648
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Cotton sought a review of a decision by the Repatriation Commission concerning his eligibility for a disability pension. The Federal Court was asked to determine whether ischaemic heart disease, diagnosed in Cotton, was connected to his military service. The court was required to decide whether the ischaemic heart disease was causally linked to his service, despite the presence of other contributing factors, such as alcohol consumption. The central issue was whether the condition was related to his service, considering the Statements of Principles on the matter and the standard of proof required to establish such a connection.

The court examined the evidence presented and the relevant legal framework, including the criteria for establishing a causal link between a condition and military service. It considered the impact of alcohol consumption on the development of the ischaemic heart disease and how this factor interacted with the service-related hypertension. The court assessed whether the Commission was reasonable in its satisfaction that the ischaemic heart disease was related to the service, applying the standard of "reasonable satisfaction" as outlined in the relevant legislation. Ultimately, the court found that the Commission's decision did not adequately address the connection between the ischaemic heart disease and Cotton's service, leading to an error in the application of the law.

The court varied the decision of the Repatriation Commission, accepting that Cotton's ischaemic heart disease was related to his service. The court held that the Commission should have been reasonably satisfied that the ischaemic heart disease was connected to Cotton's service, notwithstanding the presence of other contributing factors. The decision was varied to reflect this finding, and Cotton's claim for a disability pension related to the ischaemic heart disease was accepted. The court's determination clarified the application of the legal standards in assessing the connection between a veteran's condition and their military service.

Orders

Orders of the court

The decision under review is varied in that the condition of Ischaemic Heart Disease is accepted as being related to service.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.