Cindy Haakman and Secretary, Department of Social Services

Case [2014] AATA 624


[2014] AATA 624  

Division GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION

File Number

2014/1236

Re

Cindy Haakman

APPLICANT

And

Secretary, Department of Social Services

RESPONDENT

DECISION

Tribunal

Dr P McDermott RFD, Senior Member

Date 2 September 2014
Place Brisbane

The Tribunal affirms the decision under review.

.............................[Sgd]...........................................

Dr P McDermott RFD, Senior Member

CATCHWORDS

SOCIAL SECURITY – Pensions, benefits and allowances – Disability support pension – Whether 20 impairment points – Whether continuing inability to work – Applicant did not participate in Program of Support – Decision under review affirmed

LEGISLATION

Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) ss 26, 94

Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (Cth) ss 13, 14, 42, Sch 2 cls 3

CASES

Tey and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2013] AATA 753

SECONDARY MATERIALS

Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011

Social Security (Requirements and Guidelines – Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011

REASONS FOR DECISION

Dr P McDermott RFD, Senior Member

2 September 2014

INTRODUCTION

  1. I have to determine whether Ms Haakman (“the applicant”) is entitled to disability support pension (“DSP”).

    PRIOR DECISIONS

  2. On 9 April 2013 the applicant lodged a claim for DSP. On 6 May 2013 this claim was rejected. On 13 September 2013 an authorised review officer affirmed that decision. On 11 February 2014 the Social Security Appeals Tribunal (“SSAT”) affirmed the decision to reject the claim. On 11 March 2014 the applicant made an application to this Tribunal for review of the decision to reject the claim for DSP. I should note that on


    11 June 2013 the applicant made a further claim for DSP; however, that claim was not reviewed by the SSAT and cannot be reviewed on this application.

    RELEVANT LEGISLATION

  3. The legislation that I have to administer is the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) (“the Act”) and the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (Cth) (“the Administration Act”).

  4. Section 94 of the Act provides that in order to be qualified to receive DSP the applicant must have:

    ·a physical, intellectual or psychiatric impairment (s 94(1)(a) of the Act);

    ·an impairment rating of at least 20 points (s 94(1)(b) of the Act); and

    ·a continuing inability to work (s 94(1)(c) of the Act).

  5. The Administration Act provides that the start day for a claimant who qualifies to receive DSP is the date on which they contact the Department regarding the payment, the deemed date of claim (ss 13, 41, 42, Sch 2 cl 3 of the Administration Act). The applicant will be entitled to receive DSP if she was qualified to receive that benefit as at the deemed date of the claim. If she was not qualified to receive DSP on that date she will nevertheless be entitled to receive DSP if she becomes qualified within thirteen weeks of lodging a claim. In that event, the start-day is the day that she becomes qualified to receive the social security benefit (Sch 2 cl 4(1) of the Administration Act).

  6. There are a number of Ministerial Determinations which…

Details
AGLC
Cindy Haakman and Secretary, Department of Social Services [2014] AATA 624
Case
[2014] AATA 624
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

The Tribunal was required to determine if Ms Haakman was qualified to receive the Disability Support Pension at any point within the thirteen weeks following her initial claim date on 9 April 2013. This qualification hinges on her meeting the criteria set forth in the Social Security Act 1991 and the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999, specifically whether she had a qualifying physical, intellectual, or psychiatric impairment, an impairment rating of at least 20 points, and a continuing inability to work. The Tribunal also had to consider the relevant Ministerial Determinations, particularly the Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011 and the Social Security (Requirements and Guidelines – Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011, to evaluate the functional impact of any impairments and the requirements for active participation.

The key legal issues before the Tribunal involved interpreting and applying the statutory criteria and Ministerial Determinations to Ms Haakman's specific circumstances. This included determining whether her impairments met the required threshold, assessing her functional capacity in relation to work, and whether she had an ongoing inability to work. The Tribunal also needed to consider the timing of when Ms Haakman became qualified to receive DSP, particularly whether this occurred within the thirteen-week period following the lodgement of her claim.

The Tribunal examined the evidence provided by Ms Haakman, including medical reports and assessments, and evaluated her functional capacity in relation to work. It considered the relevant Ministerial Determinations to assess the severity and impact of her impairments. The Tribunal concluded that Ms Haakman did not meet the required impairment rating threshold and that her functional capacity, while impaired, did not meet the criteria for a continuing inability to work. Consequently, the Tribunal determined that Ms Haakman was not qualified to receive DSP at any time within the thirteen-week period. The Tribunal affirmed the decision of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal to reject the claim for DSP.

Orders

Orders of the court

Full text does not contain this section.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

I have to determine whether Ms Haakman (“the applicant”) is entitled to disability support pension (“DSP”).PRIOR DECISIONS On 9 April 2013 the applicant lodged a claim for DSP. On 6 May 2013 this claim was rejected. On 13 September 2013 an authorised review officer affirmed that decision. On 11 February 2014 the Social Security Appeals Tribunal (“SSAT”) affirmed the decision to reject the claim. On 11 March 2014 the applicant made an application to this Tribunal for review of the decision to reject the claim for DSP. I should note that on 11 June 2013 the applicant made a further claim for DSP; however, that claim was not reviewed by the SSAT and cannot be reviewed on this application.RELEVANT LEGISLATION The legislation that I have to administer is the Social Security Act 1991 (Cth) (“the Act”) and the Social Security (Administration) Act 1999 (Cth) (“the Administration Act”). Section 94 of the Act provides that in order to be qualified to receive DSP the applicant must have:·a physical, intellectual or psychiatric impairment (s 94(1)(a) of the Act);·an impairment rating of at least 20 points (s 94(1)(b) of the Act); and·a continuing inability to work (s 94(1)(c) of the Act). The Administration Act provides that the start day for a claimant who qualifies to receive DSP is the date on which they contact the Department regarding the payment, the deemed date of claim (ss 13, 41, 42, Sch 2 cl 3 of the Administration Act). The applicant will be entitled to receive DSP if she was qualified to receive that benefit as at the deemed date of the claim. If she was not qualified to receive DSP on that date she will nevertheless be entitled to receive DSP if she becomes qualified within thirteen weeks of lodging a claim. In that event, the start-day is the day that she becomes qualified to receive the social security benefit (Sch 2 cl 4(1) of the Administration Act). There are a number of Ministerial Determinations which have to be considered.[1] The Social Security (Tables for the Assessment of Work-related Impairment for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011 (“the Disability Support Pension Determination”) came into force on 1 January 2012. The Disability Support Pension Determination contains the Impairment Tables which are function based and are intended to determine the level of functional impact of impairments (s 5 of the Disability Support Pension Determination). The Social Security (Requirements and Guidelines – Active Participation for Disability Support Pension) Determination 2011 (“the Active Participation Determination”) came into force on 3 September 2011. Section 5 of the Active Participation Determination sets out the requirements for active participation. Both of these Determinations are in evidence.[1] See s 26 of the Act.ASSESSMENT PERIOD On 9 April 2013 the applicant lodged her claim for DSP. I am required to determine whether the applicant became qualified at any time within the thirteen week period from lodgement date which concluded on 9 July 2013 (“the relevant period”).ISSUES FOR DETERMINATION

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.