Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024

Administered by Department of Veterans' Affairs

Legislation au F2024L00786 Not in force Legislative Instrument

Legislation content

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

 

Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024

EMPOWERING PROVISION

The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission makes this instrument under subsection 286(5) of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (the Act).

PURPOSE

This instrument amends the MRCA Treatment Principles (the TPs).

OVERVIEW

The Veterans’ Home Care (VHC) and Community Nursing (CN) programs support veterans and war widow(er)s to access services to enable them to remain independent in their own home.  This instrument amends the TPs for the purpose of making sustainability payments to VHC and CN providers under these programs to ensure continuity of access for DVA clients.  The sustainability payments will support the immediate viability of providers to deliver these programs, including essential care management, in the face of increasing market pressures.  They seek to reduce the risk of providers withdrawing from program delivery and DVA clients not being able to access care or experiencing significant disruption to their care.

EXPLANATION OF PROVISIONS

Section 1 states the name of the Instrument.

Section 2 provides that the instrument commences on the start of the day after it is registered.

Section 3 sets out the authority for the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission making the Instrument, namely subsection 286(5) of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA).

Section 4 is a standard provision used in instruments that amend or repeal other instruments. It gives effect to Schedule 1.

Schedule 1—Amendments

Item 1

Paragraph 1.4.1, definition of “approved provider” (first occurring)

 

This item inserts “, in relation to the MRCA Home Care Program (Part 7.3A),” immediately after the words “approved provider” in the definition. As there are two definitions of approved provider in paragraph 1.4.1 of the TPs, this amendment makes it clear that this definition applies in relation to the MRCA Home Care Program in part 7.3A.

 

Item 2

New subpart 7.3AA (Sustainability payments—community nursing)

This item inserts a new subpart 7.3AA immediately after the existing subpart 7.3 of the TPs.

New paragraph 7.3AA.1 sets out the purpose of a sustainability payment. Its purpose is to defray part of the costs incurred by a community nursing provider in providing community nursing services to an entitled person for which the Commission has accepted financial responsibility. The costs to be partly defrayed include costs of care coordination and care management.

A sustainability payment is a payment paid to a provider on a quarterly basis for the costs incurred in the preceding quarter. As the payments are to be paid on an accrual basis and must be made between 1 July 2024 and 30 June 2026, the payment would only be for costs incurred between 1 April 2024 and 31 March 2026.

The Department has published on the internet a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the payments.

New paragraph 7.3AA.2 sets out the eligibility criteria that a community nursing provider must satisfy for the Commission to make a sustainability payment. To be eligible for the payments, a community nursing provider—

(a) must have provided a community nursing service to an entitled person in accordance with part 7; and

(b) the service must have been provided—

(i) in a quarter between 1 April 2024 and 31 March 2026; and

(ii) under an agreement with the Commission that was in force at the time the service was provided, and at the time the eligibility for the payments is determined by the Commission.

New paragraph 7.3AA.3 provides for the way to work out the amount of a sustainability payment to be made to a community nursing provider. It is useful to state, at the outset, that even though a sustainability payment is made on a quarterly basis, it is worked out on a monthly basis.

First, the total number of entitled people is to be worked out. An entitled person is counted towards the total number if—

(a)                the person received a community nursing service from the provider in a calendar month in a quarter for which a payment is to be made; and

(b)               the Commission has accepted financial responsibility for the community nursing service received by the person.

This paragraph requires working out the number of entitled people, instead of the number of occasions on which a service is provided to an entitled person in a calendar month. As such, an entitled person is counted only once for each calendar month in a quarter, even if the person received a community nursing service on more than one occasions in the calendar month. To remove this potential doubt, new paragraph 7.3AA.4 is inserted.

After working out the number of entitled people under paragraph 7.3AA.3(a), the Commission is to then multiply the number by an amount determined in writing by the Commission for paragraph 7.3AA.3(b). A determination under paragraph 7.3AA.3(b) is neither a legislative instrument nor a notifiable instrument under the Legislation Act 2003, thus it does not need to be registered on the Federal Register of Legislation.

 

Item 3

New Subpart 7.3B Sustainability payments—MRCA Home Care Program

 

This item inserts a new subpart 7.3B immediately after subpart 7.3A of the TPs.

New paragraph 7.3B.1 sets out the purpose of a sustainability payment. Its purpose is to defray part of the costs incurred by an approved provider in providing services to an entitled person for which the Commission has accepted financial responsibility. The costs to be partly defrayed include costs of care coordination and care management.

