BORG And COMCARE

Case [2007] AATA 78


Administrative Appeals Tribunal

DECISION AND REASONS FOR DECISION [2007] AATA 78

ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS TRIBUNAL      )

)          No        A2004/153

)  A2005/323
  )  A2005/380

GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISION )
Re   RAYMOND BORG

Applicant

And

  COMCARE

Respondent

DECISION

Tribunal   J.W. Constance, Senior Member
  Dr M.D. Miller AO, Member

Date  28 February 2007

Place  Canberra

Decision

1)    In matter A2005/380 the decision of Comcare made 14 December 2005, which affirmed a decision denying liability to compensate Mr Borg for a thoracic spine condition, is affirmed.

2)    In matter A2005/323 the decision of Comcare made 7 October 2005 is set aside and the matter is remitted to Comcare for reconsideration in accordance with the following directions:

     I.    that between September 2001 and April 2002 Mr Borg suffered a compensable injury, namely an aggravation of degenerative changes in his cervical spine, which arose out of his employment with Totalcare;

II. that the injury has resulted in a permanent impairment in accordance with subsection 24(1) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988;

   III.    that Comcare determine the degree of permanent impairment of Mr Borg resulting from the injury.

3)  The parties have liberty to apply within 14 days in relation to costs.  Should such an application not be made Comcare shall pay Mr Borg’s reasonable costs in application A2005/323.  

4)  In matter A2004/153 the application for review of decision made 30 April 2004 is dismissed.  The application for an order for the payment of costs is refused.

..............................................

J.W. Constance, Senior Member  

CATCHWORDS

COMPENSATION – Commonwealth Employees – Brachial plexus injury – Thoracic outlet syndrome – Whether arose in the course of employment – Aggravation of degenerative spine condition – Permanent impairment – Degree of impairment – Whether Tribunal has power to make costs order where proceedings rendered abortive pursuant to Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 s 67(2).

Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth) ss 4, 14, 24, 67

Federal Broom Co v Semlitch (1964) 110 CLR 626; [1964] HCA 34

Casarotto v Australian Postal Commission (1989) 86 ALR 399; (1989) 17 ALD 321; (1989) 10 AAR 191

Comcare Australia v Amorbieta [1996] FCA 312

Martin v Australian Postal Corporation (1990) AAR 420; [1999] FCA 655

Re Greczanik and Australian Postal Corporation [1994] AATA 9520

Re West and Comcare [1992] AATA 7966

REASONS FOR DECISION

28 February 2007

J.W. Constance, Senior Member
Dr M.D. Miller AO, Member           

INTRODUCTION

1.      Since 1996 Mr Borg has been an employee of Totalcare in Canberra.  In 1997 he injured his shoulder at work. Comcare accepted liability to compensate him in respect of this injury.

2.      During the lawn-mowing season of 2001-2002 Mr Borg was employed driving a tractor mowing ovals and other large grassed areas. Whilst doing this work he experienced “pins and needles” in his left arm and hand and numbness in his left hand.  In 2005 a new diagnosis of the cause of Mr Borg’s arm and hand symptoms was made, that of thoracic outlet syndrome caused by the 1997 injury.

3.      In matter A2005/380…

Continue reading BORG And COMCARE

Sign in free to access the full text

Details
AGLC
BORG And COMCARE [2007] AATA 78
Case
[2007] AATA 78
Decision Date

CaseChat Overview and Summary

Borg was employed by Totalcare, a Commonwealth entity, when he sustained injuries that led to a claim for workers' compensation under the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Cth). The matter was heard in the Federal Court of Australia. Borg sought compensation for injuries including a brachial plexus injury and aggravation of a degenerative spine condition, claiming they arose from his employment. Comcare, the respondent, denied liability for compensation.

The legal issues involved whether the injuries arose in the course of employment, if the aggravation of the degenerative spine condition constituted a compensable injury, and the degree of permanent impairment resulting from the injury. The court also had to determine whether the Tribunal had the power to order costs where proceedings were rendered abortive.

The court found that Borg did suffer a compensable injury between September 2001 and April 2002, which was an aggravation of degenerative changes in his cervical spine, arising out of his employment. The injury resulted in a permanent impairment, and the matter was remitted to Comcare to determine the degree of impairment. The court found that the Tribunal had the power to order costs in such circumstances, and if no application was made within 14 days, Comcare would pay Borg's reasonable costs.

The orders included affirming the decision denying liability for the thoracic spine condition, setting aside the decision denying liability for the cervical spine injury, and remitting the matter to Comcare for reconsideration. The application for review of another decision was dismissed, and the application for costs was refused.

Orders

Orders of the court

1) In matter A2005/380 the decision of Comcare made 14 December 2005, which affirmed a decision denying liability to compensate Mr Borg for a thoracic spine condition, is affirmed.

2) In matter A2005/323 the decision of Comcare made 7 October 2005 is set aside and the matter is remitted to Comcare for reconsideration in accordance with the following directions:

I. that between September 2001 and April 2002 Mr Borg suffered a compensable injury, namely an aggravation of degenerative changes in his cervical spine, which arose out of his employment with Totalcare;

II. that the injury has resulted in a permanent impairment in accordance with subsection 24(1) of the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988;

III. that Comcare determine the degree of permanent impairment of Mr Borg resulting from the injury.

3) The parties have liberty to apply within 14 days in relation to costs. Should such an application not be made Comcare shall pay Mr Borg’s reasonable costs in application A2005/323.

4) In matter A2004/153 the application for review of decision made 30 April 2004 is dismissed. The application for an order for the payment of costs is refused.

Background

Background to the litigation

Full text does not contain this section.

Evidence

Evidence Before The Court

Full text does not contain this section.

Decision

Reasons for decision

Full text does not contain this section.

Ratio Decidendi

Legal Principle Established

Full text does not contain this section.