A sustainability payment is a payment paid to a provider on a quarterly basis for the costs incurred in the preceding quarter. As the payments are to be paid on an accrual basis and must be made between 1 July 2024 and 30 June 2026, the payment would only be for costs incurred between 1 April 2024 and 31 March 2026.

The Department has published on the internet a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the payments.

New paragraph 7.3B.2 sets out the eligibility criteria that an approved provider must satisfy for the Commission to make a sustainability payment. To be eligible for the payments, an approved provider—

(a) must have provided a service to an entitled person in accordance with part 7; and

(b) the service must have been provided—

(i) in a quarter between 1 April 2024 and 31 March 2026; and

(ii) under an agreement with the Commission that was in force at the time the service was provided, and at the time the eligibility for the payments is determined by the Commission.

New paragraph 7.3B.3 provides for the way to work out the amount of a sustainability payment to be made to a provider. It is useful to state, at the outset, that even though a sustainability payment is made on a quarterly basis, it is worked out on a monthly basis.

First, the total number of entitled people is to be worked out. An entitled person is counted towards the total number if—

(a)                the person received a service from the approved provider in a calendar month in a quarter for which a payment is to be made; and

(b)               the Commission has accepted financial responsibility for the service received by the person.

This paragraph requires working out the number of entitled people, instead of the number of occasions on which a service is provided to an entitled person in a calendar month. As such, an entitled person is counted only once for each calendar month in a quarter, even if the person received a service on more than one occasions in the calendar month. To remove this potential doubt, new paragraph 7.3B.4 is inserted.

After working out the number of entitled people under paragraph 7.3B.3(a), the Commission is to then multiply the number by an amount determined in writing by the Commission for paragraph 7.3B.3(b). A determination under paragraph 7.3B.3(b) is neither a legislative instrument nor a notifiable instrument under the Legislation Act 2003, thus it does not need to be registered on the Federal Register of Legislation.

Consultation

DVA has not consulted with existing DVA clients under the VHC and CN programs regarding the sustainability payments, given the beneficial nature of these payments.  The payments will support existing and future clients to access care by strengthening the immediate viability of providers to deliver DVA programs in the face of increasing market pressures, reducing the risk of care disruption.  DVA has not formally consulted with VHC and CN providers but has provided advice on the intent of the sustainability payments.

Human rights implications

This instrument is compatible with the human rights and freedoms recognised or declared under section 3 of the Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Act 2011. A full statement of compatibility is set out in Attachment A.

Making the instrument

The instrument is made by the Military and Rehabilitation Compensation Commission.


Attachment A

 

Statement of Compatibility with Human Rights

Prepared in accordance with Part 3 of the Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Act 2011

 

Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024

 

This Disallowable Legislative Instrument is compatible with the human rights and freedoms recognised or declared in the international instruments listed in section 3 of the Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Act 2011 (the recognised rights).

Overview of the Disallowable Legislative Instrument

The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 (the Instrument) amends the MRCA Treatment Principles (the Principal Instrument) to enable sustainability payments to be made to providers under the Veterans’ Home Care and Community Nursing programs from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026.

Human rights implications

The Instrument engages and promotes the right to health (the right) contained in article 12 of the International Covenant on Economic Social and Cultural Rights (the ICESCR).

The right is to be understood as a right to the enjoyment of a variety of facilities, goods, services and conditions necessary for the individual to realise their highest attainable standard of health. This, in turn, means that payment for health care services, as well as services related to the underlying determinants of health, must be based on the principle that the services, whether privately or publicly provided, are affordable for all, including socially disadvantaged groups.

The United Nations Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights has said that accessibility is an essential element of the right to health.[1] For health facilities to be accessible, they should be made available to all, without discrimination on any of the prohibited grounds. They should also be affordable for all.

This Instrument is made to promote the very spirit of the right. It allows payments to be made to community nursing providers and approved providers of the MRCA Home Care Program so their cost of coordinating and managing care for eligible members would be partly covered. This will ensure that eligible members can continue to receive the care they are entitled to under the Principal Instrument.

Conclusion

The Instrument is compatible with the recognised rights because it promotes the right to health. It does not limit any recognised rights.

 

Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission

Rule-Maker

[1] Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, General Comment No 14: The right to the highest attainable standard of health (article 12 of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, 22nd sess, UN Doc E/C.12/2000/4 (11 August 2000) 4–5 [12]–[13].

Overview

The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 was introduced to address the issue of ensuring continuity of care for veterans and war widows/widowers under the Veterans’ Home Care (VHC) and Community Nursing (CN) programs. This instrument amends the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA) to introduce sustainability payments aimed at supporting the immediate viability of providers delivering these programs amidst increasing market pressures. These payments are designed to reduce the risk of providers withdrawing from the program, which could otherwise disrupt or limit access to care for Department of Veterans' Affairs (DVA) clients. The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission made this instrument under subsection 286(5) of the MRCA, with the overarching policy objective of promoting the right to health by ensuring affordable access to necessary health services for all, including socially disadvantaged groups.

Scope and Application

The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 applies to the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (MRCC), which administers the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA). The Act applies to veterans and war widows/widowers who are eligible for services under the Veterans’ Home Care (VHC) and Community Nursing (CN) programs. The Determination specifically targets community nursing providers and approved providers of the MRCA Home Care Program, aiming to ensure continuity of access for Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) clients by making sustainability payments. These payments aim to support the immediate viability of providers to deliver essential care management services in the face of increasing market pressures. The Determination does not apply to other entities or individuals outside the scope of the VHC and CN programs or the MRCA. It is a Commonwealth instrument with a jurisdictional reach across Australia, ensuring that eligible providers and veterans’ groups can access the necessary support to maintain the delivery of critical health services. The Determination explicitly excludes any entities or individuals not involved in the provision of services under the VHC or CN programs. The application of the Determination may be extended or restricted through subordinate instruments, but the primary focus remains on supporting the specified programs and their providers. The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 sets out the framework for making sustainability payments to eligible providers between 1 July 2024 and 30 June 2026, aiming to cover part of the costs incurred in delivering care coordination and care management services to veterans and war widows/widowers. The payments are intended to mitigate the risk of providers withdrawing from the programs due to financial pressures, thereby ensuring that DVA clients can continue to access essential services. The instrument amends the MRCA Treatment Principles to clarify the definition of "approved provider" in relation to the MRCA Home Care Program and introduces new subparts detailing the purpose, eligibility criteria, and calculation of sustainability payments for both community nursing and home care services. The Determination is designed to be operational and does not specify any exclusions beyond those already mentioned, but it does provide for the way to work out the amount of a sustainability payment to be made on a monthly basis, ensuring clarity and transparency in its application.

Key Provisions

The Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 introduces several key provisions. Section 2 provides that the instrument will commence on the day after it is registered. Section 3 establishes the authority of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission to make this instrument under subsection 286(5) of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA). Schedule 1 outlines the amendments, including the insertion of new subpart 7.3AA for sustainability payments in community nursing and subpart 7.3B for the MRCA Home Care Program. These provisions aim to ensure continuity of access for Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) clients by making sustainability payments to providers of the Veterans’ Home Care and Community Nursing programs, thereby supporting the immediate viability of providers and preventing disruptions to care. The Act imposes several obligations on the parties involved. Firstly, community nursing providers and approved providers of the MRCA Home Care Program must ensure that they meet the eligibility criteria set out in paragraphs 7.3AA.2 and 7.3B.2, respectively. This includes having provided services to entitled persons in accordance with part 7 and maintaining an agreement with the Commission that is in force at the relevant times. Additionally, the Commission is required to determine the amount of sustainability payments based on the number of entitled people and a predetermined amount, as outlined in paragraphs 7.3AA.3 and 7.3B.3. These obligations are critical for ensuring that the payments are made accurately and that the services continue to be provided without interruption. Breaches of the obligations set out in the Act can lead to civil or criminal consequences. While the Act does not explicitly state penalties for non-compliance, the failure to meet the eligibility criteria or to provide services in accordance with part 7 could potentially result in the cessation of payments or other administrative actions. Additionally, if the Commission does not make the payments as stipulated, it could face legal challenges from providers or clients. Although the Act does not specify maximum penalties, any legal proceedings would likely focus on ensuring that the intended support for providers and continuity of care for clients are maintained. In summary, the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Treatment Principles Amendment (Sustainability Payments) Determination 2024 introduces critical provisions to support the sustainability of services provided to veterans and war widows/widowers. It mandates clear eligibility criteria and payment processes, ensuring that providers can continue to offer essential care without disruption. While the Act does not detail specific penalties for non-compliance, its primary focus is on maintaining the integrity of the services provided and supporting the right to health for eligible individuals.

Legal classification tags

Area of Law
Veterans Law
Instrument
Legislative Instrument
Concepts
Definitions & Interpretation
Regulatory Standards
Compliance Obligations

Interactions

Authorises

All Versions

Sourced from the Federal Register of Legislation at 26 August 2026. For the latest information on Australian Government law please go to https://www.legislation.gov.au.